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Introduction 

 
The State of Tennessee Attendance and Leave Manual is a collection of policies established by 

the Tennessee Department of Human Resources (DOHR). Pursuant to Tennessee Law, the 

DOHR Commissioner “shall direct and supervise all administrative and technical human 

resources activities of state service.” See Tenn. Code Ann. § 8-30-104. This includes 

development of personnel policies, methods, procedures, and standards for all state agencies. 

The Attendance and Leave Manual provides general guidance to employees about the 

privileges they have as employees and the duties and responsibilities we all share. It is not 

intended, nor is it considered to be a contract of employment. Nothing in this handbook 

constitutes a waiver of the State’s sovereign immunity. 

Changes in Federal laws, State laws, rules or policies will take precedence over information 

provided in the manual. Although DOHR will make every attempt to give employees notice about 

upcoming changes to the manual, DOHR has the right to change information provided in the 

manual at any time for any reason without prior notice. 

Employees are encouraged to read the manual and retain it for easy reference. Questions 

should be directed to your supervisor, your human resource division, or DOHR. 

https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=a3c41160-14c1-4b23-808a-fb6f59a3edd6&nodeid=AAIABDAABAAE&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAB%2FAAIABDAABAAE&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-104.%2BAuthority%2Bof%2Bcommissioner%2B%E2%80%94%2BSupervisory%2Bpersonnel%2B%E2%80%94%2BDesignees.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4M0-00008-00&ecomp=L38_kkk&prid=4ade6a8b-50e7-4fca-8949-706c3f2d8926
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=a3c41160-14c1-4b23-808a-fb6f59a3edd6&nodeid=AAIABDAABAAE&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAB%2FAAIABDAABAAE&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-104.%2BAuthority%2Bof%2Bcommissioner%2B%E2%80%94%2BSupervisory%2Bpersonnel%2B%E2%80%94%2BDesignees.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4M0-00008-00&ecomp=L38_kkk&prid=4ade6a8b-50e7-4fca-8949-706c3f2d8926
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CHAPTER 1 

WORK SCHEDULES 

 
1.01 OFFICE HOURS 

 
The central offices of all departments and agencies, as well as field offices not 

requiring irregular work hours or schedules, shall be open for the transaction 

of public business from 8:00 a.m. until 4:30 p.m. local time, each day except 

Saturdays, Sundays, and legal holidays. The established office hours of other 

organizational units may vary from one unit to the next depending upon the 

nature of the work and the demand for the unit's service. 

 
Hourly equivalents for days used in this manual are for employees on a seven 

and one-half (7.5) hour workday, thirty-seven and one-half (37.5) hours per week 

schedule. Certain employees have an eight- hour (8.0) hour workday, forty (40.0) 

hours per week schedule. 

 
The same rules shall apply to all full-time schedules. 

 
1.02 WORK WEEK 

 
The standard work week for accounting purposes begins at 12:01 a.m. Sunday and 

runs one hundred and sixty-eight (168) continuous hours in the form of seven 

(7) consecutive twenty-four (24) hour periods to 12:01 a.m. the following Sunday. 

 
1.03 REGULAR WORK SCHEDULES 

 
The regular work schedule for most employees is from 8:00 a.m. until 4:30 p.m. 

local time, Monday through Friday. Local conditions may cause these hours to vary, 

but an employee scheduled to work seven and one-half (7.5) hours per day, Monday 

through Friday, is considered to be on a regular work schedule. 

 
1.04 IRREGULAR WORK SCHEDULES 

 
Several departments and agencies may require irregular work schedules for their 

employees because of the nature of the work. With prior approval of the 

department or agency's appointing authority, management at each work location 

has the authority to schedule arrival and departure times and specific workdays 
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for employees depending upon local needs. The use of flex time and compressed 

work weeks is also subject to approval of the appointing authority. Any work 

schedule totaling more than thirty-seven and one-half (37.5) hours per week must 

have prior approval of the Commissioners of Human Resources and Finance 

and Administration. 

 
An employee on an irregular work schedule must revert to a normal work week 

schedule when using a prolonged period of annual, sick, or compensatory leave, 

when placed on extended leave without pay status, and when paid through the 

Sick Leave Bank. 

 
1.05 DAYLIGHT SAVINGS TIME AND SHIFT 

 
Daylight savings time is observed in accordance with the Uniform Time Act. 

 
A. Employees on duty at 2:00 a.m. when daylight savings time goes into effect 

in the Spring and moves forward by one (1) hour, although they actually work 

one (1) hour less than a full shirt, should be given credit for a full shift. 

 
B. When time reverts to standard time in the Fall, employees on duty during 

that shift will work and be compensated for an extra hour. This hour should 

be considered when determining eligibility for overtime compensation for that 

week. 

 
 

 
Authority: 

Tenn. Code Ann. § 4-4-105 

Rules of the Department of Human Resources: 1120-06-.02 and 1120-06-.03. 

https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=5271aa88-11ed-44f7-b484-1d4f6aac0e4d&nodeid=AAEAAEAAF&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAE%2FAAEAAE%2FAAEAAEAAF&level=3&haschildren&populated=false&title=4-4-105.%2BDepartment%2Boffice%2Bhours%2B%E2%80%94%2BOvertime.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4WYJ-1060-R03K-53RD-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=b0d736be-51ab-4411-8800-588b2de03ecf
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=5271aa88-11ed-44f7-b484-1d4f6aac0e4d&nodeid=AAEAAEAAF&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAE%2FAAEAAE%2FAAEAAEAAF&level=3&haschildren&populated=false&title=4-4-105.%2BDepartment%2Boffice%2Bhours%2B%E2%80%94%2BOvertime.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4WYJ-1060-R03K-53RD-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=b0d736be-51ab-4411-8800-588b2de03ecf
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-06.20230418.pdf
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CHAPTER 2 

LUNCH AND WELLNESS BREAKS 

 
 

2.01 LUNCH HOUR 

 
Employees shall be allowed a one (1) hour unpaid meal period. The employee 

should be relieved of all work responsibilities for the purpose of eating a meal. 

The authorized meal period must be taken during the work shift and may not be 

used to alter arrival or departure time by not using the meal period or any part 

thereof. 

 
This provision shall not apply to the following employees: 

• Uniformed members of the Departments of Safety & Homeland Security and 

Revenue 

• Wildlife Officers 

• Park Rangers 

• Employees  of  the Department  of  Transportation in the following 

classifications: 

o Highway Response Operator 1 or 2 

o Highway Response Supervisor 1 or 2 

o Communications Dispatcher 1 or 2 

o Transportation Management Center Operator 

o Transportation Management Center Supervisor 1 or 2 

• Non-administrative officials of the Departments of Children’s Services or 

Correction 

• Employees assigned to hospitals or institutions in the Departments of 

Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services and Intellectual and 

Developmental Disabilities. 

Examples of charging leave before and after the lunch hour are: 

 
Example 1: The employee arrives at work at 8:00  a.m. and works continuously until 

1:00 p.m. The employee then requests annual leave for the remainder of the day. 

The employee actually worked 5.0 hours and charged 2.5 hours of annual leave.
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Example 2: The employee arrives at work at 8:00 a.m. and works until 1:00 with 

the usual lunch hour and then requests annual leave for the remainder of that day. 

The employee will be charged 3.5 hours of annual leave, having actually worked 4.0 

hours and taken an hour for lunch. 

 
2.02 ON-CALL 

 
Certain employees are "on-call" during their meal period. These employees are 

relieved of their duties during the meal period but must remain easily reachable 

to report back to work, if necessary. These employees receive extra 

compensation only if they are called back to work. 

 
2.03 FIXED POST ASSIGNMENT 

 
Certain employees cannot be relieved of duties to have a meal period during their 

work shift. This situation usually results from "fixed post" assignments in which 

employees may not leave their workstation. These employees are considered to be 

at work even if they are able to eat a meal during their work shift and must 

be compensated accordingly. 

 
2.04 REST OR WELLNESS BREAKS 

 
Appointing authorities or agency heads, at their discretion, may allow their 

employees two (2) rest or wellness breaks, of fifteen (15) minutes duration each, 

during each workday. These rest and wellness breaks are a privilege, not a right, 

and should be taken at times that do not interfere with service to the public. If an 

employee chooses not to take advantage of these breaks, this time may not be 

accumulated and added to lunch periods or any type of leave. 

 
A rest or wellness break may not be used to alter arrival or departure time or 

used in conjunction with the lunch hour. 

 
With supervisor approval, wellness breaks may be combined into one (1) thirty (30) 
minute break. 
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2.05 BREAK TIME FOR NURSING MOTHERS 

 
An employee who needs to express breast milk for the nursing child shall be 

allowed a reasonable break time. The employee should also be afforded a space to 

do so that is not a bathroom, is shielded from view, and is free from intrusion 

from coworkers and the public. Break time for nursing mothers shall be allowed 

in addition to other provided breaks. Break time for nursing mothers shall not be 

used to alter the employee’s scheduled arrival or departure time. 

 

 
Authority: 

Fair Labor Standards Act (29 U.S.C. §§ 201, et seq.) 

Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (P.L. 111-148) 

Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 4-4-105, 8-30-104, 8-30-406 and 50-1-305 

Rules of the Department of Human Resources: 1120-06-.06, 1120-06-.07, and 1120-06-.08. 

https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/WHD/legacy/files/FairLaborStandAct.pdf
https://www.hhs.gov/sites/default/files/ppacacon.pdf
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=08ae7b0d-e6f6-4033-a3aa-eb8759e5d2d5&nodeid=AAEAAEAAF&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAE%2FAAEAAE%2FAAEAAEAAF&level=3&haschildren&populated=false&title=4-4-105.%2BDepartment%2Boffice%2Bhours%2B%E2%80%94%2BOvertime.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4WYJ-1060-R03K-53RD-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=b0d736be-51ab-4411-8800-588b2de03ecf
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=c687613a-5080-4a5c-98c2-efdd66c3fe0f&nodeid=AAIABDAABAAE&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAB%2FAAIABDAABAAE&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-104.%2BAuthority%2Bof%2Bcommissioner%2B%E2%80%94%2BSupervisory%2Bpersonnel%2B%E2%80%94%2BDesignees.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4M0-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=b0d736be-51ab-4411-8800-588b2de03ecf
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=5a81018a-086d-460d-a8ca-4ae3d3b71131&nodeid=AAIABDAAEAAG&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAE%2FAAIABDAAEAAG&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-406.%2BHours%2Bof%2Bwork%2C%2Battendance%2C%2Band%2Bleaves%2Bof%2Babsence.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A55XV-B4N0-R03J-X0GV-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=b0d736be-51ab-4411-8800-588b2de03ecf
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=e44331f1-5f94-4781-a55f-e9a24eff4f81&nodeid=ABYAABAADAAF&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FABY%2FABYAAB%2FABYAABAAD%2FABYAABAADAAF&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=50-1-305.%2BBreast%2Bmilk%2Bexpressing%2Bby%2Bemployees%2B%E2%80%94%2BBreak%2Btime%2Band%2Bplace.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8M-1710-R03K-P25H-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=b0d736be-51ab-4411-8800-588b2de03ecf
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-06.20230418.pdf
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CHAPTER 3 

ADMINISTRATIVE LEAVE (Excused and Unexcused Absences) 

 
3.01 EXCUSED ABSENCE AUTHORIZATION 

 
An excused absence is leave with pay granted under Tennessee law and/or 

Department of Human Resources rules or policies without being charged against the 

employee’s compensatory, annual, or sick leave. This leave should be charged as 

administrative leave with pay unless noted differently. 

 
3.02 PARTICIPATION IN STATE ASSESSMENTS AND INTERVIEWS 

 
An employee may be granted an excused absence to participate in a state 

administered assessment or at a State of Tennessee job interview. An excused 

absence will not be granted to participate in external assessments or interviews. 

 
Recordkeeping: Employee timesheets should be coded as Administrative Leave for 

Interviews and Exams (ADMIV). 

 
3.03 ELECTIONS - TIME ALLOWANCE FOR VOTING 

 
Any person entitled to vote in an election held in this state may be granted paid 

leave on the day of the election for a reasonable period of time, not to exceed 

three (3) hours, to vote during the time polls are open in the county where the 

employee resides. Requests for such leave shall be made to the supervisor before 

12:00 p.m. on the day before the election. 

 
If the work schedule of an employee begins three (3) or more hours after the 

opening of the polls or ends three (3) or more hours before the closing of polls of 

the county where the employee is a resident, the employee may not take time off 

under this section. 

 
Recordkeeping: Employee timesheets should be coded as  Administrative  Leave  for Election 

(ADMEL). 

This section applies to all elections for public office, for candidacy for public office, 

and on questions submitted to the people.
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Example: In most elections, the polls close at 7:00 p.m. Therefore, state employees 

whose normal shifts end at 4:30 p.m. and who have requested to leave early to 

vote as prescribed above, should be excused at 4:00 p.m. on that date to ensure that 

they have a reasonable period of time to vote. 

 
Since polls are open until 8:00 p.m. in the Eastern Time Zone, this policy only affects 

employees in that time zone working a schedule other than 8:00 a.m. until 4:30 p.m. 

Therefore, only employees having less than three (3) hours available between the 

normal end of their shift and 8:00 p.m., Eastern Time Zone, should be notified of this 

policy. Otherwise, the policy only applies to employees in the Central Time Zone. 

 
3.04 EXCUSED ABSENCE WITHOUT PAY FOR VOTING MACHINE TECHNICIAN 

 
A voting machine technician appointed by the county election commission who 

performs such duties on a part-time basis and who is a full-time state employee 

shall be excused without pay from the employee’s assigned duties for the day(s) 

required for the performance of the technician’s duties. No employee being 

excused under this section shall be required to use annual or compensatory leave 

to perform the technician’s duties. An employee may request compensatory or 

annual leave in lieu of time without pay. 

 
3.05 BLOOD DONATION 

 
Employees participating in a state-sponsored blood drive will be considered on duty 

during the time necessary to give blood, plus a reasonable length of time for 

recovery. Any time away from the job beyond that period, due to complications, must 

be charged as sick, compensatory, or annual leave. 

 
Employees with rare or special blood types contacted by the American Red Cross 

and its counterparts in other areas of the state and asked to donate blood will be 

considered on duty during the time required. 

 
Employees donating platelets through the Pheresis Program should be granted 

“administrative leave with pay” for the time required, workload permitting. The 

difference in policy for pheresis donors is necessary due to the frequency one may 

give platelets versus whole blood (every two (2) weeks versus every fifty-six (56) 

days).
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3.06 EMPLOYEE WELLBEING SOLUTIONS (EWS) 

 
Employees are to be excused to receive up to ten (10) hours per year to attend EWS 

sponsored programs or counseling.1 While supervisors may maintain informal 

records of employees' attendance at EWS sponsored programs or counseling, no 

formal documentation should be maintained in the employee’s personnel file. EWS 

counseling sessions are considered confidential. For this reason, employees should 

be considered "on duty" during the time EWS programs or counseling occurs and 

this time coded as working time on the employee's attendance and leave record (up 

to ten (10) hours). 

 
Should the employee be referred by an EWS counselor to other professional services 

for additional counseling or treatment, any further time off should be coded as 

compensatory, annual, or sick leave as appropriate. 

 
3.07 ABSENCE DUE TO INCLEMENT WEATHER 

 
Inclement weather does not usually warrant the closing of state offices. Absence 

due to inclement weather requires that each employee make a personal judgment 

pertaining to the employee’s safety in traveling to and from work. Loss of work time 

for this reason is charged against the employee's compensatory or annual leave 

accumulation. If the employee has no compensatory or annual leave, then the time 

absent is charged as leave without pay. Employees who make the effort to report 

on time (employee leaving at normal departure time from home) and who report 

within a reasonable period should not be required to use leave for that absence. 

 
Occasionally, extraordinary emergency conditions caused by inclement weather 

may warrant the closing of some state offices by the Governor or Governor’s 

designee. Any decision to close state offices due to inclement weather should be 

countywide and made county to county. Communication of any closing decision will 

be made as quickly as practical by email, the State’s mass notification alert system, 

or public broadcast media. 
 

1 This includes time for travel. For example, an employee may have up to five 1-hour sessions of EWS. The 

employee will also be allowed to up to 30 minutes before and after each session for travel. This totals to the 10- 

hour allotment.
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Recordkeeping: Employee timesheets should be coded as Administrative Leave for Inclement 

Weather (ADMIW). 

 
Certain employees who are employed by the Departments of Mental Health & 

Substance Abuse Services, Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities, Correction, 

Children’s Services (group homes, schools, and institutions), Military, 

Transportation, Safety & Homeland Security, and others which require the employee 

to maintain the health and safety of others may be required to report to work during 

periods of inclement weather. 

 
Employees who work in a county where state offices are closed due to extreme 

weather will receive administrative leave with pay for regularly scheduled working 

hours during the period of closing. Employees who must work when offices in their 

work county are closed are eligible for regular compensatory time for hours 

actually worked during the period of closing up to their regular scheduled hours 

for the workday. Hours worked in excess of regularly scheduled hours are 

compensated as overtime hours at the end of the work week based on each 

employee’s FLSA status. Such time worked by an executive grade employee should be 

treated the same as time worked on a holiday. Part-time employees are not eligible 

for administrative leave or compensatory time. Employees on previously approved 

leave during the affected period must continue to charge the appropriate leave and 

will not be eligible for administrative leave. 

 
Recordkeeping; Employee timesheets should be coded as Regular Inclement Weather Shift 

1, 2, or 3 (RIWS1 – 1st shift, RIWS2 – 2nd shift, or RIWS3 – 3rd shift). 

 
Employees already scheduled to work at home through an Alternative Workplace 

Solutions (AWS) arrangement must continue to work from home to the extent 

possible. However, if an employee is participating in the Mobile Work AWS 

arrangement on the day State offices are closed, the Appointing Authority will have 

the discretion to either allow the employee to be excused from work and granted 

discretionary leave with pay or require the employee to work remotely. 

 
3.08 ABSENCE DUE TO UNINHABITABLE BUILDING 

 
Employees who are not able to work in a building that is considered uninhabitable 

due to power outages, flooding, physical damage, or other valid reasons should be 
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granted administrative leave with pay for all regularly scheduled hours during the 

affected period. Employees who are required by management to work during the 

periods that the building is considered uninhabitable may receive regular 

compensatory time for hours actually worked during the affected period up to their 

regularly scheduled hours for the workday. Hours worked in excess of regularly 

scheduled hours are compensated as overtime hours at the end of the work week 

based on each employee’s FLSA status. 

 
Only those employees who are directly affected by a building closing are eligible for 

administrative leave with pay or compensatory time. Employees who normally work 

in an affected building or area who were assigned to a different work location that 

was not considered uninhabitable during the affected period are not covered under 

this policy. Such time worked by an executive grade employee should be treated 

the same as time worked on a holiday. Part-time employees are not eligible for 

administrative leave or compensatory time. Employees on previously approved leave 

during the affected period must continue to charge the appropriate leave and will 

not be eligible for administrative leave. Similarly, employees scheduled as AWS 

during the affected period are not covered under this policy. 

 
The Commissioner of the Department of Human Resources, acting on a 

recommendation from the requesting agency’s appointing authority, shall have the 

sole authority to declare a building uninhabitable. If a determination is made to 

deem the building uninhabitable, the agency’s appointing authority should be 

notified as soon as possible. Authorized personnel in the agency may deem a 

building uninhabitable in emergency situations that are considered hazardous to 

the safety of the employees or when situations occur outside the regular Monday 

through Friday work schedule. When this occurs, the Department of Human 

Resources should be notified as soon as possible. A follow-up written notification to 

the Department of Human Resources is required in all uninhabitable situations. 

The uninhabitable building policy only applies in instances in which an entire county 

is not closed. All employees within the county in which the building is located that 

are not affected by the building closure will not be eligible for any administrative 

leave with pay or compensatory time. 

 
Employees cease to receive administrative leave with pay or compensatory time 

once the building is considered habitable again or an alternative work site is 

provided. Administrative leave and compensatory time granted under this policy 

may not exceed thirty-seven and one-half (37.5) hours for a seven and one-half (7.5) 
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hour employee, or forty (40.0) hours for an eight (8.0) hour employee, without 

additional authorization from the Department of Human Resources. 

Recordkeeping: Employee timesheets should be coded as Regular Uninhabitable Building 

Shift 1, 2, or 3 (RUBS1 – 1st shift, RUBS2 – 2nd shift, or RUBS3 – 3rd shift). 

 
3.09 ABSENCE DUE TO DECLARED STATE OF EMERGENCY 

 
The State of Tennessee recognizes that there will be instances where the Governor 

declares a state of emergency resulting from an emergency beyond local control. 

However, it shall be the policy of the State to make every effort to maintain normal 

working hours by initiating departmental Continuity of Operations Plans (COOP) 

and/or Emergency Workforce Management Plans during these periods in order to 

continue providing necessary services. 

 
These conditions may require each employee to make a personal decision regarding 

safety in traveling to and from the workplace. As with absences due to inclement 

weather, employees who do not feel it is safe to travel should contact their supervisor. 

If the employee is eligible for an AWS arrangement during the affected period, they 

may be allowed to work remotely at agency discretion. Employees who otherwise do 

not report to work may use accumulated annual or compensatory leave for their 

absence. If the employee has no compensatory or annual leave, then the time absent 

is charged as leave without pay. Employees who make every effort and report to work 

within a reasonable period should not be required to take leave for that absence. To 

be eligible, the employee must leave for work at his or her normal departure time in 

anticipation of regular arrival time. 

 
In extraordinary situations, the Governor, in consultation with the Tennessee 

Emergency Management Agency (TEMA) and the Departments of Transportation, 

Safety & Homeland Security, Health, Human Resources or other departments, may 

determine that state government offices should be closed in a particular county or 

counties due to a declared state of emergency. Notice of the closing of state offices 

will be timely given to local media for broadcast to the general public. If this occurs, 

employees other than those who work in 24-hour facilities, are required to work on 

an emergency basis, or participate in an AWS arrangement, shall be excused from 

work and granted administrative leave with pay for any scheduled hours. 
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Employees who are required to work when their offices have been otherwise closed 
shall be granted compensatory time for hours actually worked during the period of closing 
up their regularly scheduled hours for the workday. Hours worked in excess of regularly 
scheduled hours may be compensated as overtime, depending on each employee’s 
status under the Fair Labor Standards Act. An appointing authority may grant 
administrative leave with pay to executive and non-compensatory employees who are 
required to work during a time when offices are closed. This administrative leave shall 
be equal to the hours worked and must be taken within twelve (12) months from the time 
worked. 

 
This leave shall not be granted to employees who were previously scheduled to be 

working under an AWS arrangement and are otherwise not required to work in a 

structure deemed uninhabitable. 

 
In the event the Governor declares a state of emergency as the result of a natural or 

man-made disaster, an appointing authority may grant up to ten (10) workdays of 

discretionary leave with pay to an employee whose primary residence becomes 

uninhabitable due to the disaster. Additional restrictions can be found by reviewing 

DOHR Policy 12-039. 

 
3.10 HEALTH SERVICES 

 
Administrative leave with pay may be granted for an employee to attend state 

sponsored health promotion-related programs and activities or to receive medical 

treatment through the State Employee Health Center. 

 
The employee must go directly to the health clinic or specified location and return 

immediately to work if he/she works in a county that is a reasonable distance from 

where the health services are being conducted. A maximum of four and one half 

(4.5) hours of administrative leave with pay may be granted for an employee 

to receive health services. 

 
Recordkeeping: Employee timesheets should be coded as Administrative Leave for Health 

Services (ADMHS). 

 
3.11 STATE GROUP INSURANCE APPEALS 

 
Employees may appeal state group insurance plan decisions when they feel benefits 

were not provided in accordance with the plan document. In addition to a review of 

the written record, employees may make a personal presentation as part of their

https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/hr/documents/dohrpolicies2019/12-039%20Employee%20Absences%20Due%20to%20Declared%20State%20of%20Emergency.pdf
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appeal. Employees should call the Benefits Administration hotline at 615-741-3590 

or 800-253-9981 or reach out to the Benefits Coordinator in their agency. 

 
If an employee chooses to appear in person and is successful in the appeal, it is 

appropriate to code the employee’s timesheet as regular time worked. 

 
3.12 APPEARANCE AT APPEALS DISCUSSIONS & HEARINGS 

 
The Step I Appeals Discussion is the first step of the discipline appeals process for 

preferred service employees and involves the participation of the affected employee. 

When an employee appears at a Step I Appeal Discussion, the employee’s timesheet 

will be coded as regular time worked. If the employee fails to participate or appear 

for the scheduled Step I Appeal Discussion, without prior notice and absent 

extenuating circumstances, the employee’s time will be coded as leave without pay. 

 
The Board of Appeals (Step III hearing) serves as the final step of the appeals 

process for preferred service employees. When an employee appears  at a Board  of 

Appeals hearing at the discretion of a proper authority,  the  employee’s timesheet 

will be coded as regular time worked. 

 
3.13 SPECIALIZED DISASTER RELIEF SERVICES LEAVE 

 
A state employee who is a certified disaster service volunteer of the American Red 

Cross may be granted administrative leave with pay, not to exceed fifteen (15) 

regularly scheduled workdays in each calendar year, to participate in specialized 

disaster relief services for the American Red Cross. This leave shall not affect the 

employee's regular leave status. 

 
The employee must submit a written request from the American Red Cross giving 

details concerning the specialized disaster relief services to the employee’s 

appointing authority for approval. 

 
An employee who works an irregular schedule must be placed on a regular schedule 

(seven and one-half (7.5) or eight (8.0) hours per day) for the time this leave is being 

used. Holidays and scheduled off duty days do not count toward the fifteen (15) 

workdays allowed.
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Recordkeeping: Employee timesheets should be coded as Administrative Leave for Disaster 

Relief (ADMDR). 

3.14 BEREAVEMENT LEAVE 

 
Bereavement leave will be granted for three (3) days in the event of the death of an 

employee's immediate family member (defined as spouse, children (including 

unborn), stepchildren, siblings, parents, grandparents, grandchildren, stepparents, 

foster parents and parents-in-law) without charge to the employee's accumulated 

leave balance. The granting of bereavement leave does not increase the total 

number of days provided for in Chapter 5 Sick Leave, nor does it affect the use of 

annual leave. 

 
Example: An employee had a sick leave balance of 90.5 hours. The employee is 

granted 3 days (22.5 hours) of paid bereavement leave. The bereavement leave is 

not deducted from the employee’s sick leave, leaving a sick leave balance of 90.5 

hours. If, the employee also used 2 days (15.0 hours) of sick leave, then this is 

deducted, leaving a sick leave balance of 75.5 hours. 

 
Recordkeeping: Employee timesheets should be coded as Bereavement Leave (BER) with pay. 

 
For additional information on bereavement leave please refer to Chapter 5 Sick 

Leave. 

 
3.15 DISCRETIONARY LEAVE WITH PAY 

 
Appointing authorities may grant discretionary leave with pay to an employee for a 

period of time not to exceed ten (10) working days when it is considered necessary 

for the welfare of the employee or the proper operation of the agency. The 

Commissioner of the Department of Human Resources must approve any period of 

discretionary leave that exceeds the ten (10) working days. 

