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Delivery Sales of Electronic Nicotine Delivery Systems (ENDS)

Changes to PACT Act Reports Effective May 10,
2021

In December 2020, the Prevent All Cigarette
Trafficking Act (“PACT Act”), also known as the Jenkins
Act, was amended to include electronic nicotine
delivery systems (“ENDS”) in its definition of
“cigarette.”

The amended PACT Act provides that any person who
sells, transfers, or ships for profit ENDS in interstate
commerce, or who advertises such products for
sale, must: (1) register with the tobacco tax
administrator of the state into which the shipment
is made and (2) file monthly reports with the
tobacco tax administrator no later than the 10™ day
of each month. The Tennessee Department of
Revenue (the “Department”) is the tobacco tax
administrator for shipments into Tennessee. The
PACT Act registration form and filing instructions are
available on the Department's website here.

Who Must File These Reports in Tennessee?

Beginning May 10, 2021, and the 10%" of every month
thereafter, any entity shipping ENDS into Tennessee
from another state is required to report all such
shipments to the Department.

Anyone located in Tennessee and shipping ENDS
within state lines is not required to file PACT Act
reports regarding these shipments with the
Department.

Electronic Nicotine Delivery System (ENDS)

e “ENDS" is defined as any electronic device that,
through an aerosolized solution, delivers
nicotine, flavor, or any other substance to the
user inhaling from the device.

e ENDS include:
o e-cigarette
o e-hookah
o e-cigar
o vape pen
o advanced refillable personal vaporizer
o electronic pipe

o any component, liquid, part, or accessory of a
device described above, without regard to
whether the component, liquid, part, or
accessory is sold separately from the device.

Penalties

Under § 377(b) of the PACT Act, if you are a delivery
seller, violations may result in civil penalties of up to
$5,000 for the first violation, $10,000 for the second
violation, or 2% of the gross sales during the prior 12
months. Additionally, there are penalties for common
carriers or other persons providing delivery services
of up to $2,500 for a first violation or $5,000 for any
other violation within one year of a prior violation.

For More Information

If you have any questions pertaining to the PACT Act
report, please email Resale.Data@tn.gov or call (855)
286-7423 (if outside Nashville) or (615) 741-9300 (if
within Nashville).

You may also visit www.tn.gov/revenue. Click on
Revenue Help to search for answers or to submit an
information request to one of our agents.

References

15 U.S.C. 88 375, et. seq., Tenn. Code Ann. 8 67-4-1001,
et. seq., Tenn. Code Ann. 8 67-4-2601, et. seq.

Disclaimer: The information provided here is current as of the date of publication but may change as a result of new statutes, regulations,
or court decisions. While this notice is intended to be comprehensive, events and situations unanticipated by this notice may occur. In such
cases you should contact the department or your tax professional for further guidance.


https://www.tn.gov/revenue/taxes/tobacco-taxes/pact-act-report.html
mailto:Resale.Data@tn.gov
http://www.tn.gov/revenue

	Changes to PACT Act Reports Effective May 10, 2021
	Who Must File These Reports in Tennessee?
	Electronic Nicotine Delivery System (ENDS)
	For More Information
	References
	15 U.S.C. §§ 375, et. seq., Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4-1001, et. seq., Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4-2601, et. seq.

