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Tennessee Inheritance Tax 
 
What is Inheritance Tax? 
 
Inheritance tax is a tax imposed on the value of the decedent’s estate that exceeds the 
exemption amount applicable to the decedent’s year of death. The net estate is the fair 
market value of all assets less any allowable deductions, such as property passing to a 
surviving spouse, debts, and administrative expenses. The inheritance tax is paid out of the 
estate by the executor, administrator, or trustee. 
 

 
 

Who Must File? 
 
Estates of Tennessee residents with a gross value in excess of the exemption allowed for the 
year of death must file an inheritance tax return (Form INH 301). Also, estates of 
nonresidents holding property in Tennessee must file Form INH 301. 
 
If the value of the gross estate is below the exemption allowed for the year of death, an 
inheritance tax return is not required. However, if the estate is undergoing probate, a short 
form inheritance tax return (Form INH 302) is required. 
 
In all cases, when an inheritance tax return is filed, reviewed, and payment of all taxes due (if 
any) are remitted, the Department will issue an Inheritance Tax Closure Certificate. 
 

What is the Exemption Amount? 
 
The exemption available to the estate depends on the date of the decedent’s death: 

 
Date of Death   Estate Gross Value Exemption Amount 

2005 $950,000 
2006–2012 $1,000,000 

2013 $1,250,000 
2014 $2,000,000 

 The inheritance tax is repealed and is not applicable to decedents with dates 
of death occurring in 2016 and after. 
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2015 $5,000,000 
2016 and after No Tennessee state inheritance tax imposed  
 

Due Date of Return 
 
Returns must be filed within nine months of the date of death. 
 
Extensions 
 
An extension of up to one year will be granted, provided one of the following is attached to 
the return filed on or before the extended due date: 
 

 Tennessee INH 304 – Application for Extension of Time to File Inheritance Tax Return 
 

 Federal Form 4768 – Application for Extension of Time to File a Return and/or Pay 
U.S. Estate Tax 

 
An estate with a valid extension will not owe penalty if the return is filed by the extended 
due date. Interest will accrue from the original due date of the return until payment of the 
tax due is remitted. Estimated payments may be submitted with Form INH 304. 
 

Where to File 
 
Mail the completed tax form and remit payment to: 
 

Tennessee Department of Revenue 
Andrew Jackson State Office Building 

500 Deaderick Street 
Nashville, TN 37242-0600 

 

Transfers of Real Property and Securities 
 
The state of Tennessee has a statutory lien on all property of the decedent. If the 
administrator wishes to transfer real property or securities, an Inheritance Tax Consent to 
Transfer must be obtained. Applications may be submitted through the Department’s 
online services portal at https://revenue.webapps.tn.gov/ConsentToTransferNew/. 
 

https://revenue.webapps.tn.gov/ConsentToTransferNew/
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Additional Information 
 
Additional information and all tax forms and instructions are available on our web site at 
www.tn.gov/revenue. Taxpayers may call (615) 741-4466 to request that the Department 
mail tax forms to them. Questions may be submitted by using the Revenue Help feature on 
the Department’s website. Telephone assistance is also available by calling (615) 532-6438. 
 

https://www.tn.gov/revenue/

	Tennessee Inheritance Tax
	What is Inheritance Tax?
	Who Must File?
	What is the Exemption Amount?
	Due Date of Return
	Extensions
	Where to File
	Transfers of Real Property and Securities
	Additional Information