 
Discretionary leave with pay cannot be approved to supplement leave already 

provided for in Tennessee law. For example, sick leave is for health-related issues 

and annual leave is for personal, vacation and recreational needs. Such leave is 

legislated and cannot be extended or supplemented by granting discretionary leave 

with pay. 

 
Recordkeeping: Employee timesheets should be coded as Administrative Leave with Pay 
(ADM). 
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3.16 UNEXCUSED ABSENCES 

 
Absence of an employee after compensatory, annual or sick leave has been 

requested and denied prior to the occurrence of the leave should always be 

considered an unexcused absence. 

 
Leave time not approved in advance may be considered an unexcused absence as 

long as the employee has been informed in writing, of the consequences of not 

obtaining approval in advance on at least one prior occasion. Consequences in this 

situation include the supervisor's authority to require that leave time not approved 

in advance be taken without pay along with instruction that continued unexcused 

absences could result in disciplinary action. 

 
While an unexcused absence may be without pay, a supervisor may choose to allow 

an employee to reduce the employee leave balance by the amount of time used. In 

this situation, a notation should be placed on the leave request form indicating that 

the time off is considered an unexcused absence. 

 
Sick leave is not considered an unexcused absence if the employee presents a valid 

statement from a doctor within a reasonable amount of time after it is either requested 

by a supervisor or the employee returns to work. 

 

 
Authority: 

Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 2-1-103, 2-1-106, 2-9-103, 8-30-104, 8-50-113, and 8-50-810 

Rules of the Department of Human Resources 1120-06

https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=ceba986f-6412-41e9-9aa7-dc6307900441&nodeid=AACAABAAD&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAC%2FAACAAB%2FAACAABAAD&level=3&haschildren&populated=false&title=2-1-103.%2BScope%2Bof%2Btitle.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8J-5J80-R03M-X08M-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=6c6a81fa-5557-4154-9572-37b30e17a4ef&nodeid=AACAABAAG&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAC%2FAACAAB%2FAACAABAAG&level=3&haschildren&populated=false&title=2-1-106.%2BAbsence%2Bfrom%2Bwork%2Ballowed%2Bfor%2Bvoting.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8J-5J80-R03M-X08P-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=ba7555fc-c177-410a-b922-fe931fdcd8f2&nodeid=AACAAJAAD&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAC%2FAACAAJ%2FAACAAJAAD&level=3&haschildren&populated=false&title=2-9-103.%2BVoting%2Bmachine%2Btechnicians.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8J-6910-R03J-J23G-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=5311fb88-dd52-4dc4-9f31-c8bb814e9f94&nodeid=AAIABDAABAAE&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAB%2FAAIABDAABAAE&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-104.%2BAuthority%2Bof%2Bcommissioner%2B%E2%80%94%2BSupervisory%2Bpersonnel%2B%E2%80%94%2BDesignees.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4M0-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=380a33e6-e97e-41dd-bc65-81b4c7b48f31&nodeid=AAIABWAABAAN&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAB%2FAAIABWAABAAN&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-50-113.%2BBereavement%2Bleave.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82RG-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=89decb53-fa94-4c28-9401-2bff38eaeda3&nodeid=AAIABWAAIAAK&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAI%2FAAIABWAAIAAK&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-50-810.%2BAmerican%2BRed%2BCross%2Bdisaster%2Bleave.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82SN-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-06.20230418.pdf
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CHAPTER 4 ANNUAL LEAVE 

 
4.01 ELIGIBILITY TO ACCRUE LEAVE 

 
Employees scheduled to work one thousand six hundred (1,600) hours or more in 

a fiscal year, whether compensated on hourly, daily, monthly, or piecework basis, 

shall accrue annual leave on the date the employee is hired and on each service 

anniversary date. 

 
4.02 EMPLOYEES ELIGIBLE TO ACCRUE LEAVE 

 
The following employees are eligible to accrue leave: 

 
A. Employees with regular, temporary provisional and interim appointments who 

are employed full-time. 

 
B. Employees serving on full-time temporary appointments accrue leave after 

completing six (6) months of active service. The first day following completion of 

six (6) months of service is regarded as the beginning date for the purpose of 

accruing leave. Each period of temporary employment should be treated 

separately. 

 
C. Any part-time or seasonal employee scheduled to work one thousand, six 

hundred (1,600) hours or more in a fiscal year. 

 
D. Any employee currently eligible to accrue leave who receives a full-time 

emergency or full-time temporary appointment shall continue to accrue leave, 

provided there is no break in service. 

 
4.03 EMPLOYEES INELIGIBLE TO ACCRUE LEAVE 

 
The following employees are not eligible to accrue leave: 

 
A. Employees on temporary appointments who have worked less than six (6) 

months. 
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B. Employees on educational leave, with or without 

pay. 

 
C. Employees on emergency appointments. 

 
D. Employees on Division of Claims/Workers’ Compensation Administration 

leave. 

 
E. Employees on terminal leave. 

 
F. Employees on military leave without pay. 

 
G. Employees on special leave without pay. 

 
H. Employees on parental leave without pay. 

 
I. Seasonal or part-time employees scheduled to work less than one thousand 

six hundred (1,600) hours in a fiscal year. 

 
J. Employees being paid through the Sick Leave Bank. 

 
K. Limited term employees (such as commissioners) are not eligible to accrue 

leave while serving in limited term appointments. However, should these 

employees later be appointed to a position eligible to accrue leave, their time 

served in a full-time limited term appointment can be used to establish the 

proper leave service group. 

 
4.04 LEAVE ACCRUAL 

 
Leave is accrued on a regular workday basis. One (1) day of leave is equivalent to 

seven and one half (7.5) hours for employees on a thirty-seven and one-half (37.5) 

hour per work week schedule. One (1) day of leave is equal to eight (8.0) hours 

for employees on a forty (40) hour per work week schedule. Employees on any 

authorized work cycle changing from one schedule to another will have their hourly 

balances adjusted accordingly. 
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Example 1: (231.5 hours accrued on a 7.5- hour schedule changing to an 8.0- 

hour schedule): 

 
231.5 hours x 1.0667 = 249.9 hours for 8.0 hours schedule 

(8.0 divided by 7.5 = 1.0667) 

 
Example 2: (231.5 hours accrued on an 8.0- hour schedule changing to a 7.5- 

hour schedule): 

 
231.5 hours x 0.9375 = 217.0 hours for 7.5 hours schedule 

(7.5 divided by 8.0 = 0.9375) 

 
4.05 LEAVE ACCUMULATION 

 
An eligible employee earns and accumulates annual leave on the date the employee 

is hired and on each service anniversary date. Service anniversary dates shall be 

adjusted to account for gaps in paid employment as a state employee. Accrued leave 

will be available on the first day of the employee’s service anniversary month. 

 
Group amounts earned and maximum allowable accumulations follow: 

 
Service Group 1: Employees with less than five (5) years of full-time service accrue 

annual leave at the rate of twelve (12) days per year on the date the employee is 

hired and on each service anniversary date and may accumulate a maximum of 

thirty (30) workdays (or two hundred twenty-five (225.0) hours). Employees working 

an eight (8.0) hour schedule may accumulate a maximum of two hundred forty 

(240.0) hours. 

 
Service Group 2: Employees with five (5) years and less than ten (10) years of full- 

time service accrue annual leave at the rate of eighteen (18) days per year on each 

service anniversary date and may accumulate a maximum of thirty-six (36) 

workdays (or two hundred seventy (270.0) hours). Employees working an eight                            (8.0) 

hour schedule may accumulate a maximum of two-hundred eighty-eight (288.0) 

hours. 
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Service Group 3: Employees with ten (10) years and less than twenty (20) years of 

full-time service accrue annual leave at the rate of twenty-one (21) days per year 

on each service anniversary date and may accumulate a maximum of thirty-nine 

(39) workdays (or two hundred ninety-two and one-half (292.5) hours). Employees 

working an eight (8.0) hour schedule may accumulate a maximum of three-hundred 

twelve (312.0) hours. 

 

Service Group 4: Employees with twenty (20) years or more full-time service accrue 

annual leave at the rate of twenty-four (24) days per year on each service 

anniversary date and may accumulate a maximum of forty-two (42) workdays (or 

three hundred fifteen hours (315.0) hours). Employees working an eight (8.0) hour 

schedule may accumulate a maximum of three hundred thirty-six (336.0) hours. 

 
4.06 RECORDING TIME 

 
Time should be recorded in hours and tenths of hours, i.e., one and one-half hours 

should be entered as 1.5. To assist in recording attendance and leave data 

accurately and quickly, the following equivalent time chart showing hours and 

tenths of hours instead of hours and minutes should be used. When deducting 

against the employee for absences, if the time absent falls between the designated 

times shown always move back to the previous tenth of an hour. When computing 

overtime or compensatory time earned of any kind, move to the next higher tenth of 

an hour over the number of minutes worked if the time falls between the 

designated tenths. The decimal breakdown on the following chart enables quick 

determination of equivalent minutes: 

 
EQUIVALENT TIME CHART 

 

.1 hour = 6 minutes or less 

.2 hour = 12 minutes 

.3 hour = 18 minutes 

.4 hour = 24 minutes 

.5 hour = 30 minutes 

.6 hour = 36 minutes 

.7 hour = 42 minutes 

.8 hour = 48 minutes 

.9 hour = 54 minutes 

1.0 hour = 60 minutes 
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4.07 SCHEDULING ANNUAL LEAVE 

 
Any employee may request to use annual leave at any time by application to the 

employee’s appropriate supervisor through Edison. The request is subject to 

approval of the supervisor, who must plan the work under the supervisor’s 

control and authorize absences only at such times as the employee can be spared. 

Exceptions may apply to members of the armed services or as the result of an 

emergency. 

 
Annual leave may not be advanced beyond the instructions in Section 4.05. 

Annual leave may not be taken until earned, which occurs on the date the 

employee is hired and on each service anniversary date. 

 
An employee leave request should be completed and submitted to the supervisor 

before leave may be approved. Leave for unexpected illness or other 

extenuating situations may be provisionally approved verbally by the supervisor. 

The first day an employee returns from leave, a request must be submitted by 

the employee and must then be approved by the supervisor. Upon return, the 

employee must submit a request for leave to cover the period previously approved. 

 
4.08 YEARLY TRANSFER OF ANNUAL LEAVE TO SICK LEAVE 

 
Annual leave earned in excess of the maximum allowable accumulation for an 

employee's service group is transferred to the employee's sick leave account. The 

last day of the  month preceding the employee’s service anniversary date will be the 

month when the annual leave total exceeding the maximum allowed for a particular 

service group transfers to the sick leave account. Employees can accumulate 

leave in excess of the maximum amount allowed for up to one (1) year before it 

is transferred to the sick leave account on the last day of the month preceding the 

employee’s service anniversary date. 

 
4.09 USING COMPENSATORY LEAVE BEFORE ANNUAL LEAVE 

 
The use of earned compensatory leave is subject to approval of the department, 

agency head, designated manager, or supervisor. When an employee requests 

annual leave and compensatory leave is available, the compensatory leave shall 

be used first, unless the accumulated annual leave balance at the beginning of the 

pay period is within two (2) days of the maximum accrual hours for the 

employee's service group. When an employee is within two (2) days of the 
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maximum, annual leave may be used until the employee falls below the (2) day 

maximum at that point the employee will use compensatory leave for the 

remainder of the pay period. Any employee whose annual leave balance is not 

within the two (2) day maximum at the beginning of a pay period must use 

compensatory leave during the entire pay period. The term "two (2) days" shall 

mean fifteen (15.0) hours for thirty-seven and one half (37.5) hours-per week 

employees and sixteen (16.0) hours for forty (40.0) hours-per week employees. 

 
Employees' service groups change on the first day of the month. Therefore, to 

determine eligibility to use annual leave before compensatory leave, the new 

service group maximum hours shall be used. 

For more information on Compensatory Time, please reference Chapter 18 of this 

manual. 

 
4.10 ANNUAL LEAVE PAYMENT UPON SEPARATION/TERMINATION 

 
Upon separation, an employee shall be paid in a lump sum for any unused 

annual leave accumulation (unless the employee was dismissed for gross 

misconduct). See DOHR Rule 1120-10-.04(4)(c). 

 

Employees who separate within their first year of employment; however, may 

see their final paycheck reduced. If the termination date is prior to the service 

anniversary date, the employee’s final paycheck shall be reduced to account for 

the number of annual days used that exceed the number of months in which the 

employee worked. Likewise, the employee’s service credit amounts will be 

adjusted proportionally.  

 

If the separated employee is rehired by the State within one (1) year of the date of 

separation, the State shall reinstate any accrued, unused annual leave from the 

previous period of employment for which the employee was not compensated at 

separation. 

 

When an employee is terminated for gross misconduct or resigns in lieu of 

termination for gross misconduct, the employee forfeits payment of the annual 

leave balance. The agency shall submit a detailed report of gross misconduct, 

including the statutory citation for the action which could lead to criminal 

prosecution of the employee along with the notice of separation to the Department 

of Human Resources. See Chapter 16 regarding method of payment for unused 

annual leave for separating/terminating employees. 

 

https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-10.20230418.pdf
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Example: Employee A is hired on July 1, 2024. The employee is frontloaded 12 

days of annual leave and 12 days of sick leave. The employee uses 5 days of 

annual leave for a vacation in August 2024. The employee resigns effective 

September 1, 2024. The employee only worked for (a major portion of) 2 months 

but used 5 days of annual leave. The employee’s final paycheck will be reduced to 

account for 3 days of annual leave, the number of days the employee used that 

exceeded the number of months the employee worked the major portion. 

 
4.11 LEAVE OF ABSENCE FOR PARTICIPATION IN CERTAIN ATHLETIC COMPETITIONS 

 
An employee may be granted compensatory, annual or special leave without pay 

if the employee is a group leader, coach, official or athlete who comprises the official 

delegation of the United States in World, Pan-American or Olympic level 

competition. The employee is eligible for leave provided that the employee: 

 
A. is actively working at the time the request is made; 

 
B. the request of such a leave of absence is made within a reasonable period 

which, whenever practicable, will be fifteen (15) days prior to the date the employee 

wishes such leave to commence; and 

 
C. the employee shall: 

 
1. provide the actual or anticipated dates of the competition in which the 

employee expects to compete or participate, together with the dates of 

any official training camp period required for preparation for competition; 

 
2. specify the total number of days of leave necessary in order to participate 

in and prepare for the athletic competition(s) involved; and 

 
3. submit satisfactory evidence of qualification and selection for participation 

in athletic competitions. 

 
Leave shall be available only for the purpose of preparing for and engaging in the 

competitions stated above, and in no event shall the total of all such leave exceed 

the period of the official training camp and competition combined plus a 

reasonable amount of travel time or ninety (90) calendar days a year, whichever 

is less. 
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An employee who has been granted leave and is for any reason unable to further 

participate in the training period or competition covered by such leave, shall 

be required to immediately notify the employee’s appointing authority of such 

inability and such employee may be required to return to and resume the duties 

of the employee’s position provided the employee is physically able to do so. An 

employee who has traveled to locations of actual competition shall not be required 

to return prior to completion of the competition or until the scheduled departure 

date of the team of which the employee is a member, whichever is later. 

 
4.12 ANNUAL LEAVE TRANSFERABLE BETWEEN STATE AGENCIES 

 
Unless there is a break in service, annual leave must be transferred to and will 

be accepted from state agencies, higher education institutions, legislative and 

judicial branches. 

 

If an employee transfers to and from either house of the General Assembly 

including the Fiscal Review Committee (specifically, Business Units 301.01 and 

301.50), their leave will be manually adjusted by DOHR as needed. 

 
Annual leave earned while employed by a local school board in Tennessee is 

not transferable. 
 

 

4.13 USING ANNUAL LEAVE FOR EMPLOYEE MEETINGS 

 
An officer or employee belonging to an employee association qualified for payroll 

deduction for association dues may use two (2) days of accrued annual leave 

each year to attend a statewide meeting, conference or convention of the 

association. The leave shall be granted in accordance with the provisions of 

Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 8-50-110. Also, pursuant to Tennessee Code 

Annotated, Section 8-50-110(c), an officer or employee belonging to an employee 

association which is qualified for payroll deduction for association dues and is 

a member of the official board of such association may receive up to twelve (12) 

days administrative leave days per calendar year in order to attend board meetings. 

 
 
 
 

https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=74e59cc5-3a2d-4026-9c2c-43155c05b6fe&nodeid=AAIABWAABAAK&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAB%2FAAIABWAABAAK&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-50-110.%2BUse%2Bof%2Bannual%2Bleave%2Bto%2Battend%2Bstatewide%2Bmeeting%2Bof%2Bemployee%2Bassociation.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82RC-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=74e59cc5-3a2d-4026-9c2c-43155c05b6fe&nodeid=AAIABWAABAAK&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAB%2FAAIABWAABAAK&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-50-110.%2BUse%2Bof%2Bannual%2Bleave%2Bto%2Battend%2Bstatewide%2Bmeeting%2Bof%2Bemployee%2Bassociation.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82RC-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
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4.14 PROCEDURES FOR ADMINISTERING LEAVE 

 
A. Establishing a Service Group - In establishing an employee's service group 

for annual leave, the amount of service accrued by the employee must be 

determined. All leave accruing service accumulated while employed in any 

agency, office, or department of the state or in any state college or university 

shall be credited for purposes of leave computation. Any former member of the 

Tennessee General Assembly who,  as  of  July  1,  1988,  was  eligible  to  accrue 

annual leave shall be credited for each year of legislative service as twelve (12) 

months of full-time service for all time served in the Tennessee General 

Assembly. 

 
When an employee changes appointment types or returns from extended 

leave, the agency shall verify the service anniversary and longevity dates with 

the Department of Human Resources. 

 
B. Computing Creditable Service - The amount of total leave accruing service 

(present and prior) with the State of Tennessee should be determined. When 

special leave without pay has been taken for a major portion of a month, that 

month is not included in computing service, unless the employee was on 

military, paid educational, or Division of Claims Administration leave. 

Employment with a local school board in Tennessee is not creditable service in 

most circumstances. However, for a full- time employee of the Department of 

Education holding a position requiring three (3) years of experience as a certified 

professional employee in the Tennessee public school system, prior 

teaching or administrative experience in Tennessee public schools shall be 

creditable for purposes of establishing the employee's service group, not to 

exceed three (3) years. 

 

C. Establishing Employees’ Service Anniversary Dates/Changing Employees’ 

Service Group - The service anniversary date is the date in the future when the 

employee is projected to change a leave group. It is calculated from the first of 

the month of the current period of employment for which the first day of annual 

leave was earned. It may also be calculated from a computed appointment date 

in the past that is established by crediting all verified periods of creditable service 

as though service had been continuous. Once established, a category leave 

date/group does not change unless there is a break in service or unless there 

is a period of special leave without pay   in excess of the major portion of a 

month as identified in this manual. 
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D. Reinstating Prior Service - Reinstating prior service may result in changing 

the service group. The employee must notify his/her supervisor of the prior 

service and make the request for the modification. Leave adjustments 

resulting from retroactive changes to service groups should be calculated 

back to the employee's last hire date. 

 
4.15 CORRECTIONS FOR PRIOR ANNUAL LEAVE USED 

 
Any corrections occurring other than the current pay period or other types of leave 

adjustments must be submitted to the Department of Human Resources. Proper 

documentation reflecting the need for the correction should become a part of the 

employee's attendance and leave record. 

 
 

 
Authority: 

Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 8-30-406, 8-50-110, 8-50-801, 8-50-803, 8-50-807,and 8-50-1102 

Rules of the Tennessee Department of Human Resources 1120-06-.10 and 1120-06-.11. 

https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=96110cbd-5646-4ed8-a614-94d315965d7f&nodeid=AAIABDAAEAAG&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAE%2FAAIABDAAEAAG&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-406.%2BHours%2Bof%2Bwork%2C%2Battendance%2C%2Band%2Bleaves%2Bof%2Babsence.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A55XV-B4N0-R03J-X0GV-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=96110cbd-5646-4ed8-a614-94d315965d7f&nodeid=AAIABDAAEAAG&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAE%2FAAIABDAAEAAG&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-406.%2BHours%2Bof%2Bwork%2C%2Battendance%2C%2Band%2Bleaves%2Bof%2Babsence.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A55XV-B4N0-R03J-X0GV-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=d8ae2361-ba7f-4db3-b4b7-1195d85eef0e&nodeid=AAIABWAABAAK&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAB%2FAAIABWAABAAK&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-50-110.%2BUse%2Bof%2Bannual%2Bleave%2Bto%2Battend%2Bstatewide%2Bmeeting%2Bof%2Bemployee%2Bassociation.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82RC-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=d8ae2361-ba7f-4db3-b4b7-1195d85eef0e&nodeid=AAIABWAABAAK&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAB%2FAAIABWAABAAK&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-50-110.%2BUse%2Bof%2Bannual%2Bleave%2Bto%2Battend%2Bstatewide%2Bmeeting%2Bof%2Bemployee%2Bassociation.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82RC-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=a9ac6eef-e54b-4e4a-a6de-d63fa0df8090&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A688G-3BF0-R03M-B088-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAIABWAAIAAB&ecomp=g2vckkk&prid=ad1de932-77b0-41f4-9b15-ccf6517a65ea
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=6b066b1b-a7f3-42f6-b240-0a20e1bb7657&nodeid=AAIABWAAIAAD&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAI%2FAAIABWAAIAAD&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-50-803.%2BFull-time%2Bservice%2Baccrual%2Bfor%2Bannual%2Bor%2Bsick%2Bleave%2Bpurposes.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82SD-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=6b066b1b-a7f3-42f6-b240-0a20e1bb7657&nodeid=AAIABWAAIAAD&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAI%2FAAIABWAAIAAD&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-50-803.%2BFull-time%2Bservice%2Baccrual%2Bfor%2Bannual%2Bor%2Bsick%2Bleave%2Bpurposes.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82SD-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=99240adc-8b02-4d01-9723-466792a504b1&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A688G-4K00-R03N-Y08D-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAIABWAAIAAH&ecomp=g2vckkk&prid=416b6e9e-3ac4-428e-9f58-0d4ae59d405d
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=e1d48068-faa6-4beb-9d51-7e42b9d15348&nodeid=AAIABWAALAAC&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAL%2FAAIABWAALAAC&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-50-1102.%2BEligibility%2B%E2%80%94%2BGranting%2Bof%2Bleave.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82TF-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=e1d48068-faa6-4beb-9d51-7e42b9d15348&nodeid=AAIABWAALAAC&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAL%2FAAIABWAALAAC&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-50-1102.%2BEligibility%2B%E2%80%94%2BGranting%2Bof%2Bleave.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82TF-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-06.20230418.pdf
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-06.20230418.pdf
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CHAPTER 5 

SICK LEAVE 

 
5.01 ELIGIBILITY TO ACCRUE SICK LEAVE 

 
Sick leave is accrued by an employee at the rate of twelve (12) days per year on the 

date the employee is hired and on each service anniversary date. Eligibility to accrue sick 

leave is the same as for annual leave. The rate of accrual for sick leave never 

changes during the period of employment. 

 

Service anniversary dates shall be adjusted to account for gaps in paid employment 

as a state employee. 

 
5.02 USE OF SICK LEAVE 

 
An appointing authority may grant an eligible employee sick leave if the employee 

is absent for any of the following reasons: 

A. Personal illness 

B. Disability due to accident 

 
C. Exposure to a contagious disease 

 
D. Sickness due to pregnancy or birth of a child (see Chapter 13, Parental Leave) 

 
 

E. Adoption 

 
F. Medical and dental appointments 

 
G. Medical care, illness or death of one of the following members of the family: 

 
- Spouse 

 
- Children (Son/Daughter: Biological, unborn, adopted, foster child, step-child, 

legal ward or child of a person standing in place of an absent parent, who is 

either under age 18 or age 18 or older and incapable of self-care because of  
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a mental or physical disability.) 

- Parents 

 
- Others, who at the discretion of the appointing authority have a 

relationship that merits similar consideration. 

 
H. Death of one of the following relatives: 

 
- Siblings - Sisters-in law * 

 
- Grandparents - Brothers-in-law * 

 
- Grandchildren - Foster parents 

 
- Parents-in-law - Foster brothers and sisters * 

 
- Daughters-in-law * - Step parents 

 
- Sons-in-law * - Step children 

 
* Employees are eligible to use up to three (3) days of sick leave for 

the death of these relatives. Employees are not eligible to use 

Bereavement Leave in the instance of death for these relatives. 

 
In (A) through (D) of this section, sick leave cannot be denied to any employee who 

presents a statement from a doctor certifying that the employee's health requires 

the employee to be absent from work. 

 
In (E) of this section, sick leave cannot be denied to any employee who presents 

a statement from the adoption agency indicating the required bonding period. 

 
In (F) of this section, the period of sick leave approved should be limited to 

the amount of time necessary for such appointment. 

 
In (G) and (H) of this section, refer to section titled "In Instance of Death of 
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Employee's Family" for additional information regarding limits of sick leave use for 

death in the family. 

 
Recordkeeping: Employee timesheets should be coded as Sick Leave (SL). 

 
5.03 SICK LEAVE BALANCE FOR SEPARATING EMPLOYEES 

 
The sick leave balance for separating employees (other than deceased employees) 

will be retained as a permanent record in the employee's personnel file. Should 

the employee be rehired with the state in the future, the sick leave balance may 

be reinstated in accordance with policy. 

 
5.04 EXCESS LEAVE TRANSFERRED TO SICK LEAVE 

 
An employee accumulating the maximum yearly allowable annual leave hours shall 

have any additional annual leave hours accrued transferred to the employee sick 

leave balance on the last day of the month preceding the employee’s service 

anniversary date. (See Chapter 4). 

 
5.05 SICK LEAVE USE AFTER NOTICE OF SEPARATION 

 
Sick leave may not be used simultaneously with terminal leave. If proper evidence 

is submitted supporting the use of sick leave after a retiring employee begins 

terminal leave, the employee will only be allowed to use sick leave through the 

original effective date of the employee’s separation. After the original separation 

date, the employee will be required to take a lump sum payment of the remainder 

of the employee’s compensatory and/or annual leave balances. This applies to any 

employee who submits notice of retirement. Terminal leave used prior to the 

approved sick leave periods should be changed to annual leave and employees are 

eligible to accrue leave during this period in accordance with standard policies and 

procedures. Any accrued annual leave would also be included in the lump sum 

payment at the end of the sick leave period. 

 
Upon the death of an employee, the sick leave balance is paid to the employee’s 

designated beneficiary. This balance is paid whether an employee dies while 

working or on terminal leave. 
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5.06 SICK LEAVE MAY NOT BE ADVANCED 

 
Sick leave may not be taken before being earned, beyond the instruction in Section 5.01. 

 
5.07 SICK LEAVE TRANSFERABLE BETWEEN AGENCIES 

 
All sick leave earned while employed in any agency, department of the state or in 

any state college, university or state operated technical school, shall be fully 

transferable between such agencies, departments, colleges and universities. 

