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1099-K Filing Requirement

Reporting Entities Required to File a 1099-K
Information Return With the Internal Revenue
Service (“IRS”) Must Also File The Information
Return with the Department of Revenue

The Tennessee General Assembly recently enacted
legislation which requires payment settlement
entities, third party settlement organizations,
electronic payment facilitators, and third parties
acting on behalf of payment settlement entities
(“Reporting Entities”) to file duplicate federal 1099-K
information returns with the Department of
Revenue.

The 1099-K information returns must be filed with
the Department within 30 days of the filing due date
required by the IRS. The 2015 returns are due by
April 30, 2016.

If the IRS grants a Federal Form 8809 extension, the
due date for filing with Department is also extended
30 days.

Forms Must Be Filed Electronically

A reporting entity must file its 1099-K form with the
Department electronically. The entity must submit
either:

1) aduplicate of all information returns as filed
with the IRS, or

2) aduplicate of all information returns related to
taxpayers or participating payees with a
Tennessee address.

The Reporting Entity may upload the entire data file
as submitted to the IRS, or only those returns
related to taxpayers or participating payees with a
Tennessee address.

In order to submit the electronic file, please register at:
https://revenue.webapps.tn.gov/CardMerchantPortal/.

Penalty

Failure to file the required 1099-K information
return will result in a penalty of $1,000 for each
failure, with an additional $1,000 penalty for each
month or fraction of a month during which each
failure continues. The maximum penalty is $10,000
annually. However, the Department may waive the
penalty for good and reasonable cause, as defined
under Tenn. Code Ann. 8 67-1-803.

For More Information

Visit www.tn.gov/revenue. Click on Revenue Help,
and enter “1099-K" into the search box. Click on the
form link that appears in the article to submit an
information request to one of our agents.
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