Business Tax Law Changes

County Clerks 2023




TN WORKS TAX ACT: Business Tax Changes

Minimal Business License/No Business Tax Filing Requirement:

» Businesses whose gross receipts are less than $100,000 only need to get a minimal
activity business license from their county/city clerks.

» Eachlicenseis $15 annually and must be renewed directly with the clerk each year for
as long as the business remains open.

* Thereis no business tax requirement with the state.
Standard Business License/Business Tax Filing Required:

» Businesses whose gross receipts are $700,000 or more annually must obtain a
standard business license locally and file a business tax return with the Tennessee
Department of Revenue.

« This requires a business tax account registration and the payment of tax using
Revenue’s TNTAP filing and payment system.

* Oncethereturnis filed and paid, the local clerks will make a license available on the
TNTAP system to view or print or will mail the business a paper license.

Contractors who previously were required to have a business license in jurisdictions when
their gross income was more than $50,000 are now only required to have a standard
business license and file Business Tax if gross income in that jurisdiction exceeds or is
expected to exceed $700,000.
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Fall 2023: Communicating with Taxpayers

« TDOR to send letter to Business Tax accounts with appx. $80,000 or
less in gross receipts, on average.

« Letter will inform taxpayers of the new filing threshold requirements and that
they may contact TDOR to request switching to a minimal activity license for the
current tax period, this will relieve them of the business tax obligation but
will require them to renew the minimal license directly with the clerk.

 If taxpayers reach out to the clerk to switch to a minimal license, the clerk should
inform TPS clerk support via the clerk line at (615) 253-0704
or revenue.support@tn.gov

* If taxpayers reach out to TDOR to switch to a minimal license, the clerks will be
notified. Currently the plan is to list such businesses on a report available on the
Business Tax Portal (BTP). More details to come!

« Tax Webinar: September Tax Webinar Recorded Video
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Letter (10/23 R

[LETTER DATE]
[TAXPAYER MAME] Letter ID: LOOD0000000
[STREET ADDRESS] Account ID: #EHEFREFHEBUS
[CITY. STATE, ZIF] Account Type: Business Tax

Filing Period: December 31, 2023

* Please
Due to 2 recent change in Tennessee law, you may no longer owe business tax to the Departmeant of

note: This Revere

o What changed?
I S a ra t The Tennessee Works Tax Act, Public Chapter 377 (2023), eliminated the business tax filing obligation for any

business whose annual gross sales total less than $100,000 within a county or city. This change applies to tax
periods ending on or after December 31, 2023. For additional details and examples, see Important Motice

and has oyt

n ot yet Do | owe business tax?
1. Review your 2023 total gross sales before filing your next business tax return. Caloulate the annual

gross sales for all the locations you hawve in a single county or city. If the calculated gross zales are less

b e e n s e n t than $100,000 within a county or city, the location(s) are not subject to business tax

2. W you have locations not subject to business tax, please contact the Department of Revenue to update

(as of the date of your account.
this training).

What about my current business license?

1. Your current license iz valid until the expiration date. If vour total gross sales are more than $2.000 but
less than §100.000, you must obtain a minimal activity license for 2024 directly from the county andior
city clerk on or before the date the license expires.

2. I you determine you should file a business tax return, your business license will be autornatically
renewed after the return is filed.

Flease visit our website for updates and helpful information on this law change. If you need assistance, please
message Taxpayer Services via the Department’s helg desk at https-ifrevenue support.tneov or call (615)
253-06800.
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Spring 2024 (or upon tax due date/license expiration)

NORMAL PROCESS: TDOR
sends clearance to clerk

filed return, S100k+

TDOR will still send clearance to clerk

Filed return, under S100k AND likely communicate with taxpayer
re: new threshold

. . No tax clearance, TDOR will likely
Unfiled return, preVIOUS|y communicate with taxpayer re: new

under $100k+ threshold along with info re: minimal
renewal directly with clerk




Class 4 Contractors

Contractor “Deemed Location”
Threshold Increases to $100,000

« The TN Works Tax Act also increases the gross sales
threshold for contractors who perform contracts in
Tennessee from $50,000 to $100,000.

« These contractors will only be considered to have
established a “deemed location” in a given jurisdiction
if their annual gross receipts are more than $100,000.
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In-State Class 4 Contractors

GROSS LICENSE FROM... STATE (COUNTY) LEVEL TAX MUNICIPAL (CITY) LEVEL TAX
- / . .
30-$2,999 " Receipts under $100k from contracts in a
county/city other than the contractor’s place of
domicile must be reported on
M'N"‘fﬁﬁg”'“ the return for the county/city of their domicile
$3000- (from domicile Iocation*.
$1 00,000 and/or deemed
location(s)) *If there is no domicile city (i.e. contractor is in unincorporated area),
city receipts under $100k are not reported to any city.
Receipts over $100k** are reported on the
STANDARD LICENSE return for the location where receipts are
(from domicile ner
$100,000+ | and/or deemed generated

location(s))

**|f there are receipts for over $100k in an unincorporated area, those
receipts are not reported to any municipality.




Out-of-State Class 4 Contractors

GROSS LICENSE FROM... STATE (COUNTY) LEVEL TAX MUNICIPAL (CITY) LEVEL TAX
Under n/a no no
$100,000
STANDARD
LICENSE Yes, reported on return for | Yes, reported on return for city
$100,000+ (COUNTY/ county location location
CITY)

| |



Next Steps for Taxpayers

LESS THAN $100,000

MORE THAN $100,000

NOT SURE

CONTACT TDOR RE:
CHANGING STATUS OF
BUSINESS TAX ACCOUNT*

MUST FILE/PAY BY FILING
DEADLINE

WAIT FOR NOW, MUST
EITHER CHANGE ACCOUNT
STATUS OR FILE/PAY BY
FILING DEADLINE

RENEW DIRECTLY WITH
CLERK(S) UPON LICENSE
EXPIRATION**

FILE/PAY BUSINESS TAX
AND CLERK WILL ISSUE
RENEWED LICENSE

DEPENDS

* Upon the taxpayer requesting changing the business tax account status to “filing not
required”, TDOR will communicate this action to the appropriate city/county clerk's office.

** Current license will be good until the expiration date listed on the license.
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Manufacturers

- Effective May 11, 2023, the new law changes the
application of the manufacturing exemption. Under
the Act, to qualify for the manufacturing
exemption the sales of manufactured products may
be made from the manufacturing location or a
storage or warehouse facility that is located within
a ten-mile radius of the manufacturing location.

- Additionally, the Act provides that both in-state
and out-of-state manufacturers may qualify for the
manufacturing exemption.
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STAY IN THE LOOP!

For county clerks and clerk’s office staff, a list will be
maintained and used to send important
communication from Taxpayer Services regarding
pertinent tax issues.

« FOLLOW LINK: https://forms.office.com/g/1C66yjpu8d
or

- SCAN QR CODE: Ela.
=

'
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