 
All earned sick leave accrued by any employee who has transferred employment 

from a local school system in Tennessee may transfer when becoming a state 

employee. This section shall not apply to a substitute teacher. 

 
5.08 REINSTATEMENT OF UNUSED ACCUMULATED SICK LEAVE 

 
A previously accumulated unused sick leave balance shall be granted to any state 

employee who: 1) worked on a continuous basis for at least one (1) full year, 2) 

leaves in good standing and 3) returns to the state service as an employee 

scheduled to work at least one thousand six hundred (1,600) hours and eligible to 

accrue leave. The employee shall be credited with the sick leave balance upon the 

receipt of proper documentation from the employee’s agency. 

 
The provision of working one (1) full year shall not apply to a state employee or 

individual employed by a local school board in Tennessee who leaves the 

employment of the state or school board in good standing and becomes a full-time 

state employee within six (6) months of the date of termination. Such an employee 

shall be credited with all sick leave to which he was entitled at the time of 

termination upon the receipt of proper documentation from the employee’s 

agency. 

 
To certify that prior sick leave hours are correct, the current or previous employer 

must supply documentation and/or verify the records maintained by the 

Department of Human Resources. 
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Sick leave reinstatement will be denied to any employee who is dismissed from state 

employment because of gross misconduct. Sick leave will be reinstated to 

employees who leave state service for any other reason. 

 
5.09 BEREAVEMENT LEAVE 

 
In the event of the death of an employee's immediate family member, bereavement 

leave will be granted for up to three (3) days, within a 12-month period from the 

date of the event, without charge to the employee's accumulated leave balance. 

An employee must be in a leave accruing position to be eligible for bereavement 

leave. 

 
For this purpose, “immediate family members” are defined as: 

 
- Spouse - Children (including unborn) 

 
- Parents - Step children 

 
- Siblings - Grandparents 

 
- Grandchildren - Foster parents 

 
- Parents-in-law - Step parents 

 
Recordkeeping: Bereavement leave will be coded as Bereavement Leave with Pay (BER) on 

the employee’s timesheet. 

 
The granting of bereavement leave does not increase the total number of days 

provided for in the following section (“In Instance of Death in the Employee's 

Family”). 

 
5.10 IN INSTANCE OF DEATH IN THE EMPLOYEE'S FAMILY 

 
The use of sick leave for death of a family member is limited to three (3) days except 

for deaths of members of the immediate family. Leave for the death of an 
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immediate family member is normally limited to five (5) days (three (3) days of 

bereavement leave plus two (2) days of sick leave). The immediate family is defined 

under bereavement leave. When funeral services are conducted in a locality other 

than where the employee resides, necessary travel time in addition to the five (5) 

days may be allowed. Travel documentation explaining the necessity for the extra 

days should be placed in the employee's leave file. 

 

Example: An employee had a sick leave balance of 90.5 hours. The employee is 

granted 3 days (22.5 hours) of paid bereavement leave. The bereavement leave is 

not deducted from the employee sick leave, leaving a sick leave balance of 90.5 

hours. The employee also used 2 days (15.0 hours) of sick leave and this is 

deducted, leaving a sick leave balance of 75.5 hours. 

 

5.12 MEDICAL DOCUMENTATION 

 
Any employee may be required to present documentation (personal affidavits, 

physician's certificates and/or other testimonials) at the request of an appointing 

authority, the Commissioner of Human Resources or any other appropriate 

authority to support the reason for any absence during the time for which sick leave 

was taken. 

 
In situations where an employee has been unable to perform the essential 

functions of the employee job due to illness or disability, the appointing authority 

may require, as a condition of the employee's return to work, medical certification 

from a licensed health care provider that the employee is able to resume the 

employee’s regular job duties. 

 
Sick leave cannot be denied to any employee who presents a statement from a 

health service provider certifying that the employee's health requires absence from 

work. In situations where the health care provider’s statement does not identify 

specific beginning and end dates for the period of illness or incapacity, the 

supervisor may request that the employee provide additional documentation. 

Supervisors or agency officials needing clarification of or additional documentation 

should ask the employee to obtain the needed information instead of contacting 

the health services provide directly. The appointing authority may require 

additional documentation if, upon further investigation, there is substantial 

evidence of sick leave abuse by the employee. 
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5.13 SICK LEAVE BANK 

 
The Sick Leave Bank (SLB) grants paid sick leave to members who have exhausted 

all their personal sick, compensatory, and annual leave balances and who are medically 

certified as unable to perform the duties of their jobs as a result of a personal illness, 

injury, accident, disability, medical condition, quarantine; or illness of the member’s 

minor child. The member employee must meet the criteria established by the Sick 

Leave Bank Trustees and have been in a without pay status for five (5) consecutive 

days. 

 
The enrollment period is August, September and October each year. To elect to 

participate, an employee must: 

 
A. be eligible to accrue sick leave pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. § 8-50-802; 

 

B. have been employed by state government for twelve (12) full months 

immediately preceding application for participation; 

 
C. currently accrue leave; and 

 
D. have a sick leave balance of at least six (6) days as of October 31 of the current 

enrollment year in which applying for membership. 

 
At the time of enrollment, the member employee will have the equivalent of four (4) 

days of sick leave deducted from the employee personal accumulation and donated 

to the SLB. An annual contribution of one (1) sick leave day every October 1 after 

the first year of enrollment is required, although this may be waived by the Board of 

Trustees in any year. 

 
A member of the SLB shall be eligible to make application to the bank for sick leave 

on the February 1 following successful enrollment. Applications for grants from the 

SLB for pre-existing conditions will be denied until November 1 of the following year. 

https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=e43131c5-0a70-4152-801e-d3c9d84984b1&nodeid=AAIABWAAIAAC&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAI%2FAAIABWAAIAAC&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-50-802.%2BSick%2Bleave.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A5SCF-WBW0-R03K-506N-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=1a6ff4cc-a296-44cd-b26a-ce7e26a018e1
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Grants of sick leave from the SLB shall not be made to any member for: 

 
A. elective surgery; 

 
B. illness of any family member, who is not a minor child; 

 
C. while the member is earning or receiving income from other employment; 

 
D. while the member is receiving paid parental leave; 

 
E. during any period the member is receiving disability benefits from voluntary 

short term and long term disability insurance, social security, or the state 

retirement plan; or 

 
F. the member is receiving workers’ compensation benefits, or any other employer 

provided benefits for job or service-related injuries or illnesses that are also 

related to the request for grants from the SLB. 

 
An eligible member may receive a maximum of 90 days from the SLB as a result of a 

personal illness, injury, accident, disability, medical condition, quarantine, illness 

of the member’s minor child or a  condition related to, resulting from, or recurring 

from a previously diagnosed condition for which the bank granted sick leave. Grants 

may be made in increments of up to thirty (30) days for which the member would 

have otherwise lost pay. 

 
Grants of sick leave from the SLB shall not exceed ninety (90) days within a twelve 

(12) month period. 

 
Sick leave used from the SLB shall not constitute creditable service for sick and 

annual leave accrual or for longevity purposes. An employee receiving a grant from 

the bank is not eligible for holiday pay but will be paid by the bank for a holiday that 

falls within an approval period. 

 
Sick Leave Bank Members must apply for Sick Leave Bank grants in Edison via the 

following path: Navigator> HCM> Self Service> Time Reporting> Sick Leave Bank> 

Request Withdraw> Start a New Request.
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5.14 - TRANSFERRING SICK LEAVE BETWEEN STATE EMPLOYEES (DONATED LEAVE) 

 
Sick leave may be transferred to fellow state employees who are members of the 

Sick Leave Bank (SLB) who have exhausted all sick, annual, compensatory leave, 

paid parental leave (if applicable), and leave approved  through the SLB and are 

unable to perform the duties of their jobs as a result of a personal illness, injury, 

accident, disability, medical condition, or quarantine; or illness of the member’s minor 

child. 

 
The maximum amount of leave that may be transferred to an employee during his 

or her state employment is limited to no more than one hundred and twenty (120) 

days for which the employee would not otherwise be paid. The maximum amount 

of leave that may be transferred to an employee in a twelve (12) month period is 

ninety (90) days for which the employee would not otherwise be paid. The initial 

twelve (12) month period starts on the date the employee receives donated sick 

leave and extends forward from that date. A new twelve (12) month period begins 

the first time the SLB certifies the member has exhausted all SLB grants available 

and the member continues to be unable to perform the duties of the job. 

 
In order to receive sick leave donated from another employee, all of the following 

criteria must be met. An employee must: 

 
A. be a current member of the SLB; 

 
B. have used all accumulated sick, annual and compensatory leave and used all 

days approved through the SLB; 

 
C. have continuing disability resulting from a personal illness or illness of the 

member’s minor child as described above and be unable to perform job duties; 

and 

 
D. not be receiving any other form of compensation including Paid Parental 

Leave (if applicable), Social Security Disability benefits, Division of Claims 

Administration benefits, or compensation through the State Retirement Plan or 

the SLB. 
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Before an employee is eligible to receive donated leave, the employee must 

complete a Request for Donated Sick Leave form (PR-0472) and the employee’s or 

minor child’s medical provider must complete a Medical Statement for the Transfer 

of Donated Sick Leave form (PR-0471) certifying that the employee is unable to 

perform the duties of his or her job due to their own condition or their minor child’s 

illness. Initial and subsequent Medical Statement for the Transfer of  Donated Sick 

Leave forms must be completed either by the current medical doctor/surgeon or 

by a nurse practitioner or physician’s assistant working directly under the 

supervision of the current medical doctor/surgeon. The completed medical 

statement form must be sent from the medical provider’s office directly to the 

Department of Human Resources. Medical statements received from anyone other 

than the medical office or the official custodian of the medical records will not be 

accepted. 

 
Each subsequent application for donated sick leave requires a new Request for 

Donated Sick Leave form from the employee and a new Medical Statement for the 

Transfer of Donated Sick Leave form from the medical provider. Subsequent 

medical forms must be completed based on a follow-up treatment visit relating to 

the same illness or injury for which the employee previously received donated sick 

leave. 

 
Once an application is approved by the Department of Human Resources, the 

employee is eligible to receive, if available, donated leave for regularly scheduled 

workdays and holidays for which the employee would otherwise be without pay. 

The employee may be authorized to receive donated sick leave for up to thirty (30) 

workdays that fall within the approved period. A new Request for Donated Leave 

form and a new Medical Statement for the Transfer of Donated Sick Leave form 

documenting the employee’s continued disability or illness of the employee’s 

minor child is required after each approved  period of paid leave. The employee is 

no longer eligible to receive donated leave as  of the date the member is released to 

return to work with or without restrictions. 

 
For employees receiving donated sick leave, each day is defined as seven and one- 

half (7.5) hours for employees on a thirty-seven and one-half (37.5) hour work week 

schedule and eight (8.0) hours for employees on a forty (40) hour work week 

schedule. Sick leave may be transferred to fellow state employees who are 

members of the Sick Leave Bank (SLB) who have exhausted all sick, annual, paid 

parental leave (if applicable), compensatory leave and



January 2024 

Attendance and Leave Manual 
Chapter 5 –Sick Leave 

Page 21 

 

 

 

leave approved through the SLB who are unable to perform the duties of their  jobs as 

a result of a personal illness, injury, accident, disability, medical condition, or 

quarantine; or illness of the member’s minor child. 

 
5.15 - CRITERIA FOR DONATING LEAVE TO AN EMPLOYEE 

 
In order to donate sick leave to another individual, an employee must agree to 

donate a minimum of five (5) days of leave (thirty-seven and one-half (37.5) hours 

for an employee with a seven and one-half (7.5) hour per day work schedule or forty 

(40.0) hours for an employee with an eight (8.0) hour per day work schedule). The 

maximum amount of sick leave an employee may donate during his or her state 

employment is a total of ninety (90) days. A donating employee is not required to be 

a member of the SLB and is not required to be employed in the same agency as the 

individual who will receive the donation. 

 
An employee may donate more than one (1) time to a single individual. However, 

the employee may not donate more than one-half of his or her own sick leave 

balance at the point leave is deducted from the sick leave balance and added to the 

receiving employee's sick leave balance. For example, an employee with a two 

hundred (200) hour sick leave balance agrees to donate to a member of the SLB 

who has exhausted all available SLB benefits. This employee may not donate more 

than a total of one hundred (100) hours (one-half of the 200-hour leave balance) to 

the SLB member. If the donating employee wishes to give additional leave to the 

same employee at a later date and the employee’s own sick leave balance is now 

one hundred ten (110) hours, the employee may only donate a maximum of fifty- 

five (55) hours (one-half of the 110 hour sick leave balance) to the SLB member. 

Remember, the maximum amount of sick leave an employee may donate to 

another employee during his or her state employment is a total of ninety (90) days. 

 
In order to facilitate sick leave transfer between employees, the following 

procedures must be followed. An employee donating leave to another employee 

must complete a Sick Leave Donation Agreement Form (# PR-0339) with 

information including the name of the employee to whom leave is being donated 

and the amount of leave the employee is agreeing to donate. This form must be 

signed by the donating employee certifying that he or she is aware of all conditions 

under which leave is being donated and that the leave is being donated at the 

employee’s own free will. Two other individuals must sign the form as witnesses to 

the employee’s signature. Once completed, the employee should send this form to 

his or her agency's human resources officer.
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The agency human resources officer must sign the form acknowledging receipt. After 

verifying that the employee has the sick leave balance to cover the amount of leave 

being donated and that the employee is not donating more than one-half of the sick 

leave balance, the form shall be forwarded to the Department of Human Resources. 

A copy of the agreement shall be placed in the donating employee's personnel file. 

 
Donor forms will be dated and time stamped in the order received. This will 

determine the order in which sick leave will be deducted from donating employees' 

leave balances in situations where there are multiple employees agreeing to donate 

to a single individual. Department of Human Resources staff will notify the agency 

employing the person to whom leave is being donated. 

 
Only the exact amount of leave needed to cover approved time in a pay period will 

be transferred at any given time. At the point of leave transfer, the Department of 

Human Resources will process leave adjustment forms (C-7's) to deduct the leave 

from the donating employee's leave balance and add this leave to the receiving 

employee's balance. Prior to deducting this leave, agency staff will verify with the 

Department that the donating employee still has a sufficient leave balance to cover 

the amount he or she originally agreed to donate. If less than that amount is 

available, only the amount meeting eligibility criteria will be deducted. If the person 

originally agreeing to donate leave is no longer employed with the state, has retired, 

has transferred to a state agency with a leave system not covered by the provisions 

of Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 8, Chapter 50, or no longer has a sufficient 

leave balance to meet eligibility criteria to donate leave at the time the sick leave is 

to be deducted, all responsibility to donate this leave is voided. After processing the 

adjustments, copies of the C-7's will be sent to both the donating and receiving 

employees' agencies and should be placed in their attendance and leave files. 

 
NOTE: Sick leave may not be transferred retroactively beyond one (1) pay period. An 

example of this would be an employee for whom no one has agreed to donate 

leave at the time his or her leave from the SLB has been exhausted. This employee 

would then begin a period of leave without pay. If another employee later agrees to 

donate sick leave to this employee, retroactive payment for the value of this leave 

may not extend beyond one (1) pay period. 
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The decision to donate sick leave to another individual should be a choice made 

freely by each employee. Any person attempting to unduly influence another 

employee to donate leave shall be subject to disciplinary action and any prior 

agreement made to donate leave under these conditions shall be voided. 

 
5.16 - SEPARATING/TERMINATING EMPLOYEES WISHING TO DONATE LEAVE 

 
Separating/Terminating employees wishing to donate leave must meet all of the 

following conditions: 

 
A. The separating/terminating employee must have a specific employee identified 

to whom the leave is to be donated; 

 
B. Leave donated for a separating/terminating employee cannot be used beyond 

the employee’s last day worked and the minimum five (5) days (37.5 hours for 

employees working 7.5 hour days or 40.0 hours for employees working 8.0 hour 

days) must be exhausted before the employee’s last day worked. 

 
C. The person to whom the leave is to be donated must be eligible to receive the 

leave (i.e., have exhausted all SLB leave and any other leave) during the period 

the separating/terminating employee is still working. 

 
Example: A separating/terminating employee has fourteen (14) working days left before 

the employee’s last day worked. The employee must donate at least five (5) days of sick leave 

and an eligible employee must completely use this leave before the end of the 

separating/terminating employee's last working day in order for the employee to be able to 

donate the leave. 

 

 
Authority: 

Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 8-30-104, 8-50-113, 8-50-802, 8-50-803, 8-50-804, 8-50-805, 8-50- 

806, 8-50-808, and 8-50-901 et seq. 

Rules of the Department of Human Resources 1120-06-.10, 1120-06-.12, and 1120-09-.02 

https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=8764c71e-ca87-44d1-bb13-eec36a292275&nodeid=AAIABDAABAAE&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAB%2FAAIABDAABAAE&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-104.%2BAuthority%2Bof%2Bcommissioner%2B%E2%80%94%2BSupervisory%2Bpersonnel%2B%E2%80%94%2BDesignees.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4M0-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=904438d0-d478-4f17-ad8b-32ad34707bd1
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=0a4bc3fb-1e3a-4683-a209-3fd64dcffc31&nodeid=AAIABWAABAAN&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAB%2FAAIABWAABAAN&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-50-113.%2BBereavement%2Bleave.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82RG-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=904438d0-d478-4f17-ad8b-32ad34707bd1
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=cfd745a4-1806-4dca-bc23-46a760b8b1ba&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A688G-4450-R03M-508C-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAIABWAAIAAC&ecomp=g2vckkk&prid=6b066b1b-a7f3-42f6-b240-0a20e1bb7657
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=326d4be7-85b1-45f9-a47d-9a8a6efcf346&nodeid=AAIABWAAIAAD&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAI%2FAAIABWAAIAAD&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-50-803.%2BFull-time%2Bservice%2Baccrual%2Bfor%2Bannual%2Bor%2Bsick%2Bleave%2Bpurposes.&indicator=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82SD-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=904438d0-d478-4f17-ad8b-32ad34707bd1
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=1799d374-bbd8-43e2-8507-312e761f87ca&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82SF-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAIABWAAIAAE&ecomp=w53dkkk&prid=326d4be7-85b1-45f9-a47d-9a8a6efcf346
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=038d1f5d-583c-4a8e-a635-04faf22c1971&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82SG-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAIABWAAIAAF&ecomp=w53dkkk&prid=1799d374-bbd8-43e2-8507-312e761f87ca
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=ba311150-3e5a-4147-8314-4b5ef7dd83ec&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A5SCF-WPV0-R03K-410K-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAIABWAAIAAG&ecomp=w53dkkk&prid=038d1f5d-583c-4a8e-a635-04faf22c1971
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=ba311150-3e5a-4147-8314-4b5ef7dd83ec&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A5SCF-WPV0-R03K-410K-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAIABWAAIAAG&ecomp=w53dkkk&prid=038d1f5d-583c-4a8e-a635-04faf22c1971
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=ccbac17a-52d3-4679-a0d6-433f429e8f82&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82SK-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAIABWAAIAAI&ecomp=w53dkkk&prid=044eb8d3-21cf-4316-b82c-acf86520de42
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=bfee2dc6-2e55-46ab-8b49-8cbb2bc23ce7&nodeid=AAIABWAAJAAB&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAJ%2FAAIABWAAJAAB&level=4&haschildren=&populated=false&title=8-50-901.+Part+definitions.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82SS-00008-00&ecomp=bgf5kkk&prid=1a6ff4cc-a296-44cd-b26a-ce7e26a018e1
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-06.20230418.pdf
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-06.20230418.pdf
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-09.20230418.pdf
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CHAPTER 6 

FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE ACT (FMLA) 

 
6.01 - EMPLOYEE ELIGIBILITY 

 
In order to be considered eligible for leave under the Family and Medical Leave Act 

(FMLA), an employee must: (1) have worked for the State of Tennessee for at least twelve 

(12) months; and (2) have worked at least one thousand, two-hundred and fifty (1,250) 

hours during the year preceding the start of the leave. 

 
(1) Twelve (12) months of service. 

 
The twelve (12) months of required work with the State do not have to be 

consecutive in order for an employee to be eligible. However, service accrued more 

than seven (7) years ago shall not be counted toward the minimum requirement.  If 

an employee  is  maintained on the payroll for any part of a week, including periods of 

paid or unpaid leave during which other benefits or compensation are provided by  the 

state (such as worker’s compensation or group health plan benefits), that week is 

considered a week of employment. Fifty-two (52) weeks of such employment 

equals twelve (12) months. 

 
An employee who has a break in employment due to service under the Uniformed 

Services Employment Reemployment Rights Act (USERRA) shall receive credit for 

each month of military service which shall count toward the 12-month minimum service 

requirement. 

 
For example, an employee who has been employed by the state for nine (9) 

months is ordered to active military service for a period of nine (9) additional 

months. Upon completion of military service, the employee must be considered 

to have been employed by the state for more than the required twelve (12) 

months, since nine (9) months were accrued while actually employed by the state and 

nine (9) months were accrued while serving on active duty. 

 
(2) One thousand, two-hundred and fifty (1,250) hours worked. 

 
In determining hours worked, the agency shall calculate all hours actually worked by an 
employee, including overtime hours.

https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/fmla/law
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-20/chapter-IX/part-1002/subpart-A
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-20/chapter-IX/part-1002/subpart-A
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An employee who returns to work from fulfilling a USERRA-covered military service 

obligation shall be credited with the hours of service that would have been 

performed but for the period of military service. In order to determine the hours 

that would have been worked during the period of military service, the employee’s pre-

service work schedule can generally be used for calculations. 

 
For example, an employee who works 37.5 hours per week for the state returns to 

employment following 20 weeks of military service and requests leave under FMLA. 

To determine the employee’s eligibility, the hours the employee would have worked 

during the period of military service (20 x 37.5 = 750 hours) must be added to the 

hours actually worked during the twelve (12) month period prior to the start of the 

leave. 

 
6.02 - QUALIFYING CRITERIA FOR GRANTING LEAVE 

 
If an employee otherwise meets eligibility requirements, he or she may take FMLA leave 

for any one or combination of the following reasons: 

 
A. The birth of a child and to bond with the newborn child within one year of birth; 

 
B. The placement with the employee of a child for adoption or foster care and to bond 

with the newly-placed child within one year of placement; 

 
C. The care of the employee's spouse, son, daughter, or parent with a serious health 

condition, including incapacity due to pregnancy and for prenatal care; 

 
D. A serious health condition that makes the employee unable to perform the functions 

of the employee’s job, including incapacity due to pregnancy and for prenatal medical 

care; 

 
E. Any qualifying exigency arising out of the fact that an employee’s spouse, son, 

daughter, or parent is a covered military member on covered active duty (or has 

been notified of an impending call or order to active covered duty status); or 

 

F. To care for a covered service member with a serious injury or illness if the employee is the 

spouse, son, daughter, parent, or next of kin of a covered service member.
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6.03 - DEFINITIONS OF FAMILY MEMBERS 

 
Spouse: A husband or wife. For purposes of this definition, husband or wife refers 

to the person with whom an individual entered into marriage as defined or 

recognized under Tennessee law for purposes of marriage or, in the case of a 

marriage entered into outside of Tennessee, if the marriage is valid in the place 

where entered into and could have been entered into in at least one State. This 

definition includes an individual in a same-sex or common law marriage that either: 

 
(1) Was entered into in a State that recognizes such marriages; or 

(2) If entered into outside of any State, is valid in the place where entered into 

and could have been entered into in at least one State. 

 
Parent: Biological, adoptive, step or foster parent or an individual who currently 

stands in place of an absent parent. A person who is “in loco parentis” (standing in  

place of an absent parent) is not required to have a biological or legal relationship 

with a child. Persons who are standing in place of an absent parent include those  

with day-to-day responsibilities to care for and financially support a child or, in the     

case of an employee, who had such responsibility for the employee when the 

employee was a child. The FMLA Coordinator may require an employee requesting 

FMLA leave to provide reasonable documentation confirming the family relationship 

including such items as a written statement from the employee, a child's birth 

certificate and relevant court documents. The definition does not include parents- 

in-law. 

 
Son/Daughter: Biological, adopted, foster child, stepchild, legal ward, or child of a 

person standing in place of an absent parent who is either under age 18 or age 18 

or older and who is incapable of self-care because of a mental or physical disability. In 

order for an employee to take FMLA leave for a child who is 18 or over, the son or 

daughter must: (1) have a disability as defined by the Americans with Disability Act 

(ADA) at the time the leave is to commence; (2) be incapable of self-care because of 

the disability; (3) have a serious health condition; and (4) need care because of the 

serious health condition. 
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For purposes of military caregiver leave, a son or daughter refers to the service 

member’s son or daughter of any age. 

 
Next of kin: The service member’s nearest blood relative, other than the service 

member’s spouse, parent, son, or daughter, in the following order of priority: (1) one 

designated blood relative (in writing); (2) all blood relatives with legal custody; (3) all 

brothers and sisters; (4) all grandparents; (5) all aunts and uncles; or (6) all first cousins. 

 
6.04 - BIRTH OF A SON OR DAUGHTER 

 
In addition to leave taken after the birth of a child, FMLA leave may be taken by an 

expectant mother for the purpose of prenatal visits and in situations where a serious 

health condition prevents her from performing her job duties prior to the child's 

birth. 

 
6.05 - ADOPTIVE OR FOSTER CARE PLACEMENT 

 
FMLA leave may be taken prior to an adoptive or foster care placement if the leave 

is integral to the placement. Examples include required counseling sessions, court 

appearances, and legal or medical consultations. There is no requirement in FMLA 

that the source of an adoption be from a licensed adoption agency in order for an 

employee to be eligible for FMLA leave. 

 
Foster Care is defined as “24-hour care for children in substitution for, and away 

from, their parents or guardian." FMLA requires that this placement be made by or 

in agreement with the state and that state action be involved in the removal of the 

child from parental custody. 

 
6.06 - SERIOUS HEALTH CONDITION 

 
For purposes of the FMLA, serious health condition means an illness, injury, 

impairment, or physical or mental condition that involves inpatient care or 

continuing treatment by a health care provider. 

 
A. Inpatient Care means an overnight stay in a hospital, hospice, or residential 

medical care facility. 
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B. Continuing Treatment by a Health Care Provider: A serious health condition 

involving continuing treatment by a health care provider includes one or more of 

the following: 

 
1. A period of incapacity of more than three (3) consecutive calendar days and 

any subsequent treatment or period of incapacity relating to the same condition 

that also involves: 

 
(a) treatment two (2) or more times, within thirty (30) days of the first day of 

incapacity, unless extenuating circumstances exist, by a health care 

provider,  by a nurse under  direct supervision of a health care provider, 

or by a provider of health care services under orders of, or on referral 

by, a health care provider. The first in-person visit to the health care 

provider must take place within seven (7) days of the first day of incapacity; 

or 

 
(b) treatment by a health care provider on at least one (1) occasion which 

results in a regimen  of  continuing treatment under the  supervision of the 

health care provider. 

 
2. Any period of incapacity due to pregnancy or for prenatal care. 

 
3. Any period of incapacity or treatment for such incapacity due to a chronic 

serious health condition. A chronic serious health condition is one which (a) 

requires periodic visits, at least two per year, for treatment by a health care 

provider or by a nurse or physician's assistant under direct supervision of a 

health care provider, (b) continues over an extended period  of  time (including 

recurring episodes of a single underlying condition), and (c) may cause 

episodic rather than continuing periods of incapacity (such as asthma, diabetes 

and epilepsy). 

 
4. A long-term period of incapacity due to a condition for which treatment may not 

be effective. In this situation the employee or family member must be under 

the continuing supervision of but not need to be receiving active treatment by 

a health care provider. Examples may include Alzheimer's, severe stroke 

and terminal stages of a disease. 



July 2023 

Attendance and Leave Manual 
Chapter 6 – Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) 

Page 6 

 

 

 
 

 

 
5. Any period of absence to receive multiple treatments, including periods of 

recovery from treatments, by a health care provider or by a provider of 

health services under orders of or referral by a health care provider, either 

for restorative surgery after an accident or other injury or for a condition that 

would likely result in a period of incapacity of more than three (3) calendar 

days in the absence of medical intervention or treatment, such as cancer 

chemotherapy or radiation treatment, severe arthritis (physical therapy) and 

kidney disease (dialysis). 

 
6. In the case of substance abuse, only the time absent from work due to 

treatment is qualifying FMLA leave. A period of incapacity resulting from use 

of the substance is not considered a covered illness. Also, an employee with a 

substance abuse problem is not protected under FMLA from disciplinary 

action resulting from such substance abuse. When an agency has a non- 

discriminatory policy that provides for an employee's termination for 

substance abuse under certain circumstances and this policy has been 

communicated to all employees, an appointing authority may terminate the 

employee, whether or not the employee is on FMLA leave. The appointing 

authority cannot, however, take action against the employee for exercising 

his or her right to take FMLA leave for treatment of the substance abuse. 

 
D. Definition of Health Care Provider 

 
1. A doctor of medicine or osteopathy who is authorized to practice medicine 

or surgery (as appropriate) by the state in which the doctor practices; 

 
2. Podiatrists, dentists, clinical psychologists, optometrists, or chiropractors. A 

chiropractor is limited to treatment consisting of manual manipulation of the 

spine to correct a dislocation demonstrated by x-ray. These professionals 

must be licensed in the state and performing within the scope of their practice 

as defined by state law; 

 
3. Nurse practitioner, nurse-midwives, clinical social workers and physician 

assistants who are authorized to practice under state law and are functioning 

within the scope of their practice as defined by state law; 
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4. Christian Science Practitioners listed with the First Church of Christ, Scientists 

in Boston, Massachusetts; 

 
5. Any health care provider from whom the state or Benefits Administration will 

accept certification of the existence of a serious health condition to 

substantiate a claim for benefits; or 

 
6. Any health care provider listed above who practices in a country other than 

the United States who is authorized to practice in their country and is 

functioning within the scope of practice as defined by the laws of that country. 

 
D. When an employee is absent from work due to pregnancy, prenatal care or due 

to a chronic health condition, leave taken qualifies as FMLA leave even if the 

employee or family member does not receive treatment from a health care 

provider during the absence and even if the absence lasts less than three (3) 

days. 

 
For example, an employee with asthma may be unable to report to work due to 

onset of an asthma attack he or she can treat at home. Even though the employee 

did not visit a health care provider and was absent for less than three days, the time 

off qualifies as FMLA leave. 

 
Another example is an employee unable to report to work due to severe morning 

sickness resulting from pregnancy. Although this absence was less than three (3) 

days and the employee did not need to visit a health care provider, this time off 

qualifies as FMLA leave. 

 
6.07 - MILITARY CAREGIVER LEAVE 

 
A covered employer must grant an eligible employee who is a spouse, son, daughter, 

parent, or next of kin of a covered service member with a serious injury or illness up to 

a total of twenty-six (26) work weeks of job-protected leave during a single twelve (12) 

month period to care for the service member. The employee shall use accrued annual, 

sick, or compensatory leave before entering into a leave without pay status. 



July 2023 

Attendance and Leave Manual 
Chapter 6 – Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) 

Page 8 

 

 

 
 

 

 

A covered service member is: (1) a current member of the Armed Forces, including 

a member of the National Guard or Reserves, who is undergoing medical treatment, 

recuperation or therapy, is otherwise in outpatient status, or is otherwise on the 

temporary disability retired list, for a serious injury or illness; or (2) a veteran who was 

discharged or released under conditions other than dishonorable  at any time during the 

five-year period prior to the first date the eligible employee takes FMLA leave to care 

for the covered veteran, and who is undergoing medical treatment, recuperation, or 

therapy for a serious injury or illness. 

 
A serious injury or illness for a current service member includes injuries or illnesses that 

existed before the beginning of the  member’s  active  duty and were aggravated by 

service in the line of duty on active duty in the Armed Forces. A serious injury or 

illness for a covered veteran means an injury or illness that was incurred or aggravated 

by the member  in the  line  of duty on  active  duty in the Armed Forces and manifested 

itself before or after the member became a veteran, and is: (1) a continuation of a serious 

injury or illness that was incurred or aggravated when the covered veteran was a 

member of the Armed Forces  and rendered the service member unable to perform the 

duties of the service member’s office, grade, rank, or rating; or (2) a physical or mental 

condition  for which  a covered veteran has received a VA Service Related Disability 

Rating (VASRD) of 50 percent or greater and such VASRD rating is based, in whole or 

in part, on  the condition  precipitating  the  need for caregiver leave; or  (3)  A  physical 

or  mental condition that substantially impairs the veteran’s ability to secure or follow a 

substantially  gainful  occupation  by  reason of a disability or disabilities related to 

military service or would  do  so  absent treatment; or (4) an injury, include psychological 

injury, on the basis of which the covered veteran has been enrolled in the Department 

of Veterans Affairs Program of Comprehensive Assistance for Family Caregivers. 

 
The single twelve (12) month period for leave to care for a covered service member with 

a serious injury or illness begins on the first day the employee takes leave for this reason 

and ends twelve (12) months later, regardless of the twelve (12) month period 

established by the employer for other types of FMLA leave. An eligible employee 

is limited to a combined total of twenty-six (26) work weeks for leave for any FMLA- 

qualifying reason during the single twelve (12) month period. (Only twelve (12) of the 

twenty-six (26) weeks total may be for a FMLA-qualifying reason other than to care for 

a covered service member.) 
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6.08 - MILITARY QUALIFYING EXIGENCY LEAVE 

 
An eligible employee may take FMLA leave while the employee’s spouse, son, daughter, 

or parent (the military member or member) is on covered active duty or call to covered 

active duty status (or has been notified of an impending call or order to covered active 

duty). Covered active duty or call to covered active duty status means duty during 

the deployment of the member with the Armed Forces to a foreign country or to a 

foreign country under a Federal call or order to active duty in support of a contingency 

operation. Eligible employees may take qualifying exigency leave for any of the 

following reasons: 

 
• To address issues arising from a covered military member who is notified of 

an impending call or order to active duty in support of a contingency 

operation seven (7) or less calendar days before deployment; 

 
• To  attend certain military functions,  such  as an official ceremony,  program, or 

event sponsored by the military that is related to the active duty or call to active 

duty status of a covered military member. This may also include attendance at 

any family support or assistance programs and informational briefings 

sponsored or promoted by the  military,  military  service organizations, or the 

American Red Cross that are related to active duty or call to active duty status of 

a covered military member; 

 
• To arrange for certain childcare and related activities when the active duty or 

call to active duty status of a covered military member necessitates a change 

in the existing childcare arrangement, such as arranging for alternative 

childcare, providing childcare on a non-routine, urgent, immediate need basis, 

enrolling or transferring a child in a new school or day care facility, and 

attending certain meetings at a school or a day care facility if they are 

necessary due to circumstances arising from the active duty or call to active 

duty of the covered military member; 

 
• To make or update financial and legal arrangements to address a covered 

military member’s absence; 

 
• To attend counseling provided by someone other than a health care provider 

for oneself, the covered military member, or the child of the covered military 
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member, the need for which arises from the active duty or call to active duty 

status of the covered military member; 

 
• To spend time, up to fifteen (15) days, with a covered military member who is 

on short-term, temporary, rest and recuperation leave during deployment; 

 
• To attend certain post-deployment activities, including arrival ceremonies, 

reintegration briefings and events, and other official ceremonies or programs 

sponsored by the military for a period of ninety (90) days following the 

termination of the covered military member’s active duty status, and addressing 

issues arising from the death of a covered member; or 

 
• To address other events that the employee and employer agree is a qualifying 

exigency or that the United States Secretary of Labor appropriately determines 

to be a qualifying exigency. 

 
• To care for a military member’s parent who is incapable of self-care when 

the care is necessitated by the member’s covered active duty. Such care may 

include arranging for alternative care, providing care on an immediate need 

basis, admitting or transferring the parent to a care facility, or attending meetings 

with staff at a care facility. 

 
6.09 - LEAVE ENTITLEMENT - LIMITATIONS ON LENGTH AND DURATION 

 
Except in the case to care for a covered service member with a serious injury 

or illness, an eligible employee’s FMLA leave entitlement is limited to a total of 

twelve 

(12) work weeks of leave during a twelve (12) month period. 

 
This twelve (12) work week limit is equivalent to sixty (60) workdays, including 

holidays. The initial twelve (12) month period starts on the date the employee's 

FMLA leave first begins and extends twelve (12) months forward from that date. 

A new twelve (12) month period would begin the first time FMLA leave is taken after 

completion of any previous twelve (12) month period. However, an eligible 

employee who takes leave to care for the covered service member with a serious 

injury or illness begins on the first day the employee takes leave for this reason and 

ends twelve (12) months later, regardless of the twelve (12) month period 

established by an agency for other types of FMLA leave. 
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An eligible employee’s leave is limited to a total of twenty-six (26) work weeks 

of leave during a single twelve (12) month period to care for a covered service 

member with a serious injury or illness. If an employee receives twenty-six (26) 

work weeks of leave for military reasons, the employee is not eligible for additional 

FMLA leave during the same period. If an employee combines leave for caring for 

an eligible service member and another qualifying FMLA leave, only twelve (12) 

work weeks may be used for leave unrelated to the care of a covered service 

member. 

 
6.10 - LIMITS ON LEAVE ENTITLEMENT FOR BIRTH, ADOPTION, AND FOSTER CARE 

 
Leave entitlement for the birth of a child or for adoption or foster care placement 

expires at the end of the twelve (12) month period beginning on the date of 

the birth or placement. FMLA leave for these reasons must be concluded within this 

time period. 

 
6.11 – INTERMITTENT LEAVE OR REDUCED LEAVE SCHEDULE 

 
An eligible employee may take intermittent FMLA leave or have a reduced work 

schedule over a twelve (12) month time period for any of the qualifying reasons 

for FMLA leave. 

 
When FMLA leave is granted on an intermittent or reduced leave schedule basis, 

the leave shall be accounted using an increment no greater than the shortest 

period of time that is used to account for other forms of leave, provided that it is 

not greater than one hour and provided further that an employee’s FMLA leave 

entitlement may not be reduced by more than the amount of leave actually taken. 

 
If an employee requests intermittent leave or leave resulting in a reduced work 

schedule, based on the need for planned medical treatment for the employee, 

a family member or a covered service member, including a period of recovery from 

a serious health condition, the appointing authority may  require  that  the employee 

transfer temporarily to another position for which the employee is qualified and 

which better accommodates the employee's need for recurring leave 
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periods. This temporary position must have equivalent pay and benefits, but need 

not have equivalent duties. Under no circumstances shall an appointing authority 

transfer an employee to  an alternative  position  with the  intent of discouraging the 

employee from taking leave or causing hardship to the employee. 

 
If an employee is required to work overtime (mandatory overtime) but, is unable to 

do so because of an FMLA-qualifying reason, the hours in which the employee would 

have been required to work will be counted against the employee’s FMLA entitlement. 

 
6.12 – COORDINATION WITH ACCRUED LEAVE 

 
An employee on FMLA leave is required to use any accumulated compensatory, sick, 

or annual leave for any of the qualifying reasons: 

 

A. The placement with the employee of a child for foster care and to bond with 

the newly-placed child within one year of placement; 

B. The care of the employee's spouse, son, daughter, or parent with a serious 

health condition, including incapacity due to pregnancy and for prenatal care; 

C. A serious health condition that makes the employee unable to perform the 

functions of the employee’s job, including incapacity due to pregnancy and 

for prenatal medical care; 

D. Any qualifying exigency arising out of the fact that an employee’s spouse, 

son, daughter, or parent is a covered military member on covered active duty 

(or has been notified of an impending call or order to active covered duty 

status); or 

E. To care for a covered service member with a serious injury or illness if the 

employee is the spouse, son, daughter, parent, or next of kin of a covered 

service member. 

 

This will run concurrently with the employees FMLA entitlement. An  employee on 

FMLA leave must use all accrued leave prior to being eligible for unpaid leave. 

Employees will be allowed to save the necessary time for Sick Leave Bank purposes. 

Notice of intent to save the requisite day(s) for Sick Leave Bank purposes must be made 

when requesting FMLA leave. An employee with no accumulated sick, annual, or 

compensatory leave balances must take his or her FMLA leave as unpaid. 

 

 

 

 

https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-09.20190815.pdf
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An employee on FMLA leave who is also eligible for Paid Parental Leave (see Section 

13.02 for more information) shall receive up to six (6) workweeks of paid leave for the 

following reasons:  

 

(A) The birth of the employee’s child and to bond with the child within one year of 

placement, or 

(B) The placement of a child with the employee for adoption and to bond with the 

newly-placed child within one year of placement. 

 

The paid leave shall not count against an employee’s annual, sick, or compensatory 

leave. For the purpose of calculating anniversary dates, this absence from work is 

considered full-time employment. Additionally, an eligible employee may receive no 

more than six (6) workweeks of paid leave for any twelve-month period, even if there 

is more than one qualifying birth or adoption during that period. The paid leave must 

be used within one year of the qualifying birth or placement. Any FMLA leave that an 

employee elects to use beyond the Paid Parental Leave six (6) workweek entitlement 

shall count against the employee’s accumulated compensatory, sick, or annual leave 

for the absence. An employee with no accumulated sick, annual, or compensatory 

leave balances must take his or her FMLA leave as unpaid. 

 

An employee on FMLA leave for birth or adoption who is ineligible for Paid Parental 

Leave is required to use any accumulated compensatory, sick, or annual leave for the 

absence. An employee with no accumulated sick, annual, or compensatory leave 

balances must take his or her FMLA leave as unpaid.  

 
6.13 - COORDINATION WITH WORKERS’ COMPENSATION 

 
Workers’ compensation leave, to the extent permitted by law, shall be designated as 

FMLA leave when qualifying conditions are met. If an employee's injury qualifies as 

FMLA leave, the employee cannot be forced to return to light duty work before the 

leave expires. If the employee freely accepts light duty work before the twelve (12) 

weeks of FMLA leave expire, the employee still has the right to return to his or her 

original or an equivalent position within twelve (12) weeks from the date FMLA leave 

began. 

 
6.14 - COORDINATION WITH PARENTAL LEAVE 

 
Under the parental leave law, an employee is entitled to up to four (4) months leave 

for adoption, pregnancy, childbirth and nursing an infant (“parental leave”). If leave  

https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=7cd6ef40-9261-49d5-bab3-41862642eff4&nodeid=AAEAAVAAEAAI&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAE%2FAAEAAV%2FAAEAAVAAE%2FAAEAAVAAEAAI&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=4-21-408.%2BLeave%2Bfor%2Badoption%2C%2Bpregnancy%2C%2Bchildbirth%2Band%2Bnursing%2Ban%2Binfant.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4WYJ-10F0-R03J-K44X-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=e655d653-e602-4515-a980-3c62f24fe0d9
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qualifies for both FMLA leave and parental leave, the leave used counts against the 

employee's entitlement under both laws. Parental leave and FMLA leave shall run 

concurrently to the extent permitted by law. Once the twelve (12) week FMLA 

entitlement is completed, this employee is still eligible to take the additional time to 

complete the four (4) months leave for adoption, pregnancy, childbirth and nursing 

an infant. However, the state is under no obligation to provide health insurance 

benefits during this period, should the leave be without pay. If the employee is 

eligible for Paid Parental Leave (see section 13.02 for more information), only the 

first six (6) workweeks of parental leave is paid. An employee who wishes to take 

additional parental leave beyond the six (6) week entitlement must use his or her 

accrued leave before going on unpaid leave. 

 
6.15 - EMPLOYEE NOTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS 

 
When the need for unpaid leave is foreseeable, an employee must provide at least 

thirty (30) days advance notice prior to the date the leave is to begin. In situations 

where thirty (30) day notification is not possible because the employee has no 

knowledge of the exact time when the leave will need to begin or because of change 

or circumstance or medical emergency, notice must be given as soon as practicable, 

normally within one (1) or two (2) business days of when the employee knows the 

date leave will be needed. 

 
Employees should request FMLA leave in Edison through Employee Self Service by 

navigating to HCM > Self Service > Time Reporting > Report Time > Request FMLA 

Leave. Employees are required to provide the need for the leave and the anticipated 

timing and duration of the leave. 

 
In instances where the employee does not enter the request in Edison, but instead 

notifies the supervisor of the need for leave under the FMLA, the supervisor shall 

refer the employee to the agency FMLA Coordinator. The FMLA Coordinator w i l l 

request additional information to determine if the employee is requesting FMLA 

leave specifically, obtain the necessary details of the leave being taken, and enter the 

request in Edison. 

 
Absent unusual circumstances, employees failing to provide notice of the need for 

FMLA leave within the required time frames may be subject to disciplinary action; 

however, they may not be denied the leave. 
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6.16 - EMPLOYEE NOTIFICATION PRIOR TO RETURN TO WORK 

An employee may not be required to take more leave than necessary to address 

circumstances resulting in the need for leave.  If an employee is returning to work 

sooner than expected, the employee must give the FMLA Coordinator two (2) 

business days’ notice of the changed circumstances before the appointing authority 

is required to restore the employee to his or her former or comparable position. 

 
6.17 - MEDICAL CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS 

 
The FMLA Coordinator may require that an employee's request for leave be 

supported by certification from a health care provider in situations where the leave 

is requested to care for the employee's seriously ill spouse, son, daughter, parent, 

or next of kin for qualified military leave, or due to the employee's personal serious 

health condition. The FMLA Coordinator must give written notice to the employee 

of the requirement to provide medical certification each time certification is 

required. 

 

When the need for leave is foreseeable, the employee should provide medical 

certification before the leave begins. When this is not possible the employee must 

provide this information within the time frame requested by the FMLA 

Coordinator. At least fifteen (15) calendar days must be allowed for the employee 

to provide requested medical certification unless this is not possible under the 

circumstances, such as an employee's personal health condition preventing his 

or her ability to obtain the necessary information in a timely manner. 

 

Any request for medical certification should be made at the time the employee 

requests leave or within two (2) business days. If the leave was unforeseen, the 

certification should be requested within two (2) business days after the leave has 

begun. If the FMLA Coordinator has reason to question the appropriateness of 

the leave or its duration, certification may be requested at a later date. An 

employee should be advised of the consequences of not providing medical 

certification at the time the certification is requested. 

 
The FMLA Coordinator may request only the following information from a health 

care provider certifying an employee's personal serious health condition or that of 

a son, daughter, parent, or next of kin. A sample form is provided on the  
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Department of Human Resources’ website and should be used to obtain this 

information: 

 
A. A statement or description of the appropriate medical facts regarding the 

patient’s health condition for which leave is requested. 

 
B. The approximate date the serious health condition began and its probable 

duration, including the probable duration of the patient's present incapacity, 

whether it will be necessary for the employee to take intermittent leave or work 

a reduced schedule and the probable duration of such a schedule. The 

certification may state if the condition is pregnancy or a chronic condition, 

whether the patient is presently incapacitated and the likely duration and 

frequency of periods of incapacity. 

 
C. If additional treatments will be required for the condition and an estimate of 

the probable number of treatments. If the patient's incapacity will be 

intermittent or require a reduced work schedule, an estimate of the probable 

number of and interval between such treatments and period required for 

recovery. If any of the treatments listed above will be provided by another 

provider of health services and the nature of the treatments. If a regimen of 

continuing treatment by the patient is required under the supervision of the 

health care provider and a description of the regimen. 

 
D. If medical leave is required because of the employee's own condition, 

information may be requested on whether the employee is unable to perform 

any one or more of the essential functions of the position, including a statement 

of the essential functions the employee is unable to perform. If the employee 

is able to perform work of any other kind and if the employee must be absent 

from work for treatment. 

 
E. If the leave is required to care for a family member, information may be 

requested on whether the patient requires assistance for basic medical or 

personal needs or safety, or for transportation or, if not, whether the 

employee's presence to provide psychological comfort would be beneficial 

to the patient or assist in the patient’s recovery. The employee must provide 

information on the care provided and an estimate of the time period involved. 

If the employee's family member will need care only intermittently or on a 

reduced leave schedule, the probable duration of the need. 
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F. If the employer deems a medical certification to be incomplete or insufficient, 

the employer must specify in writing what information is lacking, and give the 

employee seven (7) calendar days to cure the deficiency. 

 
Once an employee has submitted a complete and sufficient medical certification 

document signed by the employee's or family member's health care provider, the 

FMLA Coordinator may not request any additional information from that health 

care provider. The employee’s FMLA Coordinator may only contact the employee's 

health care provider to verify the authenticity of or to clarify the medical 

certification. 

 
6.18 - GENETIC INFORMATION NONDISCRIMINATION ACT OF 2008 (GINA) 

 
The Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act of 2008 (GINA) requires a 

disclaimer be included on all communications to medical providers. The act sets 

forth the following safe-harbor language to meet this requirement and should be 

provided to all employees when requesting medical certification: 

 
The Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act of 2008 (GINA) prohibits 

employers and other entities covered by GINA Title II from requesting or 

requiring genetic information of an individual or family member of the 

individual except, as specifically allowed by this law. To comply with this 

law, we are asking that you not provide any genetic information when 

responding to this request for medical information. Genetic information, as 

defined by GINA, includes an individual’s family medical history, the results 

of an individual’s or family member’s genetic tests, the fact that an individual 

or an individual’s family member sought or received genetic services, and 

genetic information of a fetus carried by an individual or an individual’s 

family member or an embryo lawfully held by an individual or family 

member receiving assistive reproductive services. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/PLAW-110publ233/pdf/PLAW-110publ233.pdf
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6.19 - MILITARY LEAVE CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS 

 
An employee requesting leave for a qualifying exigency must submit a copy of the 
covered military member’s active duty orders and certification providing the 
appropriate facts related to the particular qualifying exigency for which leave is 
sought. This information may include contract information if the leave involves 
meeting with a third party. 

 
If the qualifying exigency involves rest and recuperation leave, the employee must 

submit a copy of the military member’s rest and recuperation orders, or other 

documentation issued by the military setting forth the dates of the military 

member’s leave. 

 
An employee requesting leave to care for a covered service member with a serious 

injury or illness must submit a certification form completed by an authorized health 

care provider or a copy of an Invitational Travel Order or Invitational Travel 

Authorization issued to any member of the covered service member’s family. 

 
6.20 - EMPLOYEE FAILURE TO PROVIDE MEDICAL CERTIFICATION 

 
An employee who fails to provide certification within the requested allowable time 

frame (minimally fifteen (15) calendar days) may be denied leave until certification 

is provided if the leave was foreseeable.  

 
When the need for leave is unforeseeable, an employee must provide certification 

within a reasonable period of time determined by the FMLA Coordinator based 

on the particular medical circumstances. An employee failing to provide certification 

within this time frame may be denied leave continuation. 

6.21 – DESIGNATING LEAVE AS FMLA LEAVE 

 
The FMLA Coordinator shall designate leave as FMLA leave as soon as possible 

after sufficient information is available to determine that the leave requested is for 

a reason covered by FMLA guidelines. Once sufficient information has been 

obtained, the FMLA Coordinator must notify the employee within five (5) business 

days that the leave will be designated as FMLA leave and counted toward the twelve 

(12) week entitlement. 

 
The employee may initially be notified of the FMLA designation either orally or 
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in writing. If notified orally, however, the FMLA Coordinator must follow up with 

written notification no later than the following payday. If the next payday is less 

than one (1) week after the oral notice, the FMLA Coordinator must notify the 

employee no later than the subsequent payday. 

 
FMLA leave designation should be made before the leave period begins, unless the 

FMLA Coordinator does not have enough information at the time to make this 

determination. 

 
Neither the employer nor the employee have the option to delay or decline FMLA 

designation if the employee is eligible and the leave otherwise qualifies for FMLA 

leave. 

 
6.22 - RETROACTIVE DESIGNATION OF FMLA LEAVE 

 
If an employer has enough information to determine that the leave is being taken for 

an FMLA-qualifying reason, but does not notify the employee whether the leave will 

be designated as required, the employer may not retroactively designate leave as 

FMLA leave. However, the employer and employee can mutually agree in writing that 

leave be retroactively designated as FMLA leave. If the employer learns that paid leave 

is for FMLA reasons after the start of the leave period, the entire or some portion of 

the leave may be retroactively counted as FMLA leave to the extent that the leave 

period qualified as FMLA leave. 

 
The FMLA Coordinator may only designate leave as FMLA leave after an employee 

has returned to work in the following circumstances: 

 
A. The FMLA Coordinator does not learn that an employee's absence was due to 

FMLA reasons until the employee returns to work. If the FMLA Coordinator 

notifies the employee of the leave designation within two (2) business days 

of the employee's return, the leave may be designated retroactively. If an 

employee returning to work did not inform the FMLA Coordinator prior to the 

leave period that the leave was for FMLA reasons and he or she wants the leave 

designated as FMLA leave, the employee must notify the FMLA Coordinator 

within two (2) business days of returning to work of the reason for the leave. 
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If the FMLA Coordinator knows the reason for the leave but has not been able to 

confirm that the leave qualifies under FMLA, or medical certification or second or 

third opinions have been requested but not yet received, the FMLA Coordinator 

should make a preliminary designation and notify the employee of this  designation at 

the time the leave begins. When information arrives confirming that the leave used 

is for FMLA reasons, the preliminary designation then becomes final. If the 

requested information fails to confirm that the leave needed is for FMLA reasons, 

the FMLA Coordinator must withdraw the designation in writing. 

6.23 – TIME AND LABOR WHILE ON FMLA LEAVE 

 
An employee on continuous FMLA will not need to key his or her time in Edison during 

the designated period. Edison will automatically populate the time into the 

employee’s timesheet for each pay period during the approved FMLA designation 

period. 

 
If an employee is on intermittent FMLA leave, the employee will be responsible for 

keying the hours worked along with the hours used toward FMLA on his or her 

timesheet. Supervisors shall ensure that employees enter their time in Edison and 

shall approve payable time for their employees before payroll deadlines. 

Recordkeeping: Employee timesheets should be coded as Family Medical Leave (FMLLV). 

 
6.24 - REQUESTING SECOND AND THIRD OPINIONS 

 
If there is reason to question the validity of the medical certification or if the 

employee refuses to grant permission to contact his/her health care provider 

concerning the medical certification, the employee may be required to obtain a 

second opinion from another health care provider at the agency's expense. 

Although the agency may select the health care provider to provide the second 

opinion,  the provider selected cannot be employed by the State of Tennessee on 

a regular basis or be under any contract or agreement with the state to provide 

second opinion services, in most circumstances. 

 
If the opinions of the employee's and agency’s health care providers differ, the 

agency may obtain another certification from a third health care provider at the 

agency's expense. This health care provider must be one agreed upon by both 

parties and the third provider’s opinion is considered final and binding. 
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Pending receipt of the second or third opinions, the employee is provisionally 

entitled to FMLA leave and the agency must pay for any reasonable out-of-pocket 

travel expenses. If the certifications do not establish the employee's entitlement 

to FMLA leave, the leave shall not be designated as FMLA leave and may be treated 

as paid or unpaid leave under established leave policies. 

 
The agency is required to provide the employee with a copy of the second and third 

opinions, where applicable, upon request by the  employee. Requested copies shall 

be provided within five (5) business days of the request, unless extenuating 

circumstances prevent this from being possible. 

 
Second and third opinions and recertification are not permitted for certification of 

a covered service member’s serious injury or illness or a qualifying exigency. A 

health care provider,  a human  resource  professional, a  leave  administrator,  or a 

management official, but not the employee’s direct supervisor, may be used to 

authenticate or clarify a medical certification of a serious injury or illness, or an 

Invitational Travel Order or Invitational Travel Authorization. Additionally, the 

individual or entity named in a certification of leave for a qualifying exigency may 

be contacted for purposes of verifying the existence and nature of the meeting. 

 
6.25 - REQUESTING RECERTIFICATION OF MEDICAL CONDITIONS 

 
The FMLA Coordinator may request recertification of a medical condition as 

considered necessary. For most situations, the intervals between these requests 

can be no less than thirty (30) days, except in situations, where: (1) the employee 

requests an extension of leave; (2) circumstances described in the original 

certification have changed significantly, or (3) the FMLA Coordinator has obtained 

information conflicting with the validity of the certification. 

 
In the case of pregnancy, chronic or permanent long-term medical conditions, 

the FMLA Coordinator may request recertification no more than once every thirty 

(30) days, unless: (1) circumstances described in the previous certification have 

changed significantly, or (2) the FMLA Coordinator receives information which casts 

doubt on the employee's stated reason for the absence.  If the minimum 
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duration of the period of incapacity specified on the medical certification is more 

than thirty (30) days, the FMLA Coordinator may not request recertification until that 

minimum duration has passed, unless one of the conditions set forth above is met. 

When FMLA leave is taken intermittently by an employee who is pregnant or who 

has a chronic or permanent long-term medical condition, the FMLA Coordinator 

may not request recertification in less than the minimum period specified on the 

certification as necessary for such leave unless one of the conditions in the first 

paragraph of this section is met. However, in all cases, an employer may request 

recertification  of a medical condition  every six (6) months in connection with an 

employee’s absence. This request for recertification applies to medical conditions 

that require continuous leave as well as intermittent leave. 

 
6.26 - HEALTH BENEFIT REQUIREMENTS 

 
For the duration of FMLA leave, the state shall maintain an employee's health 

coverage under the Group Insurance Plan under the same conditions coverage 

would have been provided if the employee continuously worked during the leave 

period. Policy information regarding health insurance coverage in relation to the 

provisions of FMLA is available by contacting the Division of Benefits Administration 

in the Department of Finance and Administration. 

 
The FMLA Coordinator shall communicate approval of FMLA leave to the Agency 

Benefit Coordinator (ABC). The ABC is responsible for notifying Benefits 

Administration (BA) of leave status changes for an affected employee. Agencies will 

continue  to  be  billed for the agency/employer portion of the premium monthly, and 

the employee will be billed at their home address for their portion of the premium 

due. If the employee does not pay their portion, twenty percent (20%), of the 

premium, the coverage is subject to suspension from the last paid period. Per 

federal regulations, Benefits Administration (BA) may no longer cancel an 

individual’s medical coverage due to non-payment of premiums when the employee 

is on approved family medical leave. The agency should try to make arrangements 

with the affected employee to pay premiums before the employee goes out on 

FMLA to prevent an interruption in service. If premiums are not received timely, BA 

will suspend the coverage until the affected employee returns to work or once the 

premiums are paid in full. 
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The agency’s ABC should also notify the employee that premiums in arrears will 

be deducted from their payroll once the employee returns to a positive pay 

status, unless BA receives written notification that the employee wishes to 

change the effective date of coverage to the first of the month following their return 

from FMLA absence. 

 
Benefits Administration will send notices to employees who are identified on 

approved FMLA and are more than thirty (30) days past due that their coverage 

will be suspended if payment is not received by the end of that month. BA will 

not notify agencies when an employee has not paid their premiums. It is the 

employee’s responsibility to ensure the premium payment is received timely in order 

to prevent the suspension of coverage, and continue receiving medical services. 

 
If Benefits Administration suspends coverage due to an employee’s non-payment, 

the coverage can be reinstated when the employee returns from leave. The 

reinstatement can be effective retroactively to the date of suspension or the first 

of the month following the return from leave. This will be the employee’s choice. 

If they choose to retroactively reinstate the coverage once payment is received in 

full, claims for the period of suspension can be resubmitted for reimbursement or 

payment. If they choose to have the coverage effective after the return from leave, 

Benefits Administration will refund the agency any premiums that were deducted 

during the suspension. 

 
6.27 - JOB RESTORATION REQUIREMENTS 

 
Upon return from FMLA leave, an employee must be restored to his or her original 

position or to an equivalent position, which is virtually identical in terms of pay, 

benefits and other employment terms and conditions. This includes restoration 

to a position having the same or substantially similar duties and responsibilities 

and having substantially equivalent skill, effort, responsibility and authority. 

 
An employee returning from FMLA leave is entitled to any general increases that all 

other state employees have received during the period the employee was on leave. 

The employee is also entitled to shift or work schedule assignments equivalent to 

those  in effect prior to the beginning of the leave period and to a work location 

assignment geographically close to the one where previously employed.
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If an employee can no longer perform the essential functions of the position, the 

employee has no rights to job restoration under FMLA provisions. However, the 

employee may have certain rights under the Americans with Disabilities Act 

Amendment Act, which must be taken into consideration. Please make sure to 

discuss these considerations with agency legal counsel. 

 
In situations where an employee notifies the FMLA Coordinator that he or she is 

not returning to work, the obligation to restore the employee to a position and 

to maintain health benefits (subject to COBRA requirements) ends. Should the 

employee indicate he or she is unable to return to work but continues to want 

to return, restoration requirements and health benefits remain in effect through 

the end of the twelve (12) week FMLA leave period. 

 
An employee has no greater right to job restoration with equivalent benefits and 

conditions of employment than he or she would have had if continuously employed. 

Thus, if a work location is closed, a shift eliminated, overall work hours for an 

entire unit reduced, or positions abolished through a reduction in force, the 

employee is only entitled to conditions that would have been in effect for the 

employee if the leave had never been taken. 

 
For example, if an employee's shift is eliminated while the employee is on leave, 

the employee is not entitled to assignment to the previous shift's work hours or to 

shift differential pay when that employee returns from leave that other employees 

formerly on the shift no longer receive. However, the employee is entitled to 

employment in a position meeting all other previous employment conditions. 

 
In layoff situations, obligations to continue an employee's period of FMLA leave end 

with the effective date of the layoff. 

 
6.28 - JOB RESTORATION FOR EMPLOYEES LEASED FROM A TEMPORARY AGENCY 

 
If an agency utilizes an employee from a temporary agency and that employee goes 

on FMLA leave, the employee is entitled to return to the same assignment as the 
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one held before beginning the FMLA leave period if the agency is still using 

temporary services at the point the employee is ready to return to work. 

 
6.29 - PROHIBITION AGAINST DISCRIMINATORY PRACTICES AND ENFORCEMENT 

 
Provisions of FMLA prohibit interference with an employee's rights to family and 

medical leave under the law and from discrimination against an employee using 

family and medical leave. FMLA makes it unlawful for any employer to: (1) interfere 

with, restrain, or deny the exercise of any right provided under FMLA; and (2) 

discharge or discriminate against any person for opposing any practice made 

unlawful by FMLA or for involvement in any proceeding under or relating to FMLA. 

Each agency’s FMLA Coordinator should review existing internal practices to 

ensure compliance. 

 
An employee may file an FMLA-related complaint with their agency’s human 

resources division, the Department of Human Resources EEO/ADA Division, or the 

U.S. Department of Labor. The employee may also bring a private lawsuit against 

an employer. For additional information: 1-866- 489-9243 or 

www.wagehour.dol.gov. 

 

The FMLA does not affect any Federal or State law prohibiting discrimination, or 

supersede any Federal or State law which provides greater family or medical leave 

rights. 

 
6.30 - REQUIREMENTS FOR NOTIFYING EMPLOYEES OF FMLA RIGHTS 

 
Notices shall be posted in each agency explaining the FMLA provisions and 

providing information on how to file a complaint (or complaints) for violations of 

the FMLA. These notices must be posted in conspicuous places where employees 

and applicants can easily access the information provided. 

 
The FMLA Coordinator must provide written guidance to the employee regarding 

his or her rights and obligations every time the employee is notified of the FMLA 

leave designation. 

http://www.wagehour.dol.gov/
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The FMLA Coordinator must also provide the employee with written notice 

detailing specific employee obligations and consequences of failure to meet these 

obligations. This information must be provided no less than once each six (6) 

month period that an employee gives notice of the need for FMLA leave. The 

following information must be included: (1) that the leave will be counted against 

the employee's FMLA leave entitlement; (2) any requirements for furnishing medical 

certification of a serious health condition and information regarding the 

consequences of not providing this information; (3) the employee's option to 

substitute paid leave in specific situations and conditions related to the substitution; 

(4) the requirement for the employee to make health insurance premium 

payments, procedures for making these payments and possible consequences 

of failing to make these payments in a timely manner; (5) any requirement to 

present medical certification as a condition of job restoration following conclusion 

of the leave period; (6) the employee's right to job restoration upon return from 

leave; and (7) the employee's potential liability for the employer's portion of the 

health insurance premium payments should the employee fail to return to work after 

taking FMLA leave. 

 
The notice must be given within a reasonable time after the employee notifies 

the FMLA Coordinator of the need for FMLA leave, preferably between one (1) 

and two (2) business days. If the leave has already begun, the notice should be 

mailed to the employee's address of record. 

 
If the specific information originally provided in the notice changes due to a 

subsequent period of FMLA leave, the FMLA Coordinator must notify the 

employee within two (2) business days of receiving notification of the need 

for additional FMLA leave of any changes that are being made to the original 

information provided. 

 
For example, if the initial leave period was paid and the subsequent leave 

period is unpaid, the employee must be notified of the need to pay his or her 

portion of the insurance premium. 

 
If the initial notice to the employee and the agency's handbook or other written 

documentation clearly indicate the agency's requirements for the employee to 

provide medical certification or fitness for duty information, then subsequent 
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notification to the employee of these requirements is not necessary. If, however, 

this information has never been provided to the employee, then any requirements 

for medical certification or fitness for duty information must be provided in writing 

to the employee every time the employee notifies the FMLA Coordinator of the 

need for leave. 

 
If the FMLA Coordinator does not provide the employee with required notices, no 

action can be taken against the employee for failure to comply with the employee's 

obligations. If an employee suffers individualized harm because the employer failed 

to follow the notification rules, the employer may be liable. 

 

6.31 - RECORD-KEEPING REQUIREMENTS 

 
Each FMLA Coordinator is responsible for maintaining required records for all 

employees using FMLA leave for at least three (3) years. In addition to basic 

payroll and employee data and policy documentation, the following records are 

required: 

 
A. Dates FMLA leave is taken by each employee and clear designation of this time 

as FMLA leave. 

 
B. Hours of leave taken, if the amount is less than one (1) full 

day. 

 
C. Copies of employee notices of FMLA leave sent to the FMLA Coordinator, if in 

writing, and copies of general and specific notices given to employees as 

required under FMLA guidelines. 

D. Records of any dispute between the employee and the agency regarding the 

designation of leave as FMLA leave. 

E. Any work schedule agreed upon by the agency and employee, in situations 

where intermittent leave or leave on a reduced work schedule has been 

approved. 

 
F. Medical certification, recertification, and medical history documentation. All 
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medical information must be maintained separately from other personnel 

information. 

 
G. Military orders. 

 
6.32 – ADDITIONAL RESOURCES 

 
Additional information about the FMLA, including employee and supervisor resources, FAQs, 

and information from the Department of Labor’s website, can be found on the Department 

of Human Resources’ website. 

 
 

Authority: 

Title 29, Part 825 of the Code of Federal Regulations 

Tenn. Code Ann. § 8-30-104 

Department of Human Resources Rule 1120-06-.21 

https://www.teamtn.gov/hr/employees/attendance---leave---new/family-medical-leave-act--fmla-.html
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-29
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=f5b03286-8d1e-4524-9aff-580180d29bed&nodeid=AAIABDAABAAE&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAB%2FAAIABDAABAAE&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-104.%2BAuthority%2Bof%2Bcommissioner%2B%E2%80%94%2BSupervisory%2Bpersonnel%2B%E2%80%94%2BDesignees.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4M0-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=e655d653-e602-4515-a980-3c62f24fe0d9
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-06.20230418.pdf
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CHAPTER 7 

HOLIDAYS 

 
7.01 LEGAL HOLIDAYS 

 
The General Assembly, by law, establishes legal holidays which are observed by the 

closing of State offices. The Governor, upon request by the Commissioner of 

Human Resources, may also establish additional time off for the observance of 

holidays. The Governor may, at his/her discretion, substitute the day after 

Thanksgiving as a holiday for Columbus Day. This decision will be made each year. 

 

7.02 LIST OF HOLIDAYS 

The following days have been designated by the General Assembly as legal holidays: 

New Year's Day January 1 

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Third Monday in January 

Washington Day Third Monday in February 

Good Friday Friday before Easter 

Memorial Day Last Monday in May 

Juneteenth June 19 

Independence Day July 4 

Labor Day First Monday in September 

Columbus Day Second Monday in October 

Veterans' Day November 11 

Thanksgiving Day Fourth Thursday in November 

Christmas Day December 25 

 

When a holiday falls on a Saturday, the Friday before the holiday will be observed. 

When the holiday falls on a Sunday, the Monday following the holiday will be 

observed. 

 

7.03 HOLIDAY CREDIT FOR EXEMPT-EXECUTIVE LEVEL EMPLOYEES 

 
Executive level employees regularly scheduled to work on a holiday and who 

perform job duties on a holiday may have the holiday time rescheduled. 
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7.04 EMPLOYEE ELIGIBILITY FOR HOLIDAY BENEFITS 

 
A. In determining eligibility for holidays, employees must be in an active pay status 

for the scheduled workday immediately preceding a holiday in order to be 

eligible for the benefits of that holiday. 

 

B. Hourly employees who are scheduled at least one thousand, six hundred (1,600) 

hours and are eligible to accrue annual and sick leave are eligible to receive 

holiday pay. Part- time or seasonal employees whom are ineligible to accrue 

sick and annual leave are not eligible for holiday pay. 

 

C. Emergency employees, interim employees, and temporary employees who 

are employed on a full-time basis will be eligible to take the holiday with pay 

when they have worked their scheduled work period immediately preceding 

the holiday. 

 

D. Employees on special leave without pay, educational leave without pay, parental 

leave without pay, military leave without pay, and Division of Claims 

Administration status will not take or be paid for that holiday as it occurs or at 

a later date. Employees on educational leave with pay will be paid for the 

holiday, but the leave will be coded as educational leave rather than holiday 

pay. Employees paid through the Sick Leave Bank will be paid for the holiday 

as one of their regularly approved days from the bank. 

 

E. Employees granted special leave without pay effective the day immediately 

after holiday will be paid for the holiday, but only if the employee worked the 

preceding day immediately prior to the holiday. 

 

F. Retiring employees will not be paid for the holiday unless terminal leave extends 

at least one tenth (0.1) of one (1) hour into the next workday following 

the holiday. Terminating employees whose last day worked is prior to the 

holiday and receives a lump sum payment of accrued leave are not eligible 

to receive holiday pay. 

 

G. Employees transferring to a state service agency from a state college or 

university the next working day after a holiday are not eligible for holiday pay, 

unless the holiday is paid by the college or university. 
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7.05 ACCOUNTING FOR HOLIDAY TIME FOR EMPLOYEES ON IRREGULAR WORK 

SCHEDULES 

 

Due to the variety of state services, some agencies and their employees are not 

able to observe holidays. Work schedules make it necessary for some employees 

to work on holidays based on the needs of the agency. When possible, the 

employee must revert to a normal work week. 

 
A. An employee who is scheduled to work on a holiday will receive compensatory 

overtime on an hour-for-hour basis for time actually worked up to the number 

of hours scheduled, regardless of the number of days scheduled in the work 

week. 

 

B. If the time spent actually working on a holiday exceeds a non-exempt 

employee's regular schedule, the non-exempt employee may be due cash 

overtime at the end of the work week, in addition to the compensatory time, 

up to scheduled hours on the holiday. 

 

C. An employee who has an irregular work schedule and is scheduled to work on 

a holiday but did not work due to the office being closed in observance of 

the holiday will receive holiday time on an hour-for-hour basis for time 

scheduled. This employee should be returned to a regular schedule if at all 

possible. 

 

D. If a holiday falls on an employee's regularly scheduled day off, the employee will 

receive compensatory overtime. This would apply to any employee who is 

regularly scheduled to work less than five (5) days per week or whose work 

schedule is something other than Monday through Friday. These employees will 

be given seven and one half (7.5) hours or eight hours (8.0) hours of 

compensatory time, depending on the employee’s schedule. 

 

E. If an employee is scheduled to work on a holiday and has an excused absence 

for which compensatory or annual leave is approved, that day will be charged 

as holiday time. This would be considered as the employee’s approved 

holiday compensation; therefore, the employee should not receive any 

overtime or compensatory time for this holiday. 
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However, if the employee requests sick leave to be charged, sick leave may 

be granted, and compensatory time allowed for the holiday. If the employee 

presents a doctor's statement, sick leave must be granted. 

 

F. If an employee is scheduled to work seven and one-half (7.5) hours or more on 

a holiday and only fulfills part of that scheduled day, the balance of the day is 

to be charged as holiday time and the employee will be given compensatory 

time for hours actually worked. 

 

G. Any unexcused absences may be charged as leave without pay and the 

employee should not receive any compensatory time for the holiday. 

 

H. Employees on a thirty-seven and one-half (37.5) hour work week must be 

compensated at least seven and one-half (7.5) hours on the holiday and 

employees on a forty (40.0) hour work week must be compensated at least eight 

(8.0) hours on the holiday, when the eligibility requirement is met. 

 

Authority: 

Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 8-30-104, 8-30-406 and 15-1-101 

Rules of the Department of Human Resources 1120-06-.15 

https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=ae20cc54-502b-476e-b98c-6db7084f430b&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4M0-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAIABDAABAAE&ecomp=w53dkkk&prid=08ca947b-d51f-4a4d-88fb-ca31a5bfc449
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=8b3317a9-5836-4036-aea9-f1c14c990303&nodeid=AAIABDAAEAAG&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAE%2FAAIABDAAEAAG&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-406.%2BHours%2Bof%2Bwork%2C%2Battendance%2C%2Band%2Bleaves%2Bof%2Babsence.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A55XV-B4N0-R03J-X0GV-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=88af4b61-1b04-4a04-93eb-1fa2ea391bd1
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=d3536328-1261-402d-9f2d-973e4eb6058c&nodeid=ABYAABAABAAB&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FABY%2FABYAAB%2FABYAABAAB%2FABYAABAABAAB&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=50-1-101.%2BMemorandum%2Bof%2Bunderstanding%2Bwith%2Bthe%2Bdepartment%2Bof%2Bhomeland%2Bsecurity%2Bfor%2Benforcement%2Bof%2Bfederal%2Bimmigration%2Blaws.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X1B-R5J0-R03N-852V-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=88af4b61-1b04-4a04-93eb-1fa2ea391bd1
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-06.20230418.pdf
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CHAPTER 8 

CIVIL LEAVE 

 
8.01 LEAVE USE 

 
Civil leave may be used by any state employee who is subpoenaed or otherwise 

directed to serve as a juror in any court of the United States or the State of 

Tennessee. Any employee (including part-time) scheduled to work on the day the 

employee is called for jury duty is eligible for civil leave. If the employee is not 

scheduled to work, then the employee is not eligible for civil leave. Upon receiving 

a summons to report for jury duty, the employee shall, on the next day of the 

employee’s employment, exhibit the summons to the employee’s immediate 

supervisor. Civil leave will be granted for any day or days an employee is required, 

by summons, to report for jury duty, provided such responsibility for jury duty 

exceeds three (3) hours during the day for which the excuse is sought. If the 

employee serves less than three (3) hours per day, the time served will be coded 

as civil leave and the employee must return to work or use compensatory or 

annual leave for the remaining work hours. Civil leave includes the time required 

to travel to and from jury duty. 

 
8.02 NIGHT SHIFT 

 
If an employee summoned for jury duty is working a night shift or is working during 

the preceding hours before court is in session, the employee shall be granted civil 

leave from the employee employment for the shift immediately preceding the first 

day served. After the first day served, when the employee's responsibility for jury 

duty exceeds three (3) hours during a day, the employee shall be granted civil leave 

from the employee’s next scheduled work period if such schedule occurs within 

twenty-four (24) hours of jury duty. If the employee serves less than three (3) hours 

per day, the time served will be coded as civil leave (if the leave occurs during 

normally scheduled working hours) and the employee must report to work or use 

compensatory or annual leave for their next regularly scheduled shift. Questions 

surrounding whether an employee’s shift is applicable to this provision shall be 

conclusively determined by the trial judge of the court to which the employee has 

been summoned. 
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8.03 PAYMENT FOR SERVING 

 
The employee may retain any compensation received for jury duty from the courts. 

However, the employer is not required to compensate the employee for more time 

than was actually spent serving and traveling to and from jury duty. 

 
8.04 EMPLOYMENT STATUS 

 
An employee’s employment status must remain intact upon return to work from 

jury duty. No employer shall discharge or in any manner discriminate against any 

employee for serving on jury duty if the employee, prior to taking the time off, gives 

the required notice to their supervisor. Any employee who is discharged, demoted, 

or suspended because the employee has taken time off to serve on jury duty is 

entitled to reinstatement and reimbursement for lost wages and work benefits 

caused by such acts of the employer. Any employer who willfully refuses to rehire 

or otherwise restore an employee or former employee commits a Class A 

misdemeanor. 

 
8.05 GOVERNMENT WITNESS 

 
An employee who serves as a government witness in an official job capacity will 

be considered on duty and not charged leave. When the employee serves less than 

three (3) hours per day, the employee must return to work or use compensatory 

or annual leave for the remaining work hours. 

 
8.06 PRIVATE LITIGATION WITNESS 

 
An employee must take compensatory, annual or leave without pay if subpoenaed 

in private litigation to testify not in an official capacity. 

 

8.07 EMPLOYEE INVOLVED IN CRIMINAL OR CIVIL TRIAL 

 
An employee who is personally involved in litigation and is absent from duty will 

be charged with compensatory, annual or leave without pay. 

 
Authority: 

Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 22-4-101, 22-4-103, 22-4-106, 22-4-107 and 8-30-406 

Rules of the Department of Human Resources 1120-06-.16 

https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=49b33732-5ec9-4ba0-9f71-44b4639d2481&nodeid=AAWAAEAAB&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAW%2FAAWAAE%2FAAWAAEAAB&level=3&haschildren&populated=false&title=22-4-101.%2BPer%2Bdiem%2Band%2Btravel%2Ballowance.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-SMH0-R03K-G16C-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=7275de38-833d-4aa2-86cb-fdf91fdabcc3
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=49b33732-5ec9-4ba0-9f71-44b4639d2481&nodeid=AAWAAEAAB&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAW%2FAAWAAE%2FAAWAAEAAB&level=3&haschildren&populated=false&title=22-4-101.%2BPer%2Bdiem%2Band%2Btravel%2Ballowance.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-SMH0-R03K-G16C-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=7275de38-833d-4aa2-86cb-fdf91fdabcc3
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=40552749-aa18-4b50-9646-6fbc208d33e6&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-SMH0-R03K-G16F-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAWAAEAAD&ecomp=w53dkkk&prid=225c82de-c374-40d8-b109-96bc6e987842
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=40552749-aa18-4b50-9646-6fbc208d33e6&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-SMH0-R03K-G16F-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAWAAEAAD&ecomp=w53dkkk&prid=225c82de-c374-40d8-b109-96bc6e987842
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=2c77593d-88ff-44be-9295-7b07b8205ed5&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-SMH0-R03K-G16J-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAWAAEAAG&ecomp=w53dkkk&prid=e6554936-f3aa-4a4e-810e-f75110e6bff4
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=2c77593d-88ff-44be-9295-7b07b8205ed5&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-SMH0-R03K-G16J-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAWAAEAAG&ecomp=w53dkkk&prid=e6554936-f3aa-4a4e-810e-f75110e6bff4
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=35fb7337-551c-495a-94a8-7a5e4b6a8d1c&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-SMH0-R03K-G16K-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAWAAEAAH&ecomp=w53dkkk&prid=2c77593d-88ff-44be-9295-7b07b8205ed5
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=35fb7337-551c-495a-94a8-7a5e4b6a8d1c&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-SMH0-R03K-G16K-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAWAAEAAH&ecomp=w53dkkk&prid=2c77593d-88ff-44be-9295-7b07b8205ed5
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=e87e4455-af75-49d5-8ed6-308d527281a2&nodeid=AAIABDAAEAAG&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAE%2FAAIABDAAEAAG&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-406.%2BHours%2Bof%2Bwork%2C%2Battendance%2C%2Band%2Bleaves%2Bof%2Babsence.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A55XV-B4N0-R03J-X0GV-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=7275de38-833d-4aa2-86cb-fdf91fdabcc3
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=e87e4455-af75-49d5-8ed6-308d527281a2&nodeid=AAIABDAAEAAG&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAE%2FAAIABDAAEAAG&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-406.%2BHours%2Bof%2Bwork%2C%2Battendance%2C%2Band%2Bleaves%2Bof%2Babsence.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A55XV-B4N0-R03J-X0GV-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=7275de38-833d-4aa2-86cb-fdf91fdabcc3
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-06.20230418.pdf
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CHAPTER 9 

EXTENDED LEAVE 

 
Extended leave addresses situations in which employees are in an extended leave 

without pay status. The policy pertains both to employees who use leave prior to 

going on leave without pay status and those who choose to retain leave balances. 

 
9.01 REQUEST FOR EXTENDED LEAVE 

 
An employee must  make  a written request to his or her appointing authority for 

approval of special leave, parental leave, educational leave, and personal 

educational leave. Employees may also be on extended leave when using leave 

through the Sick Leave Bank or Division of Claims Administration leave. 

 
The granting of extended leave gives the employee the right to return to the 

employee’s position in accordance with provisions of the written approval granted 

by the appointing authority, provided the position still exists. However, if an 

employee’s job is so unique that the agency cannot, after reasonable efforts fill the 

position temporarily, then the agency shall not be liable under this section for failure 

to reinstate the employee at the end of the leave period. 

 
9.02 LEAVE USE 

 
An employee must use his or her accumulated leave balance balances 

(compensatory, annual, and sick) before being approved for leave without pay, 

except in cases of military or Division of Claims Administration leave. An employee 

on military or Division of Claims leave may be approved to use all or part of his or 

her accumulated annual and sick leave (where appropriate) before beginning the 

period of leave without pay. The employee may also be approved to retain any 

accumulated annual and sick leave balances. 

 
Employees must be notified of the way in which a period of extended leave 

without pay may impact insurance coverage. Any exceptions to the above policy 

must be requested in advance to the Department of Human Resources. 



March 2021 

Attendance and Leave Manual 
Chapter 9 – Extended Leave 

Page 2 

 

 

 
 

 

 

9.03 ACCOUNTING FOR EXTENDED LEAVE 

 
Instances for which extended leave may be approved include special leave, parental 

leave, educational leave, personal educational leave, Division of Claims 

Administration leave, Sick Leave Bank leave and military leave. In determining the 

beginning date for extended leave, the effective date will be the first full day the 

employee is without pay. A copy of the appointing authority's approval or, if 

applicable, a copy of the military orders must be submitted to the Department 

of Human Resources. 

 
9.04 RETURNING FROM EXTENDED LEAVE 

 
Employees failing to return two (2) days after the end of an approved special leave 

period shall be considered to have resigned in accordance with Tennessee Code 

Annotated § 8-30-316, absent extenuating circumstances beyond the control of the 

employee causing the employee’s absence or preventing the employee’s return. An 

employee deemed to have resigned under these circumstances shall have the right 

to appeal such action pursuant to the appeal procedure described in Tennessee 

Code Annotated § 8-30-316. 

 
9.05 RETURNING FROM EXTENDED LEAVE FROM MILITARY DUTY 

 
Any employee shall be granted a leave of absence for the purpose of being inducted 

or otherwise entering military duty. If not accepted for such duty, the employee 

shall be reinstated in such position without loss of seniority or status or reduction 

in rate of pay. During such period, the employee shall for all purposes be 

considered to have rendered service and to have been compensated therefore at 

the employee's regular rate of pay. 

 
9.06 EFFECT ON PROBATIONARY PERIOD, SERVICE AND SALARY INCREASES 

 
An employee on extended leave without pay for a major portion of a calendar 

month does not accumulate sick or annual leave for that month. The expiration 

date of the probationary period and the anniversary date for service, longevity pay, 

and salary policy adjustments will be changed accordingly. 

 
Authority: 

Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 4-21-408, 8-30-104, 8-30-316, 8-33-101, 8-33-105, and 8-50-901 et seq. 

Rules of the Department of Human Resources, Chapter 1120-06 and 1120-09-.02 

https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=5cb73d70-a71c-47bd-b97c-9ddf7fe3a4f8&nodeid=AAIABDAADAAQ&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAD%2FAAIABDAADAAQ&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-316.%2BDismissal%2C%2Bdemotion%2Bor%2Bsuspension%2Bfor%2Bcause.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4NH-00008-00&ecomp=L38_kkk&prid=6f6e47ff-f098-4877-99b2-0fb1b582194e
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=5cb73d70-a71c-47bd-b97c-9ddf7fe3a4f8&nodeid=AAIABDAADAAQ&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAD%2FAAIABDAADAAQ&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-316.%2BDismissal%2C%2Bdemotion%2Bor%2Bsuspension%2Bfor%2Bcause.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4NH-00008-00&ecomp=L38_kkk&prid=6f6e47ff-f098-4877-99b2-0fb1b582194e
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=a0f6d1e6-e347-4362-b54d-9538cb0cb769&nodeid=AAEAAVAAEAAI&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAE%2FAAEAAV%2FAAEAAVAAE%2FAAEAAVAAEAAI&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=4-21-408.%2BLeave%2Bfor%2Badoption%2C%2Bpregnancy%2C%2Bchildbirth%2Band%2Bnursing%2Ban%2Binfant.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4WYJ-10F0-R03J-K44X-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=55bbbc2f-977d-49fc-a1bb-e17eb7d21bc2
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=d8f94453-86b6-423c-8d8f-291f8efd3ec5&nodeid=AAIABDAABAAE&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAB%2FAAIABDAABAAE&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-104.%2BAuthority%2Bof%2Bcommissioner%2B%E2%80%94%2BSupervisory%2Bpersonnel%2B%E2%80%94%2BDesignees.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4M0-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=7275de38-833d-4aa2-86cb-fdf91fdabcc3
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=4efc6df9-9425-4f9b-9832-6ba88159e37e&nodeid=AAIABDAADAAQ&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAD%2FAAIABDAADAAQ&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-316.%2BDismissal%2C%2Bdemotion%2Bor%2Bsuspension%2Bfor%2Bcause.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4NH-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=7275de38-833d-4aa2-86cb-fdf91fdabcc3
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=ce37ecf7-a964-45cd-89dc-624a774410ba&nodeid=AAIABGAAB&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABG%2FAAIABGAAB&level=3&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-33-101.%2BChapter%2Bdefinitions.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4PB-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=7275de38-833d-4aa2-86cb-fdf91fdabcc3
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=25602c6a-2536-4dde-9d4a-09c278f9e74e&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4PG-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAIABGAAF&ecomp=w53dkkk&prid=c028376b-71a5-4b04-ae92-c733884ee0c3
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=51004ac7-e396-4e6b-a969-60f3a6b34dba&nodeid=AAIABWAAJAAB&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAJ%2FAAIABWAAJAAB&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-50-901.%2BPart%2Bdefinitions.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82SS-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=bd20f8cc-6384-46a6-87e5-8919a9cd3082
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-06.20230418.pdf
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-09.20230418.pdf
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CHAPTER 10 

EDUCATIONAL LEAVE 

 
10.01 EMPLOYEE ELIGIBILITY FOR EDUCATIONAL LEAVE WITH PAY 

 
Any full-time, regular employee may be eligible for educational leave if the 

education and training is directly applicable to the needs of the agency and/or to the 

position the employee holds or for which s/he is being trained. The employee may 

be eligible for continuing education from higher education, vocational, and 

professional institutions. 

 
10.02 PURPOSE 

 
The purpose of educational leave with pay for state employees is: 

A. To provide opportunities for education and training which will increase the 

proficiency of state employees in carrying out their present duties and 

responsibilities, as well as improving the quality of service to customers and 

stakeholders; 

 
B. To assist state employees in meeting required qualifications in occupational 

and professional fields where critical shortages exist; and 

 
C. To provide opportunities for continuing education and advanced study on a 

full-time basis and training for the purpose of maintaining course with rapid 

technological changes. 

 
Employees, in consultation with the agency, who have identified a specialized 

technical need, may select one of the following continuing education options: full- 

time education, part-time education, short-term learning, or after work hours 

education or learning. For more information, see DOHR Rule 1120-08-.04. 

https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-08.20230418.pdf
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10.03 COMPENSATION 

 
An employee may receive a maximum of seventy-five percent (75%) of the 

employee’s salary during the period of full-time education and training. When the 

state requires an employee to acquire additional formal education to accomplish the 

employee duties, the employee may be compensated at full salary with prior 

approval of the Commissioner of the Department of Human Resources and the 

Commissioner of the Department of Finance and Administration. 

 
If an employee receives salary assistance through fellowships, grants, or other 

outside sources, the employee’s salary during the education and training period 

shall not exceed the employee's regular salary. A notarized statement of salary 

funding and sources must be submitted to the Commissioner of the Department of 

Human Resources and the Commissioner of Finance and Administration for 

approval. 

 
10.04 SERVICE CREDITS TOWARD SALARY INCREASES DURING EDUCATIONAL LEAVE 

 
Time served by a state employee while on educational leave will be counted on 

a month-for-month basis in determining the date which an employee will be 

considered eligible for earned salary increases. 

 
10.05 EFFECT OF EDUCATIONAL LEAVE ON SERVICE TIME AND LONGEVITY 

 
During the period of absence on educational leave, the employee shall retain any 

accumulated annual and sick leave. The employee will continue to earn time toward 

longevity credit, if applicable, and for total years’ service. An employee on 

educational leave is considered to be on active pay status and eligible for longevity, 

if applicable, when due. 

 
10.06 EFFECT OF EDUCATIONAL LEAVE ON ANNUAL LEAVE AND SICK LEAVE 

 
An employee on educational leave with pay is not required to use his or her accrued 

leave nor does the employee accrue annual or sick leave during the period the 

employee is on educational leave. 
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10.07 EDUCATIONAL LEAVE WITHOUT PAY 

 
An employee may request leave without pay to continue the employee’s education 

on a full-time basis. This leave must be approved in advance by the agency’s 

appointing authority. Educational leave without pay will advance the employee's 

probation date (if applicable), as well as service and longevity anniversary dates. 

 

 
Authority: 

Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 8-30-104, 8-30-105 

Rules of the Department of Human Resources 1120-06-.17, 1120-08-.04, and 1120-08-.05 

https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=47eb7ecf-65fd-4f5b-9b9c-58ea9a6ace2a&nodeid=AAIABDAABAAE&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAB%2FAAIABDAABAAE&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-104.%2BAuthority%2Bof%2Bcommissioner%2B%E2%80%94%2BSupervisory%2Bpersonnel%2B%E2%80%94%2BDesignees.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4M0-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=88af4b61-1b04-4a04-93eb-1fa2ea391bd1
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=47eb7ecf-65fd-4f5b-9b9c-58ea9a6ace2a&nodeid=AAIABDAABAAE&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAB%2FAAIABDAABAAE&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-104.%2BAuthority%2Bof%2Bcommissioner%2B%E2%80%94%2BSupervisory%2Bpersonnel%2B%E2%80%94%2BDesignees.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4M0-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=88af4b61-1b04-4a04-93eb-1fa2ea391bd1
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=08ca947b-d51f-4a4d-88fb-ca31a5bfc449&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4M1-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAIABDAABAAF&ecomp=w53dkkk&prid=47eb7ecf-65fd-4f5b-9b9c-58ea9a6ace2a
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=08ca947b-d51f-4a4d-88fb-ca31a5bfc449&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4M1-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAIABDAABAAF&ecomp=w53dkkk&prid=47eb7ecf-65fd-4f5b-9b9c-58ea9a6ace2a
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-06.20230418.pdf
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-08.20230418.pdf
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-08.20230418.pdf
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CHAPTER 11 

MILITARY LEAVE 

The State of Tennessee is proud to support the service of its employees who are also 

members of the reserve components of the Armed Forces of the United States, 

including members of the Tennessee National Guard. Federal law provides certain 

employment related rights to these individuals under the Uniformed Services 

Employment and Reemployment Rights Act (USERRA). The State of Tennessee 

provides additional statutory rights and benefits to servicemembers. 

 

11.01- MILITARY LEAVE 

 
Military leave shall be granted to uniformed servicemembers who are absent 

from their position because of the performance of duty on a voluntary or 

involuntary basis in a uniformed service under competent authority. Such 

circumstances include, but may not be limited to: 

• Active duty and active duty for training 

• Initial active duty for training 

• Inactive duty training 

• Full-time National Guard duty 

• Absence from work for an examination to determine a person’s fitness 

for any of the above types of duty 

• Funeral honors duty performed by National Guard or Reserve members 

• Duty performed by intermittent employees of the National Disaster 

Medical System (NDMS), which is part of the Department of Health and 

Human Services, when activated for a public health emergency, and 

approved training to prepare for such service (added by Pub. L. 107-188, 

June 2002), (See Title 42, U.S. Code, Section 300hh-11(d)) 

• Activation by the Governor under Tennessee Code Annotated, § 58-1- 

108 

 

11.02 – ADVANCE NOTICE 

 
Under USERRA, employees (or an appropriate officer of the uniformed service in 

which such service is performed) are required to provide advance written or 

verbal notice of such service to their employer, with the following exceptions: 

https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-20/chapter-IX/part-1002/subpart-A
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-20/chapter-IX/part-1002/subpart-A
https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/PLAW-107publ188/pdf/PLAW-107publ188.pdf
https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/PLAW-107publ188/pdf/PLAW-107publ188.pdf
https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/USCODE-2021-title42/pdf/USCODE-2021-title42-chap6A-subchapXXVI-partB-sec300hh-11.pdf
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=894bfb5c-69d5-4cb9-93d3-75ec4e07a003&nodeid=ACFAABAABAAI&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FACF%2FACFAAB%2FACFAABAAB%2FACFAABAABAAI&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=58-1-108.%2BActive%2Bstate%2Bduty%2B%E2%80%94%2BIndividuals.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-Y4T0-R03J-W3D5-00008-00&ecomp=L38_kkk&prid=bb024b1f-ce26-490b-8c79-228e321c6a63
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=894bfb5c-69d5-4cb9-93d3-75ec4e07a003&nodeid=ACFAABAABAAI&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FACF%2FACFAAB%2FACFAABAAB%2FACFAABAABAAI&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=58-1-108.%2BActive%2Bstate%2Bduty%2B%E2%80%94%2BIndividuals.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-Y4T0-R03J-W3D5-00008-00&ecomp=L38_kkk&prid=bb024b1f-ce26-490b-8c79-228e321c6a63
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A) Military necessity1 prevents the giving of notice; or 

B) The giving of notice is otherwise impossible or unreasonable 

 

11.03 – MILITARY LEAVE WITH PAY 

 
A leave of absence with pay, not to exceed twenty (20) regularly scheduled 

workdays per calendar year, will be granted to all employees who are members 

of the reserve components of the Armed Forces of the United States, including 

members of the Tennessee National Guard, for all periods during which they 

are engaged in the performance of duties or training activities in the service of 

the State or the Federal Government while under competent orders.2 Military 

leave with pay will be granted for regularly scheduled monthly training for 

reservists and national guardsmen. Holidays and scheduled off duty days do 

not count toward the twenty (20) workdays allowed. Following the twenty (20) 

working days of full compensation, employees may use up to five (5) days of 

sick leave in lieu of annual leave for the purposes of not having to take leave 

without pay. 

United States Air Force Auxiliary Civil Air Patrol: 

A leave of absence with pay, not to exceed fifteen (15) working days, in any one 

calendar year, will be granted to employees who are members of the United 

States Air Force Auxiliary Civil Air Patrol and who participate in a training 

program for the civil air patrol, or in emergency and disaster services, as defined 

in Tennessee Code Annotated § 58-2-101, if the leave of absence is at the 

request of the employee’s wing commander or the wing commander’s 

designated representative in accordance with Tennessee Code Annotated § 42- 

7-102. 

 

 

 

1 “Military necessity” for purposes of the notice exception is defined as “a mission, operation,  

exercise or requirement that is classified, or a pending or ongoing mission, operation, exercise or  

requirement that may be compromised or otherwise adversely affected by public knowledge.” See 

Department of Defense Instruction 1205.12. 
2 In order to avail oneself of the paid leave benefit, the servicemember must provide the employer 

sufficient, credible documentation of the military service, such as competent orders, as soon as 

possible or practicable. 

https://www.esd.whs.mil/Portals/54/Documents/DD/issuances/dodi/120512p.pdf
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Call to Active State Duty with the Tennessee National Guard: 

The Governor has the power to order into active service all or any part of the 

Tennessee National Guard (under Tennessee Code Annotated § 58-1-106 or 

§58-1-108). Employees involuntarily called into active state duty by the 

Governor pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated § 58-1-106 shall receive leave 

with pay for the duration of the orders. In addition, the employee shall incur no 

loss of service time and continue to receive regular annual leave and sick leave. 

While on active duty, the employee’s absence should not count against leave 

provided under Tennessee Code Annotated § 8-33-109. The employee shall not 

lose benefits to which he or she is otherwise entitled. An employee returning 

from a period of state active duty under a call to active state duty as defined 

herein shall be reinstated to his or her previous position. 

 

11.04 - REPORTING BACK TO WORK 

 
An employee must be available to return to work within certain time limits 

following the conclusion of their service, depending upon the length of their 

service. These time limits are set forth in 20 C.F.R. § 1002.115. Management and 

supervisory personnel should always consult with human resources personnel 

and legal counsel, as appropriate, in order to ensure compliance with the law 

which intentionally affords certain flexibility for servicemembers upon their 

return from military service: 

 

A) For military service of one (1) to thirty (30) days or for a period of any 

length for the purpose of a fitness examination, the employee must 

report back to work by the beginning of the first regularly scheduled 

work period on the first calendar day following the completion of service, 

after allowance for safe travel home from the military duty location and 

an eight (8) hour rest period. 

 

B) For military service between thirty-one (31) and one hundred eighty 

(180) days, the employee is expected to submit an application for 

reemployment (written or verbal) no later than fourteen (14) days after 

completing service. 

 

C) For military service greater than one hundred eighty (180) days, the 

employee shall be allowed ninety (90) days to submit an application for 

reemployment (written and verbal).

https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=2d3e8aefaa1286cabc1f2b43d020d5bd&node=20%3A4.0.5.3.3&rgn=div5&se20.4.1002_1115
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This time may be extended as necessary to accommodate circumstances 

beyond the employee’s control that make reporting within the time period 

impossible or unreasonable. 

 

For applications for reemployment following service in excess of thirty (30) days, 

the employee may be requested to provide documentation to establish that the 

reemployment application is timely, the employee has not exceeded the five (5) 

year limit on the duration of service (subject to exceptions), and the employee’s 

separation or dismissal from service was not disqualifying. 

NOTE: The above provision does not apply if the employee is 

requesting military leave with pay, the employee MUST provide 

appropriate documentation showing completion of military service, 

regardless of the length of time. See 11.03 – Military Leave with Pay. 

 

Regardless of the employee's responsibility to provide documentation, the 

agency must promptly reinstate the employee upon application for 

reemployment pursuant to 20 C.F.R. §1002.180-181. 

 

A. Appointing Authority's Responsibility 

It is the appointing authority's responsibility to determine the employee's 

eligibility for military leave without pay. The employee shall be advised of 

the employee rights, responsibilities and benefits under this provision. Final 

separation forms shall be submitted to the Department of Human 

Resources if the employee exceeds the time limitation for reemployment as 

set forth in Tennessee Code Annotated § 8-33-102 or 38 U.S.C. § 4312. 

B. Retention and Continuation of Benefits 

During the period of leave without pay for military service, the employee 

shall retain the terms and conditions of employment-based benefits he or 

she had on the date uniformed service began, plus any terms and conditions 

of employment-based rights and benefits the employee would have 

attained if he or she had remained continuously employed in accordance 

with 20 C.F.R. §1002.210, included but not limited to all accumulated annual 

and sick leave, retirement status, and continue to earn service credit toward 

seniority and retirement. Time served on military leave without pay also 

https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=2d3e8aefaa1286cabc1f2b43d020d5bd&node=20%3A4.0.5.3.3&rgn=div5&se20.4.1002_1180
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counts as service time under the longevity program, if applicable. 

Continuation in the insurance program, if elected, shall be granted 

immediately and without conditions not in effect at the commencement of 

military leave. 

 

Federal law provides that service members must, at their request, be 

allowed to use any annual leave that had accrued before the beginning of 

their military service instead of unpaid leave. The supervisor, however, 

cannot force the employee to use annual leave for military service (38 U.S.C. 

§ 4316(d)). 

 

C. Reinstatement After Completion of Military Service 

If the employee’s service was less than ninety-one (91) days, the employee 

is entitled to reemployment in the job position that he or she would have 

attained with reasonable certainty if not for the absence due to service 

(known as the escalator position). 

 

If the employee’s service was more than ninety (90) days, the employee must 

be reemployed in the escalator position or a position of like seniority, status, 

and pay. The employee must be qualified for the position, and the employer 

must make reasonable efforts to help the employee become qualified. 

 

D. Additional Leave Related to a Service-Connected Disability 

In addition to the sick leave granted under T.C.A. § 8-50-802, an 

employee veteran with a service-connected disability of thirty percent 

(30%) or more shall receive thirty-six (36) hours of leave each year to be 

used to attend appointments related to the service-connected disability.  

 

Such leave remaining at the end of the year may not be carried forward 

to the subsequent year. The year for leave under this provision will run 

from July 1st to June 30th of each year. 

 

To receive approval, employees requesting such leave shall provide to 

their agency human resources office information related to the service-

connected disability and documentation related to the service-

connected disability appointments. Employees may submit a Service-

Connected Disability Leave Attestation Form along with proof of 

appointment in the event they are unable to obtain necessary 

documentation from their healthcare provider.  

https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/hr/documents/Service-ConnectedDisabilityLeaveAttestation_1.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/hr/documents/Service-ConnectedDisabilityLeaveAttestation_1.pdf
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Recordkeeping: Employee timesheets for sick leave under this chapter should 

be coded as Veterans Sick Leave (VSL). 

 

11.05 - MILITARY FUNERAL 

 
Excused absence up to four (4) hours per day may be granted to an employee 

who is a veteran to participate in a military funeral service as a pallbearer, 

member of a firing squad or Honor Guard. For this purpose only, a veteran is 

defined as one who has been separated from military service under 

honorable conditions and who served at least six (6) months during a period 

of war or presidential declaration necessitating mobilization of armed forces. 

 

Service members who are authorized to perform funeral honors duty under 10 

U.S.C. § 12503 or 32 U.S.C. § 115 shall be eligible for military leave to perform 

those duties, not limited to four (4) hours, and under the same conditions as 

any other type of military service as provided for in 20 C.F.R. § 1002.55. 
 

 

11.06 - DUTIES PERFORMED IN RECOGNITION OF “THE OPERATION” 

 
Employees called to active duty in support of a military operation undertaken 

in response to the terrorist attacks that occurred on September 11, 2001, and 

for all orders issued for operations Enduring Freedom, Joint Endeavor, Noble 

Eagle, New Dawn, and any subsequent operations ordered by the President or 

Governor, shall be entitled to special leave with partial pay for a period not to 

exceed one (1) year pursuant Executive Order. To the extent possible, partial 

pay shall be the difference between the employee’s regular state salary and the 

employee’s full time base military salary, with a minimum monthly amount 

sufficient to keep in full force and effect, all benefits that the employee had on 

the date of call to active military duty. This provision may be extended, 

restricted, or amended by Executive Order. 

 

Authority: 

Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 8-33-101, 8-33-109, 8-33-110, 42-7-102, 58-1-106, 58-1-108 

Rules of the Department of Human Resources 1120-06-.18 

38 U.S.C. § 4312, 20 C.F.R. § 1002, 

U.S. Department of Labor Guide to Uniformed Services Employment and 

Reemployment Rights Act 

https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=de54cdc4-a5c9-4815-87da-bffdaf4db4b7&nodeid=AAIABGAAB&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABG%2FAAIABGAAB&level=3&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-33-101.%2BChapter%2Bdefinitions.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4PB-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=56196d08-0ee4-46f8-8494-930800654c01
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=fcd893cf-6305-4da7-89bb-10d284628bdb&nodeid=AAIABGAAJ&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABG%2FAAIABGAAJ&level=3&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-33-109.%2BReservists%27%2Bleave%2Bof%2Babsence.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4PM-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=56196d08-0ee4-46f8-8494-930800654c01
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=2e25f0a6-3c23-488a-a109-583eaeab3445&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A536S-11T0-R03J-J36F-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAIABGAAK&ecomp=w53dkkk&prid=fcd893cf-6305-4da7-89bb-10d284628bdb
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=c8a2e539-0d93-48cb-b5cd-8cbbdf3a6dad&nodeid=ABQAAHAAC&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FABQ%2FABQAAH%2FABQAAHAAC&level=3&haschildren&populated=false&title=42-7-102.%2BLeave%2Bof%2Babsence%2Bwith%2Bpay%2B%E2%80%94%2BOther%2Brights%2Band%2Bbenefits.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8M-25S0-R03N-63SH-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=81f08c9a-c4c3-41c1-8d5b-c74b9513f2ab
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=0175c0b8-88b7-4823-b9e2-2ea87a9dfe33&nodeid=ACFAABAABAAG&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FACF%2FACFAAB%2FACFAABAAB%2FACFAABAABAAG&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=58-1-106.%2BActive%2Bstate%2Bduty%2B%E2%80%94%2BCompensation%2B%E2%80%94%2BReimbursement%2Bby%2Bcity%2Bor%2Bcounty.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-Y4T0-R03J-W3D3-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=81f08c9a-c4c3-41c1-8d5b-c74b9513f2ab
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=01726059-fff7-4e88-b57c-80fc627010be&nodeid=ACFAABAABAAI&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FACF%2FACFAAB%2FACFAABAAB%2FACFAABAABAAI&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=58-1-108.%2BActive%2Bstate%2Bduty%2B%E2%80%94%2BIndividuals.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-Y4T0-R03J-W3D5-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=f8a5d638-f019-40c3-8b34-4d9892e9d5ee
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-06.20190815.pdf
https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/USCODE-2022-title38/pdf/USCODE-2022-title38-partIII-chap43-subchapII-sec4312.pdf
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-20/chapter-IX/part-1002
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/vets/programs/userra/USERRA-Pocket-Guide#ch23
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/vets/programs/userra/USERRA-Pocket-Guide#ch23
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CHAPTER 12 

SPECIAL LEAVE WITHOUT PAY 

 
Special leave is leave without pay that is greater than the major portion of one (1) 

month. Special leave without pay may be granted to an employee at the discretion 

and upon recommendation of the appointing authority. Special leave must be 

requested in writing and be approved in advance by the appointing authority, where 

practical. If a request cannot be submitted and approved, the employee must 

receive verbal approval. Upon returning to work, the employee must submit a 

written request explaining the nature of the absence and provide, if requested, a 

physician's statement. This approval must be submitted to the Commissioner of 

the Department of Human Resources as a matter of record. Leave without pay, 

which constitutes a period of less than the major portion of a month, may be 

delegated by the appointing authority to the immediate supervisor and requires no 

special notification to the Commissioner of the Department of Human Resources. 

However, if the special leave is intermittent and constitutes the major portion of a 

month, a memorandum of explanation must be submitted to the Commissioner of 

the Department of Human Resources for approval. 

 
General examples for which special leave without pay may be granted are: 

 
A. Extended Illness – An employee must exhaust all accumulated annual, sick, and 

compensatory leave before going on special leave in this situation. 

 
B. Special Work Assignment - In cases of emergency or when the state and/or 

other governmental agency will profit by experience gained or the work 

performed, a state employee may be granted special leave without pay for 

special work assignments. 

C. Vacation - An employee may be granted special leave without pay for vacation 

purposes if approved by the appointing authority. However, the employee must 

exhaust all accumulated annual, sick, and compensatory leave before going on 

special leave in this situation. 

 
D. Seasonal - Seasonal leave is an enforced leave of absence without pay during a 

recess period from a permanent position which does not require the services of 

an employee for the entire year. 
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E. Leave of Absence for Officer of Employee Associations - The chief elected officer 

of any employee association that has payroll deductions for association dues 

shall be allowed up to two (2) years leave of absence without pay to perform the 

duties of such office. This leave of absence shall not apply to a chief elected 

officer who is under the executive grade pay plan or to state physicians or 

dentists. At the option of such officer, the officer may be paid for any accrued 

annual leave or any accrued annual leave may be carried forward to such time as 

the officer returns to their position in state government. In the event the officer 

elects to be paid for annual leave, the period of time for leave of absence without 

pay shall be accordingly reduced. 

 
At the end of the period of leave, any officer who has taken such leave shall be 

entitled to return to the officer’s former position at the same place of 

employment in the same class or rank in the division or department which such 

officer held prior to taking such leave. Any leave granted under this section shall 

not diminish any employee rights, including accrued but unused leave, longevity, 

or those arising from longevity or time in grade. 

 
Furthermore, an officer or an employee who belongs to any employee 

association which is qualified for payroll deduction for association dues as set 

forth in § 8-23-204 and who is a member of the official board of such association 

shall be entitled to receive administrative leave days in order to attend board 

meetings to conduct business of the association; provided, that such leave shall 

not exceed twelve (12) days in any calendar year. 

 
F. Leave for Athletic Competition - See Chapter 4, Leave of Absence for 

Participation in Certain Athletic Competitions. 

G. Family and Medical Leave - See Chapter 6. 
 
 
 

Authority: 

Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 8-30-104, 8-50-109, 8-50-801, and 8-50-110 

Rules of the Department of Human Resources 1120-06-.14 

https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=b61742b6-6c65-4cca-9457-82ce2ac0e43f&nodeid=AAIABDAABAAE&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAB%2FAAIABDAABAAE&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-104.%2BAuthority%2Bof%2Bcommissioner%2B%E2%80%94%2BSupervisory%2Bpersonnel%2B%E2%80%94%2BDesignees.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4M0-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=a5a6f2b0-fd9b-43d3-b16d-6e88ff590fcc
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=779b5bc1-0fe2-4608-8b82-54c93c61d9dd&nodeid=AAIABWAABAAJ&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAB%2FAAIABWAABAAJ&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-50-109.%2BLeave%2Bof%2Babsence%2Bfor%2Bofficers%2Bof%2Bemployee%2Bassociations.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82RB-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=0f5aea81-654c-4a05-810d-d2604725186f
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=8308f0c6-6ab0-450d-89ba-78fba95e78c0&nodeid=AAIABWAAIAAB&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAI%2FAAIABWAAIAAB&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-50-801.%2BAnnual%2Bleave.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82SB-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=0f5aea81-654c-4a05-810d-d2604725186f
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=d5f405a0-55b3-4161-ad6c-8df8aee3abca&nodeid=AAIABWAABAAK&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAB%2FAAIABWAABAAK&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-50-110.%2BUse%2Bof%2Bannual%2Bleave%2Bto%2Battend%2Bstatewide%2Bmeeting%2Bof%2Bemployee%2Bassociation.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82RC-00008-00&ecomp=L38_kkk&prid=4393e109-378c-4f44-9458-edd305d7cd94
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-06.20230418.pdf
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CHAPTER 13 

PARENTAL LEAVE 

13.01 - PARENTAL LEAVE ELIGIBILITY 

 
Any employee who has been employed in state service for at least twelve (12) 

consecutive months as a full-time employee may be absent from employment 

for a period not to exceed four (4) months for adoption, pregnancy, childbirth, 

and nursing the infant. The four (4) month period shall include leave required 

before and after the birth of a child. With regard to adoption, the four (4) month 

period shall begin at the time an employee receives custody of the child. 

 
Any employee who has less than one (1) year of service may be granted parental 

leave for a period not to exceed thirty (30) workdays following the birth of a child. 

 
Leave may be taken continuously or intermittently. However, leave entitlement 
expires at the end of the twelve (12) month period beginning on the date of 
the  birth or placement. Parental leave for these reasons must be concluded 
within this time period. 

 
13.02 - PAID PARENTAL LEAVE 

 
Employees who are on parental leave for the following reasons must be granted 

absence from work with pay for a period of time equal to six (6) workweeks during 

a twelve (12) month period:  

 

A. Birth of the employee’s child, or 

B. The placement of a child with the employee for adoption. 
 

Paid parental leave must be paid at one hundred percent (100%) of the employee's 

salary. The leave must not be charged to sick, annual, or other leave the employee 

may have accumulated. An eligible employee must not be granted more than six (6) 

workweeks of paid parental leave during a twelve-month period, even if there is 

more than one qualifying birth or adoption. Leave taken in excess of the six (6) 

workweeks of paid parental leave will be charged to an employee’s accumulated 

leave balance or will be designated as leave without pay if there is no balance. Paid 

parental leave does not need to be taken consecutively. However, employees who 

wish to take paid parental leave – consecutively or otherwise - must follow the notice 

requirements set out in Section 13.03 for each period of absence. Paid parental  
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leave must be used within twelve (12) months of the qualifying birth or adoption. For  

the purpose of calculating service anniversary dates, this absence from work is 

considered full-time employment.  

 

To the extent permitted by law, paid parental leave shall run concurrent with any 

leave taken under the FMLA and T.C.A. § 4-21-408. 

 
13.03 EMPLOYEE NOTICE REQUIREMENTS 

 
An employee shall provide at least thirty (30) days advance notice prior to the 

date the leave is to begin. In situations where thirty (30) day notification is not 

possible because the employee has no knowledge of the exact time when the 

leave will need to begin or because of change or circumstance or medical 

emergency, notice shall be provided as soon as reasonably possible, normally 

within one (1)   or two (2) business days of when the employee knows the date 

leave will be needed. An employee who gives at least thirty (30) days advance 

notice of their  anticipated date of departure for parental leave, length of parental 

leave, and intention to return to full-time employment after parental leave shall  

be restored to their previous or a similar position with the same status, pay, 

length    of service credit and seniority, whenever applicable, as of the date of 

leave. 

 
Employees should request parental leave in Edison through Employee Self 
Service by navigating to HCM > Self Service > Time Reporting > Report Time > 
Request FMLA Leave. Employees are required to provide the need for the leave 
and the anticipated timing and duration of the leave. 

 
In instances where the employee does not enter the request in Edison, but 

instead notifies the supervisor of the need for parental leave, the supervisor 

shall refer the employee to the agency FMLA Coordinator, if applicable. The 

FMLA Coordinator will request additional information to determine if the 

employee is requesting parental leave specifically, obtain the necessary details 

of the leave being taken, and enter the request in Edison. 

 
Benefits and rights provided shall not be forfeited if the employee is prevented 

from giving advance notice due to a medical emergency which necessitates the 

parental leave beginning earlier than anticipated or if the notice of adoption was 

received less than thirty (30) days in advance. 
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If the employee’s position is so unique that, with reasonable effort, the position 

cannot be filled temporarily, as determined by the Commissioner, or if the 

employee has utilized the period of parental leave to actively pursue other 

employment opportunities or has worked part-time or full-time for another 

employer, reinstatement is not required. In such case, the employee shall be 

notified of the decision not to reinstate. 

 

 
13.04 - COORDINATION WITH FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE (FMLA) 

 
If leave qualifies for parental leave, paid parental leave, and/or FMLA leave, the 

leave used counts against the employee's entitlement under any applicable laws. 

Parental leave, paid parental leave, and FMLA leave shall  run concurrently to the 

extent permitted by law. 

 
13.05 - TYPES OF LEAVE PERMISSIBLE FOR PARENTAL LEAVE 

 
A. Paid Parental Leave 

Up to six (6) workweeks of parental leave may be designated as Paid Parental 
Leave, if eligible. 
 

B. Annual Leave 

A state employee may use annual leave for parental leave absences for a 

period not to exceed the state employee's accumulated sick leave and 

annual leave balance, or twelve (12) weeks, whichever is less. 

 
C. Compensatory Time 

Compensatory time may be used during a parental leave of absence. 

D. Sick Leave 

A state employee may use sick leave for parental leave absences for a period 

not to exceed the state employee's accumulated sick leave and annual leave 

balance, or twelve (12) weeks, whichever is less. In order to be eligible to use 

sick leave, the state employee must provide written notice with a statement 

from the attending physician indicating the expected date of confinement. 

Use of sick leave prior to and 12 weeks after delivery is subject to ordinary 

rules regarding the use of sick leave, i.e., the employee must be unable to 

work or must be using sick leave to care for a sick or disabled family 

member. Sick leave may be used during a parental leave of absence for 

adoption up to 12 weeks after the employee receives custody of the child.  
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All sick leave used during a parental leave of absence is coded as Parental 

Sick Leave (MPSL) in the attendance and leave reporting system. 

 
E. Parental Leave Without Pay 

Special leave without pay may be used during a parental leave of absence 

only when an employee has exhausted all other sick, annual, or 

compensatory leave. 

 
F. Family and Medical Leave 

See Chapter 6, entitled FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE ACT. 

 

Authority: 

Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 4-21-408, 8-30-104, 8-30-105, 8-50-802, 8-50-806, 8-50-813, and 8-50-
814. 

DOHR Rule 1120-06-.20 

https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=a5df7ac3-052e-4a81-a4c7-326e14b89d37&nodeid=AAEAAVAAEAAI&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAE%2FAAEAAV%2FAAEAAVAAE%2FAAEAAVAAEAAI&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=4-21-408.%2BLeave%2Bfor%2Badoption%2C%2Bpregnancy%2C%2Bchildbirth%2Band%2Bnursing%2Ban%2Binfant.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4WYJ-10F0-R03J-K44X-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=1ec832e5-b7e9-45b2-9ceb-bca923094cc0
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=a5df7ac3-052e-4a81-a4c7-326e14b89d37&nodeid=AAEAAVAAEAAI&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAE%2FAAEAAV%2FAAEAAVAAE%2FAAEAAVAAEAAI&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=4-21-408.%2BLeave%2Bfor%2Badoption%2C%2Bpregnancy%2C%2Bchildbirth%2Band%2Bnursing%2Ban%2Binfant.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4WYJ-10F0-R03J-K44X-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=1ec832e5-b7e9-45b2-9ceb-bca923094cc0
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=6ed2c3f2-2c00-467a-843e-bcfd5355a943&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4M0-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAIABDAABAAE&ecomp=w53dkkk&prid=dd305618-86e7-47ee-98a6-437bd0515de1
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=6ed2c3f2-2c00-467a-843e-bcfd5355a943&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4M0-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAIABDAABAAE&ecomp=w53dkkk&prid=dd305618-86e7-47ee-98a6-437bd0515de1
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=dd305618-86e7-47ee-98a6-437bd0515de1&nodeid=AAIABDAABAAF&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAB%2FAAIABDAABAAF&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-105.%2BRules%2Bhave%2Bforce%2Band%2Beffect%2Bof%2Blaw.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4M1-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=1ec832e5-b7e9-45b2-9ceb-bca923094cc0
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=dd305618-86e7-47ee-98a6-437bd0515de1&nodeid=AAIABDAABAAF&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAB%2FAAIABDAABAAF&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-105.%2BRules%2Bhave%2Bforce%2Band%2Beffect%2Bof%2Blaw.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4M1-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=1ec832e5-b7e9-45b2-9ceb-bca923094cc0
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=21991540-cd34-4d24-8b6f-2588ce91eeac&nodeid=AAIABWAAIAAC&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAI%2FAAIABWAAIAAC&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-50-802.%2BSick%2Bleave.&indicator=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A5SCF-WBW0-R03K-506N-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=1ec832e5-b7e9-45b2-9ceb-bca923094cc0
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=21991540-cd34-4d24-8b6f-2588ce91eeac&nodeid=AAIABWAAIAAC&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAI%2FAAIABWAAIAAC&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-50-802.%2BSick%2Bleave.&indicator=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A5SCF-WBW0-R03K-506N-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=1ec832e5-b7e9-45b2-9ceb-bca923094cc0
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=adb23ec9-2bba-412b-b00e-ef92bb1aafad&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A5SCF-WPV0-R03K-410K-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAIABWAAIAAG&ecomp=w53dkkk&prid=aeb7c59c-4d10-4cff-96bc-f0760b7e3cf7
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=adb23ec9-2bba-412b-b00e-ef92bb1aafad&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A5SCF-WPV0-R03K-410K-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAIABWAAIAAG&ecomp=w53dkkk&prid=aeb7c59c-4d10-4cff-96bc-f0760b7e3cf7
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=98caee5b-96dc-452a-b979-208d9f2fcf07&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A688G-22N0-R03K-G080-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAIABWAAIAAN&ecomp=g2vckkk&prid=be5e9c9e-e26c-4a73-a00d-cc453b6e57f3
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=12e051d2-0efd-4a4a-90c2-8d60fc36fc90&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A68DS-12M0-R03K-73WP-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAIABWAAIAAO&ecomp=g2vckkk&prid=98caee5b-96dc-452a-b979-208d9f2fcf07
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CHAPTER 14 

DIVISION OF CLAIMS ADMINISTRATION ABSENCE 

 
14.01 - ELIGIBLE EMPLOYEES 

 
An employee injured while on duty has the option of being placed immediately 

on leave without pay and upon approval drawing lost time compensation through 

the Division of Claims Administration or using sick and/or annual leave and then 

drawing lost time compensation. 

 
14.02 - ELIGIBILITY FOR LOST TIME COMPENSATION 

 
To be eligible for lost time compensation from the Division of Claims 

Administration, an employee must be in a without pay status due to injury or job-

related illness for more than seven (7) calendar days. If the employee is unable to 

work after more than fourteen (14) calendar days, lost time compensation from the 

Division of Claims Administration will be paid effective from the first day the 

employee is in a without pay status following the injury. Employees may elect to 

use sick, annual, or compensatory time in lieu of lost time. If the employee elects to 

use accrued time they will be unable to, at a later date, buy back the time they have 

used for Division of Claims Administration Absence. 

 
14.03 - RETURN FROM LEAVE 

 
When the employee is no longer compensated by the Division of Claims 

Administration and returns to normal work duties, the agency must return the 

employee to active status and submit documentation to adjust the employee 

service and longevity dates along with a doctor's statement stating that the 

employee is able to return to work. 

 
14.04 - EFFECT ON ANNIVERSARY DATES 

 
Employees should be given credit for time compensated by the Division of Claims 

Administration as if the employee were in an active pay status. Even though time 

served should not advance the employee's longevity (if eligible), salary, or service 

anniversary date, these dates are automatically advanced each month that the 

employee is not in active pay status the major portion of the month. When the 
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employee returns to active status, documentation must be submitted to the 

Agency Resource Center of the Department of Human Resources to correct these 

dates. 

 
14.05 - DISABLING ASSAULT INJURIES IN THE LINE OF DUTY 

 
Retention on regular payroll - conditions are as follows: 

 
A. If an employee is injured in the line of duty as a result of an assault and 

the injury results in the employee’s inability to perform regular duties, whether 

such disability is temporary or permanent, the appointing authority, with prior 

approval of the Commissioners of Finance and Administration and Human 

Resources, shall retain the injured employee on the regular payroll for a period 

not to exceed twenty-eight (28) calendar days without requiring the employee 

to use any sick leave benefits. [ Recordkeeping: This leave should be coded as 

Assault Pay (ASSLT) on the employee's attendance and leave record.] 

 
B. The length of time an injured employee will be permitted to remain on the 

regular payroll shall be based upon a written statement from the attending 

physician that the employee is unable to perform regular duties. However, in 

no event shall the employee’s period exceed twenty-eight (28) calendar days 

from the date of the injury. 

 
C. In circumstances where an injured employee makes a claim for compensation 

for the injury to the Division of Claims Administration (Division), the appointing 

authority is authorized to compensate the employee for the difference between 

the employee's weekly salary at the time of the injury and the weekly 

compensation for such injury as determined by the Division for the period 

of time between the date of the injury and the effective date of the action of 

the Division. In no case will this compensation exceed ninety (90) calendar 

days. This provision shall not apply to employees who have failed to file a 

claim with the Division within ten (10) calendar days after the date of the injury 

causing the temporary or permanent disability. The agency continues to pay 

the employee on the regular payroll and the Division will reimburse the agency 

for the period between twenty-eight (28) and ninety (90) days. Assault pay may 

be used intermittently for up to the ninety (90) calendar day limit. 
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D. In the event that the injured employee receives any monetary recovery from 

or settlement with a third party where the state receives any part of the 

recovery in compensation for payments made, the state shall pay a pro rata 

share. This share will be based on the percentage of the recovery received, and 

of any attorney’s fees paid or agreed to by the injured employee that were 

made to secure such settlement or recovery. 

 
E. Nothing in this section shall be construed to prevent an injured employee from 

requesting permission to use any sick leave benefits. 

 
F. Whenever a commissioned member of the Tennessee Department of Safety, 

a driver's license examiner, commissioned instructor employed at the 

Tennessee law enforcement training academy, correctional officer, or youth 

service officer is injured in the line of duty and such injury disables him or 

her from performing the assigned duties of the position, whether such 

disability is temporary or permanent, it shall be lawful for the appointing 

authority with the approval of the Governor and the Attorney  General  of the 

State, to retain such injured disabled employee upon the regular payroll until 

the employee claim for compensation for such disability is determined by the 

Division of Claims Administration. 

 
 

 
Authority: 

Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 4-6-148, 4-7-109, 8-50-111, and 68-102-402 

DOHR Rule 1120-06-.22 

https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=c5fe4428-32d8-4e16-b2c6-45d112e292ac&nodeid=AAEAAGAABABW&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAE%2FAAEAAG%2FAAEAAGAAB%2FAAEAAGAABABW&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=4-6-148.%2BTemporary%2Bretention%2Bof%2Bdisabled%2Bcorrectional%2Bofficer%2Bor%2Byouth%2Bservice%2Bworker.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A52W6-W0S0-R03N-X2SH-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=1a6ff4cc-a296-44cd-b26a-ce7e26a018e1
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=c5fe4428-32d8-4e16-b2c6-45d112e292ac&nodeid=AAEAAGAABABW&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAE%2FAAEAAG%2FAAEAAGAAB%2FAAEAAGAABABW&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=4-6-148.%2BTemporary%2Bretention%2Bof%2Bdisabled%2Bcorrectional%2Bofficer%2Bor%2Byouth%2Bservice%2Bworker.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A52W6-W0S0-R03N-X2SH-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=1a6ff4cc-a296-44cd-b26a-ce7e26a018e1
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=97eaa5c1-f79b-40a1-b8eb-a53b6916aeb8&nodeid=AAEAAHAABAAJ&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAE%2FAAEAAH%2FAAEAAHAAB%2FAAEAAHAABAAJ&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=4-7-109.%2BTemporary%2Bretention%2Bof%2Bdisabled%2Bmember%2Bon%2Bpayroll.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4WYJ-1080-R03N-W3VK-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=1a6ff4cc-a296-44cd-b26a-ce7e26a018e1
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=97eaa5c1-f79b-40a1-b8eb-a53b6916aeb8&nodeid=AAEAAHAABAAJ&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAE%2FAAEAAH%2FAAEAAHAAB%2FAAEAAHAABAAJ&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=4-7-109.%2BTemporary%2Bretention%2Bof%2Bdisabled%2Bmember%2Bon%2Bpayroll.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4WYJ-1080-R03N-W3VK-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=1a6ff4cc-a296-44cd-b26a-ce7e26a018e1
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=2293546c-4de0-482c-990a-a23ca7daf988&nodeid=AAIABWAABAAL&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAB%2FAAIABWAABAAL&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-50-111.%2BDisabling%2Bassault%2Binjuries%2Bin%2Bthe%2Bline%2Bof%2Bduty%2B%E2%80%94%2BRetention%2Bon%2Bregular%2Bpayroll%2B%E2%80%94%2BConditions.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82RD-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=1a6ff4cc-a296-44cd-b26a-ce7e26a018e1
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=2293546c-4de0-482c-990a-a23ca7daf988&nodeid=AAIABWAABAAL&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAB%2FAAIABWAABAAL&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-50-111.%2BDisabling%2Bassault%2Binjuries%2Bin%2Bthe%2Bline%2Bof%2Bduty%2B%E2%80%94%2BRetention%2Bon%2Bregular%2Bpayroll%2B%E2%80%94%2BConditions.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82RD-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=1a6ff4cc-a296-44cd-b26a-ce7e26a018e1
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=4129e83b-b955-4090-98d7-dd2d8f172da6&nodeid=ACPAACAACAAEAAC&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FACP%2FACPAAC%2FACPAACAAC%2FACPAACAACAAE%2FACPAACAACAAEAAC&level=5&haschildren&populated=false&title=68-102-402.%2BRetention%2Bof%2Binjured%2Bmember%2Bon%2Bpayroll.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X9B-PFK0-R03N-90XT-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=1a6ff4cc-a296-44cd-b26a-ce7e26a018e1
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=4129e83b-b955-4090-98d7-dd2d8f172da6&nodeid=ACPAACAACAAEAAC&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FACP%2FACPAAC%2FACPAACAAC%2FACPAACAACAAE%2FACPAACAACAAEAAC&level=5&haschildren&populated=false&title=68-102-402.%2BRetention%2Bof%2Binjured%2Bmember%2Bon%2Bpayroll.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X9B-PFK0-R03N-90XT-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=1a6ff4cc-a296-44cd-b26a-ce7e26a018e1
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CHAPTER 15 

TERMINAL LEAVE FOR RETIREES AND DEATH BENEFITS OF 

DECEASED EMPLOYEES 

The unused, accrued annual leave balance of a retiring employee is called terminal 

leave. 

 
15.01 ELIGIBLE EMPLOYEES 

 
When an employee retires from state service, s/he is eligible to receive payment for 

the unused portion of their annual leave, except in the case of termination for gross 

misconduct. Any employee who is dismissed or terminated from state service for 

gross misconduct, who retires from state service to avoid termination for gross 

misconduct, or who was guilty of gross misconduct prior to leaving state service is 

ineligible to receive compensation for any accrued annual leave as terminal leave, 

including in a lump sum payment. 

 
In this situation, however, the employee must be paid for all accumulated 

compensatory leave in a lump sum payment. 

 
15.02 EMPLOYEES SUBJECT TO STATE RETIREMENT 

 
All employees who are members of the state retirement system through the 

Tennessee Consolidated Retirement System and who are entitled to terminal leave, 

must be compensated for their terminal leave prior to the effective date of the 

employee’s retirement. 

 
15.03 BEGINNING OF TERMINAL LEAVE 

 
Terminal leave begins the workday immediately following the employee’s last full 

workday. If the employee has a compensatory leave balance, this balance must be 

paid first. Terminal leave will begin once the compensatory leave is exhausted. 

Employees on an irregular work schedule should revert to a regular work schedule. 
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15.04 SATURDAYS, SUNDAYS AND OFFICIAL HOLIDAYS 

 
In establishing an employee's terminal leave period, credit must be allowed during 

the terminal leave period for Saturdays, Sundays and holidays in the same manner 

as though regular annual leave was being considered. 

 
15.05 DETERMINING THE END OF THE TERMINAL LEAVE PERIOD 

 
The effective date of retirement will be the day after the employee exhausts 

all terminal leave. 

 
15.06 PAYING FOR A HOLIDAY WHILE ON TERMINAL LEAVE PERIOD 

 
In order for an employee to receive pay for a holiday while on terminal leave, there 

must be at least a balance of one tenth (.1) hour of terminal leave on the first 

workday immediately following the holiday. 

 
15.07 PAYING FOR EXCESS TERMINAL LEAVE 

 
Employees accumulate leave in excess of the maximum allowable accrual for their 

service group for up to 12 months before the leave transfers to sick leave. The 

transfer date directly follows completion of the employee’s hire month. 

Compensatory leave is considered work time and must be exhausted prior to 

the transfer date. If the employee separates (i.e., begins a terminal leave period) 

prior to this transfer the employee must be paid for the total amount of leave in 

the form of terminal leave. 

 
15.08 LONGEVITY PAYMENT ON TERMINAL LEAVE 

 
Retiring employees who are receiving compensation on their longevity anniversary 

date are eligible for longevity payments, if eligible, even if they are on terminal 

leave. 

 
15.09 MANDATORY LUMP SUM PAYMENT OF DEATH BENEFITS 

 
The payment of unused, accrued annual, sick and compensatory leave balances for 

deceased employees will be made in lump sum. Deceased employees should be 
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separated from the payroll and personnel systems. Deceased employees will not 

be placed on terminal leave, allowing leave balances to diminish; rather, agencies 

should submit a supplemental request for lump sum payment of death benefits to 

the Department of Human Resources Agency Resource Center. 

 
Deceased employees will receive service credit and their beneficiaries or estates 

will be paid for holidays and longevity (if applicable), as if the deceased employees' 

annual and compensatory leave had been allowed to continue as terminal leave. 

Retirement credit will be granted for the sick leave balance accrued prior to death 

if the surviving beneficiary is due a benefit. 

 
If the deceased employee was under a State Health Insurance Plan at the time of 

their death, the employee’s surviving eligible dependent(s) who were covered under 

the State Health Insurance Plan at the time of the employee’s death will continue to 

receive the same coverage for six (6) months at no cost to the dependent(s)or to 

agencies. At the end of the six (6) month period, the dependent(s) will automatically 

receive notification of eligibility to be insured through the Consolidated Omnibus 

Budget Reconciliation Act (COBRA). 

 
Employee wages earned through the time of death should be processed on payroll 

as regular wages paid to the deceased employee. In accordance with state law, the 

State of Tennessee is authorized to provide payment of up to $10,000 in wages to 

a surviving spouse of a decedent, but if none are identified, then to the surviving 

children of the decedent as tenants in common. The $10,000 payment should be 

paid if funds are available from the wages earned through the time of death. This 

payment cannot be made from accumulated leave balances. Calculations should 

be made to determine if the payment can be made. A signed and notarized request 

for payment must be made prior to the processing of the payroll for the pay period 

in question. Tenn. Code Ann. § 30-2-103 

 

15.10 BENEFICIARY FOR LEAVE BALANCES 

 
An employee may designate a beneficiary to receive payment for unused, 

accrued sick, annual and compensatory leave balances upon the employee’s 

death. The beneficiary for leave balances will be the same person designated as 

the beneficiary for receipt of retirement benefits under the Tennessee 

Consolidated Retirement System, unless the employee designates a different 

person. 

https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=27c18676-3423-42bc-8137-f33da837adc6&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8J-7990-R03K-Y45K-00008-00&pdcontentcomponentid=234179&pdteaserkey=sr0&pditab=allpods&ecomp=c5w_kkk&earg=sr0&prid=d5a183e5-f1cb-450a-bba3-be240147bbbf
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An employee wishing to designate a beneficiary to receive the unused, accrued 

leave balances should prepare a written statement indicating who should receive 

payment upon the employee’s death. The statement should be signed by the 

employee, notarized, and returned to the employee’s agency human resources 

department. The written statement will become part of the employee's personnel 

file. Tenn. Code Ann. § 8-50-808 

 
If there is no designated beneficiary, the payment of last wages will be 

made to the employee's estate or in accordance with state law. Tenn. Code 

Ann. § 30-2-103 TERMINATION OF BENEFITS 

 
During the period of terminal leave, an employee will not: 

 
A. Be in a leave accruing status on the date that terminal leave begins. 

 
B. Be eligible for salary increases or salary adjustments. The salary rate in effect 

on the last day worked will be used in determining terminal payment. 

 
Authority: 

Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 8-50-807, 8-50-808, and 30-2-103 

Rules of the Department of Human Resources 1120-06-.23 and 1120-06-.24 

https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=f277250d-ca4d-476b-bad5-858862820d07&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82SK-00008-00&pdcontentcomponentid=234179&pdteaserkey=sr0&pditab=allpods&ecomp=c5w_kkk&earg=sr0&prid=b81652fe-69ca-45b5-9570-4f968c867880
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=27c18676-3423-42bc-8137-f33da837adc6&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8J-7990-R03K-Y45K-00008-00&pdcontentcomponentid=234179&pdteaserkey=sr0&pditab=allpods&ecomp=c5w_kkk&earg=sr0&prid=d5a183e5-f1cb-450a-bba3-be240147bbbf
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=27c18676-3423-42bc-8137-f33da837adc6&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8J-7990-R03K-Y45K-00008-00&pdcontentcomponentid=234179&pdteaserkey=sr0&pditab=allpods&ecomp=c5w_kkk&earg=sr0&prid=d5a183e5-f1cb-450a-bba3-be240147bbbf
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=5a6a24a2-8295-490e-8475-ecc17cfbbc6e&nodeid=AAIABWAAIAAH&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAI%2FAAIABWAAIAAH&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-50-807.%2BTermination%2Bcompensation.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82SJ-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=7275de38-833d-4aa2-86cb-fdf91fdabcc3
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=766cdbc5-a233-4130-89c7-64342d0acdf8&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82SK-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAIABWAAIAAI&ecomp=w53dkkk&prid=5a6a24a2-8295-490e-8475-ecc17cfbbc6e
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=dbca1106-f78b-4e13-80fc-44d170f9f330&nodeid=ABEAACAABAAD&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FABE%2FABEAAC%2FABEAACAAB%2FABEAACAABAAD&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=30-2-103.%2BDesignation%2Bof%2Bbeneficiary%2B%E2%80%94%2BWages%2Band%2Bdebts%2Bowed%2Bdeceased%2Bemployee.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8J-7990-R03K-Y45K-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=7275de38-833d-4aa2-86cb-fdf91fdabcc3
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-06.20230418.pdf
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-06.20230418.pdf
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CHAPTER 16 

 

TEMPORARY EMPLOYMENT OF RETIRED STATE EMPLOYEES 

Retired employees may return to temporary employment under certain conditions 

as outlined in the temporary employment form obtained from the Retirement 

Division, Treasury Department. The retired employee may accept employment 

with a covered employer for up to one hundred and twenty (120) days during a 

twelve (12) month period. 

 
The appointment type will be part-time. Appointments will be at an hourly rate 

of pay. Employees must be separated after one hundred and twenty (120) working 

days in positive pay status or after twelve (12) consecutive months, whichever 

comes first. 

 
Retired employees are not eligible for longevity payments, with the exception of 

the retired employees who are eligible for longevity payments under the 

authority of Tennessee Code Annotated § 8-23-206, if initially hired prior to June 30, 

2015. 

 
 

 
Authority: 

Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 8-23-206 and 8-36-805 

DOHR Rule 1120-02-.11 

https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=ea9c9eb6-e747-4345-8546-5ae51f7c7402&nodeid=AAIAAXAACAAG&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIAAX%2FAAIAAXAAC%2FAAIAAXAACAAG&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-23-206.%2BLongevity%2Bpay.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4WXC-56K0-R03M-24K0-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=b0d736be-51ab-4411-8800-588b2de03ecf
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=ea9c9eb6-e747-4345-8546-5ae51f7c7402&nodeid=AAIAAXAACAAG&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIAAX%2FAAIAAXAAC%2FAAIAAXAACAAG&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-23-206.%2BLongevity%2Bpay.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4WXC-56K0-R03M-24K0-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=b0d736be-51ab-4411-8800-588b2de03ecf
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=acd6b04e-a497-400f-af62-c685b6c6d4f7&nodeid=AAIABJAAIAAF&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABJ%2FAAIABJAAI%2FAAIABJAAIAAF&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-36-805.%2BReemployment%2Bpermitted.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X1B-F280-R03M-M32Y-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=b0d736be-51ab-4411-8800-588b2de03ecf
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=acd6b04e-a497-400f-af62-c685b6c6d4f7&nodeid=AAIABJAAIAAF&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABJ%2FAAIABJAAI%2FAAIABJAAIAAF&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-36-805.%2BReemployment%2Bpermitted.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X1B-F280-R03M-M32Y-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=b0d736be-51ab-4411-8800-588b2de03ecf
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-02.20230418.pdf
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CHAPTER 17 

OVERTIME 

 
Overtime is approved time worked in excess of the employee's normal work week 

schedule for which extra compensation is authorized. Depending on the number 

of hours physically worked in the work week and the type of work the employee 

performs, overtime compensation may be in the form of cash at the employee's 

regular rate of pay, cash at the employee's premium rate of pay (one and one-half 

(1.5) times the regular rate) or in equivalent time off (compensatory time). 

 
17.01 OVERTIME AUTHORIZATION 

 
When it becomes necessary for employees to work overtime, the appointing 

authority for that agency, or officially designated supervisors and managers, may 

authorize overtime work in addition to the employee's regular work schedule. The 

employee is expected to work overtime when the job requires this extra work 

and the supervisor gives a reasonable job assignment. If an employee refuses to 

work overtime in this situation, he or she may be subject to disciplinary action. 

 
17.02 NON-EXEMPT EMPLOYEE OVERTIME ELIGIBILITY 

 
Non-exempt employees (employees covered by the overtime  provisions of the Fair 

Labor Standards Act) must be paid in cash for all overtime, with the following 

exceptions: 

 
A. Compensatory time may be awarded in lieu of cash, at the request of the 

appointing authority and approval of the Commissioner of Human Resources, 

if sufficient funds are not available to pay cash. In this situation, an agreement 

or understanding with the affected employees to accept compensatory time in 

lieu of cash must be reached prior to the performance of work. This agreement 

or understanding must be communicated in writing and must be documented by 

the agency. 

 
B. Non-exempt employees may request compensatory time in lieu of cash 

payment. A written request from the employee approved by the employee's 

supervisor is required. Employees requesting this exception cannot change 
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back and forth from cash to compensatory time more frequently than once 

per week. An agency's appointing authority may have internal policies that 

further restrict the number of times employees may change back and forth 

between cash and compensatory time. 

 
Non-exempt employees are paid at their regular hourly rate for hours actually 

worked in excess of their regular thirty-seven and one-half (37.5) hour weekly 

schedule up to forty (40.0) hours in a work week. Employees are paid at the 

premium rate (one and one-half times the regular rate) for hours actually worked 

in excess of forty (40.0) in a work week. Non-duty time spent on paid leave will 

be counted as compensable hours earned but will not be counted as hours 

actually worked. An employee must physically work forty (40.0) hours in the work 

week before premium overtime is due. Overtime cannot be paid until the work 

week is completed. This applies even in work weeks split between two different 

pay periods. 

 
When compensatory time is granted in lieu of cash, non-exempt employees receive 

hour-for-hour time off (regular compensatory time) for overtime hours worked 

between thirty-seven and one-half (37.5) and forty (40.0) in a work week and one 

and one-half times the number of hours worked (premium compensatory time) 

for all hours worked in excess of forty (40.0) in a work week. 

 
17.03 EXEMPT EMPLOYEE (NON-EXECUTIVE LEVEL) OVERTIME ELIGIBILITY 

 
Exempt employees are those whose primary duties are classified as executive, 

administrative, professional or outside sales by the Fair Labor Standards Act. 

Employees performing these duties are exempt from Fair Labor Standards Act 

overtime provisions requiring premium cash compensation for overtime hours 

worked over forty (40.0) in a work week. 

 
Exempt employees not categorized as executive level by the Commissioner may 

be granted hour-for-hour compensatory time for all hours in excess of their 

regular thirty-seven and one-half (37.5) hour weekly schedule in a work week. 

 
Exceptions must be approved by the Departments of Finance and Administration 

and Human Resources. 
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17.04 EXEMPT EMPLOYEE (EXECUTIVE LEVEL) OVERTIME INELIGIBILITY 

 
Exempt employees categorized as executive level by the Commissioner are 

ineligible to receive overtime. However, when an executive level employee is 

scheduled to work on a holiday, the holiday may be rescheduled. 

 
17.05 INCLUDING LONGEVITY PAY IN CASH OVERTIME CALCULATIONS 

 
All non-exempt employees must be credited with the hourly equivalent amount 

of the most recent longevity payment received during their current period of 

employment.  Employees  hired  after  June  30,  2015 are  not  eligible  for  longevity 

payments. This is part of their total compensation and will be included in premium 

cash overtime payments. 

 
This longevity amount will be added to the premium overtime rate automatically 

if the overtime is processed normally on the attendance and leave record. The 

computer system will extract data on the current longevity payment to be paid 

to the employee and add that hourly equivalent rate to the regular hourly rate. An 

exempt employee receiving compensatory time is not covered under FLSA. 

There is no need to compute additional costs since the employee is receiving 

straight hourly compensation, even if it is paid to the employee when he or she 

leaves state service. 

17.06 OVERTIME FOR TRAVELING OUTSIDE THE REGULARLY SCHEDULED WORKDAY 

Traveling Outside the Normal Schedule on a Scheduled Workday 

 
Employees traveling to and from meetings at which attendance is considered 

a work assignment on a scheduled workday will receive compensatory time or 

cash (depending on their exempt or non-exempt status) equal to one hundred 

percent (100%) of the time traveled outside the regular workday, less the actual 

time required to travel from the work station to the employee's home. 

Documentation of actual home to work travel time will be required prior to any 

employee being awarded compensatory time. The provisions of this policy shall 

apply to all employees who are currently eligible to receive cash or accrue 

compensatory time under policy or law. 
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Traveling on an Unscheduled Workday 

 
Employees traveling to and from meetings at which attendance is considered 

a work assignment on an unscheduled workday will receive compensatory time 

or cash (depending in their exempt or non-exempt status) equal to one hundred 

percent (100%) of the time traveled. The provisions of this policy shall apply to 

all employees who are currently eligible to receive cash or accrue compensatory 

time under policy or law. 

 
17.07 OVERTIME FOR PERFORMING EMERGENCY SERVICES 

 
Employees called from their homes at unusual hours to handle emergency 

situations will receive compensatory time or cash (depending on their exempt or 

non-exempt status) equal to one hundred percent (100%) of the actual travel time 

spent performing these duties, provided these duties are outside of the regularly 

scheduled workday. 

 
72-Hour Notice Overtime 

 
Employees who are given less than seventy-two (72) hours’ notice of the 

requirement to work prior to beginning approved annual or compensatory leave, 

or employees who are given less than seventy-two (72) hours’ notice of the 

requirement to work on a holiday shall be paid at a rate equal to one and one half 

(1.5) times their regular hourly rate for those hours required to work. Employees 

who are notified to return to work while they are on approved annual or 

compensatory leave shall be paid at a rate equal to one and one half (1.5) times 

their regular hourly rate for all hours they are required to work, even though they 

may have been given more than seventy-two (72) hours’ notice. 

 
Under this policy, employees are paid at their regular hourly rate for working and 

will receive the additional one- half (.5) time amount as a supplemental payment. 

The additional one-half time amount is the difference between the employee’s 

regular overtime rate and premium overtime rate including longevity. To be eligible 

under this policy, the employee must have been approved for a full day of annual 

and/or compensatory leave on the day(s) affected or have been scheduled to be 

off the entire  day(s) on a holiday. Employees called back into work on a  holiday 

may receive additional compensation for all hours worked on the holiday, 

regardless of scheduled hours for that day. This policy does not 
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allow employees to receive additional compensation if the hours worked are 

already paid at the premium rate, whether those hours are paid as cash or 

compensatory time. 

 
Executive level employees (exempt employees who receive no overtime 

compensation) and part-time employees, scheduled to work less than 1,600 hours 

in a fiscal year, are not eligible. In addition, employees do not receive additional 

compensation if the hours worked are already paid at the premium rate (time and 

a half), whether those hours are paid as cash or compensatory time. 

 
A letter signed by the employee and the supervisor documenting the hours worked 

without seventy-two (72) hours’ notice shall be approved by the appointing authority 

and then forwarded to the Commissioner of Human Resources   within ten (10) 

working days after the time worked under this policy. 

 
On-Call Time 

 
Employees not required to remain on the employer's premises and free to engage 

in their own pursuits, subject only to the understanding that he or she give 

information as to how to be  reached,  are not considered working while on- call. 

When these employees are called to a job assignment, only the time actually spent 

responding to the call (including one hundred percent (100%) travel time to and 

from the work site) should be counted as hours worked. If the on-call conditions 

are so restrictive that employees are not realistically free to use the intervening 

periods effectively for their own benefit, they may be considered working. 

 
17.08 REQUIRED BUDGETARY APPROVAL OF AGENCY OVERTIME 

 
The Department of Finance and Administration, Division of Budget, reviews and 

approves each agency's annual cash overtime budgetary request. Requests for 

additional cash overtime during each fiscal year must be submitted to the Division 

of Budget for approval. All requests for overtime should include the reasons for 

overtime and the agency's plan to fund the request. 



January 2021 

Attendance and Leave Manual 
Chapter 17 - Overtime 

Page 6 

 

 

 
 

 

 

17.09 EXTRA SERVICES (HOLDING TWO STATE JOBS) 

 
No officer or employee in the several departments and agencies of the state 

government employed at fixed compensation shall be paid for any extra services, 

in an ex-officio or other capacity, except for qualified interpreters of the deaf or 

except when such officer's or employee's total annual income, including overtime 

payment, derived from the primary employment is less than eight thousand 

dollars ($8,000). That officer or employee may hold a part-time position that 

requires no more than four (4) hours of active duty per working day or as herein 

provided. 

All time worked for the state is considered working for the same employer as 

a single unit even if the work is performed in different departments. Thus, a non- 

exempt employee working a second state job is due premium overtime pay when 

that employee physically works over 40.0 hours in a work week. 

 
Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to prohibit a state employee from 

obtaining employment with another employer so long as no conflicts exist between 

such additional employment and the employment schedule of the state employee. 

 
17.10 MEMORANDUM OF AGREEMENT (DUAL SERVICE CONTRACT) 

 
Employees may perform services for other state departments, agencies and 

institutions of state government for which employees receive compensation under 

certain conditions. The following are conditions which affect employee's 

attendance, leave and compensation: 

 
A. No employee shall receive any compensation for such services unless the work 

is performed at times when the employee is not on duty in the employee’s 

regular position. 

 
B. It is state policy that a full-time employee of an agency of state government 

should devote the employee’s full working time to the employee’s position. 

An arrangement shall, therefore, not be approved if it will diminish the time 

an employee will have available for the performance of regular duties. 

 
C. The funds shall be payable through the human resource system of the 

employee's agency and be shown on the records as additional earnings. 



January 2021 

Attendance and Leave Manual 
Chapter 17 - Overtime 

Page 7 

 

 

 
 
 

 

D. Payment shall be authorized by a supplemental pay authorization, subject 

to the additional earnings to income tax, social security and retirement 

deductions. 

 
E. If the employee's agency makes a contribution for social security and 

retirement, the amount of that contribution shall be included in the 

reimbursement between the two agencies. 

 
Additional information is available by contacting the Department of Finance and 

Administration. 

 

 
Authority: 

Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 4-4-105, 8-23-201, 8-30-104, 8-30-405, and 8-50-801 

DOHR Rule 1120-06-.02, 1120-06-.03, 1120-06-.04, and 1120-06-.05 

https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=8123a673-bbfe-4fb5-81e9-94f712b75430&nodeid=AAEAAEAAF&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAE%2FAAEAAE%2FAAEAAEAAF&level=3&haschildren&populated=false&title=4-4-105.%2BDepartment%2Boffice%2Bhours%2B%E2%80%94%2BOvertime.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4WYJ-1060-R03K-53RD-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=8123a673-bbfe-4fb5-81e9-94f712b75430&nodeid=AAEAAEAAF&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAE%2FAAEAAE%2FAAEAAEAAF&level=3&haschildren&populated=false&title=4-4-105.%2BDepartment%2Boffice%2Bhours%2B%E2%80%94%2BOvertime.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4WYJ-1060-R03K-53RD-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=12f567ab-984e-46eb-a0c7-3d0a67d0b3be&nodeid=AAIAAXAACAAB&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIAAX%2FAAIAAXAAC%2FAAIAAXAACAAB&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-23-201.%2BCompensation%2Bfor%2Bextra%2Bservices%2Bor%2Bovertime%2B%E2%80%94%2BMaintenance%2Bfor%2Bcertain%2Bofficers%2Band%2Bemployees%2B%E2%80%94%2BEmployees%2Bperforming%2Bduties%2Bfor%2Bother%2Bagencies.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-T4C0-R03M-73FS-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=12f567ab-984e-46eb-a0c7-3d0a67d0b3be&nodeid=AAIAAXAACAAB&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIAAX%2FAAIAAXAAC%2FAAIAAXAACAAB&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-23-201.%2BCompensation%2Bfor%2Bextra%2Bservices%2Bor%2Bovertime%2B%E2%80%94%2BMaintenance%2Bfor%2Bcertain%2Bofficers%2Band%2Bemployees%2B%E2%80%94%2BEmployees%2Bperforming%2Bduties%2Bfor%2Bother%2Bagencies.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-T4C0-R03M-73FS-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=f9c40e38-038c-4f39-b7a8-1dcb6884fd69&nodeid=AAIABDAABAAE&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAB%2FAAIABDAABAAE&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-104.%2BAuthority%2Bof%2Bcommissioner%2B%E2%80%94%2BSupervisory%2Bpersonnel%2B%E2%80%94%2BDesignees.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4M0-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=f9c40e38-038c-4f39-b7a8-1dcb6884fd69&nodeid=AAIABDAABAAE&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAB%2FAAIABDAABAAE&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-104.%2BAuthority%2Bof%2Bcommissioner%2B%E2%80%94%2BSupervisory%2Bpersonnel%2B%E2%80%94%2BDesignees.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4M0-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=fdaa512f-7479-4e37-8c8c-b9f6992f740b&nodeid=AAIABDAAEAAF&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAE%2FAAIABDAAEAAF&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-405.%2BOutside%2Bemployment.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A55XV-B220-R03N-G07K-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=fdaa512f-7479-4e37-8c8c-b9f6992f740b&nodeid=AAIABDAAEAAF&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAE%2FAAIABDAAEAAF&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-405.%2BOutside%2Bemployment.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A55XV-B220-R03N-G07K-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-06.20230418.pdf


March 2021 

Attendance and Leave Manual 
Chapter 18 – Compensatory Time 

Page 1 

 

 

 
 

 

 

CHAPTER 18 

COMPENSATORY TIME 

 
Compensatory time is time off with pay earned by an exempt, non-executive level 

employee (or by a non-exempt employee whose overtime is not compensated 

in cash) for time actually worked in excess of the employee regular thirty-seven and 

one-half (37.5) hour or forty (40) hour weekly schedule, depending on schedule. 

Overtime claimed  as  compensatory  time must have been worked at the request 

of the employee's supervisor. Compensatory time is accrued on a weekly basis 

and is not transferable to any type of leave. 

 
18.01 USE OF COMPENSATORY TIME 

 
The use of earned compensatory leave is subject to approval of the department, 

agency head, designated manager, or supervisor. When an employee requests 

annual leave and compensatory leave is available, the compensatory leave shall 

be used first, unless the accumulated annual leave balance at the beginning of the 

pay period is within two (2) days of the maximum accrual rate for the employee's 

service group. When an employee is within two (2) days of the maximum, annual 

leave may be used until the balance falls below the (2) days of the maximum at 

that point the employee must use compensatory leave for the remainder of the leave 

used for that pay period. Any employee whose annual leave balance is not within 

the two (2) day maximum at the beginning of a pay period must use 

compensatory leave during the entire pay period. The term "two days" shall 

mean fifteen (15.0) hours for thirty-seven and one-half (37.5) hours per week 

employees, sixteen (16.0) hours for forty (40.0)  hours  per  week employees,  or as 

approved by the Department of Human Resources for public safety employees on 

other authorized work cycles. 

 
Service groups change on the first day of the month. Therefore, to determine an 

employee’s ability to use annual leave before compensatory leave, the group 

maximum identified at the first of the month must be used. 

 
Supervisors can schedule employees to use compensatory leave in order to reduce 

an employee’s compensatory balance. Before the compensatory leave is 

scheduled, the agency must have a written policy or handbook detailing situations 

when this will occur and the policy or handbook must be available to employees 
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for review before the policy can be implemented. This requirement only applies 

to premium compensatory time earned by non-exempt employees in lieu of cash 

payment. This requirement does not apply to holiday compensatory time or 

regular compensatory time. Supervisors cannot schedule employees to use 

compensatory leave if employees are within two (2) days of the maximum accrual 

rate for their service group. 

 
Employees may use compensatory leave for any reason as long as the leave does 

not interfere with their duties. 

 
An employee may use compensatory leave to perform military duty while directly 

receiving pay from the federal government. 

 
18.02 COMPENSATORY TIME TRANSFERABLE 

 
Compensatory time is transferable between the agencies of state service. If an 

employee in a state service agency transfers to another state agency outside 

the state service that will not accept the employee's compensatory balance, the 

forme r  state service  agency must compensate the  transferring employee for the 

value of the employee's compensatory time balance. 

 
18.03 VALUE OF COMPENSATORY TIME 

 
The value of compensatory time accrued by a non-exempt employee is calculated 

at a rate not  less than the employee's  average rate over the  last three (3) years 

of employment or the employee's regular hourly rate in the state service agency at 

the time of the transfer, whichever is higher. The value of the compensatory time 

accrued by an exempt employee is calculated based on the employee's regular 

hourly rate in the state service agency at the time of transfer. 

 
18.04 COMPENSATORY TIME PRIOR TO TERMINAL LEAVE 

 
Compensatory time earned must be taken prior to the beginning of a retiring 

employee’s terminal leave, taken prior to separation if the retiring employee has 

no terminal leave,  or  paid in  a lump sum  at separation  if the retiring employee 

so requests. Employees terminated for gross misconduct must be paid for all 

accumulated compensatory time. 
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18.05 MAXIMUM ALLOWABLE COMPENSATORY TIME ACCRUAL 

 
Compensatory time may be accrued up to a maximum of four hundred and eighty 

(480) hours. Overtime earned above four hundred and eighty (480) hours must be 

paid in cash. 

 
Any variation to this maximum accrual limit must be approved in advance by the 

Commissioners of Human Resources and Finance and Administration. 

 
18.06 REGULAR AND PREMIUM COMPENSATORY OVERTIME LIMITS 

 
Non-exempt employees are eligible to receive premium compensatory overtime 

in lieu of premium cash overtime for hours worked over forty (40.0) in a work 

week. The maximum allowable premium compensatory overtime accumulation 

for non-public safety employees is two hundred and forty (240) hours. Public safety 

employees may earn up to a maximum of four hundred and eighty (480) hours 

of premium compensatory overtime. 

 
Totals for regular and premium compensatory overtime will be added together and 

no employee will be allowed to exceed a total accumulation of both regular and/or 

premium compensatory overtime over four hundred and eighty (480) hours unless 

approved by Department of Human Resources and Department of Finance and 

Administration. 

 
Overtime in excess of maximum allowed accruals must be paid in cash. The hours 

should be turned in as compensatory overtime hours and the computer system 

will automatically pay as cash. 

 
Any compensatory time used by an employee will be deducted automatically from 

the premium compensatory overtime balance first. When that balance is 

exhausted, any additional compensatory time used will be charged to regular 

compensatory overtime. 
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18.07 COMPENSATORY TIME FOR EXEMPT EXECUTIVE LEVEL EMPLOYEES 

 
Earned compensatory time may be retained and used when an employee becomes 

executive level, with the exception of limited term appointees. Executive level 

employees are prohibited from earning compensatory time. 

 
 

 
Authority: 

Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 8-23-201, 8-30-104, and 8-50-801 

DOHR Rule 1120-06-.02, 1120-06-.03, 1120-06-.04, and 1120-06-.05  

https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=1fa9c535-0860-4ed5-8153-e59ffa4cc442&nodeid=AAIAAXAACAAB&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIAAX%2FAAIAAXAAC%2FAAIAAXAACAAB&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-23-201.%2BCompensation%2Bfor%2Bextra%2Bservices%2Bor%2Bovertime%2B%E2%80%94%2BMaintenance%2Bfor%2Bcertain%2Bofficers%2Band%2Bemployees%2B%E2%80%94%2BEmployees%2Bperforming%2Bduties%2Bfor%2Bother%2Bagencies.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-T4C0-R03M-73FS-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=0d5f6f72-6df3-4391-80e0-50d105c62028
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=be248308-cdc4-43cf-9ef0-b8a031dc6911&nodeid=AAIABDAABAAE&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAB%2FAAIABDAABAAE&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-104.%2BAuthority%2Bof%2Bcommissioner%2B%E2%80%94%2BSupervisory%2Bpersonnel%2B%E2%80%94%2BDesignees.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4M0-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=0d5f6f72-6df3-4391-80e0-50d105c62028
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=6d96401c-8bff-4907-bf70-962ed87d074c&nodeid=AAIABWAAIAAB&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAI%2FAAIABWAAIAAB&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-50-801.%2BAnnual%2Bleave.&indicator=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82SB-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=0d5f6f72-6df3-4391-80e0-50d105c62028
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-06.20230418.pdf
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CHAPTER 19 

FLSA ADMINISTRATIVE LEAVE WITH PAY FOR EXEMPT EMPLOYEES 

Employees who are exempt under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) are not 

covered by overtime rules and regulations; however, the method for determining 

pay reductions of an exempt employee must comply with the salary basis provisions 

in the FLSA, Title 29, Part 541 of the Code of Federal Regulations, Section 541.602. 

Generally, an exempt employee who works less than a full day during  a workweek 

shall be paid for the entire  day  subject  to  certain  exceptions, without regard to 

the number of days or hours worked. The workweek for most state employees is 

generally from 12:01 A.M. Sunday to the following Sunday at 12:01 A.M. 

 
An  exempt  employee  may enter  a leave without pay status for  a partial day if the 

employee: 

 
• does not work during an entire workweek; 

 
• is absent from work for one or more full days for personal reasons other than 

sickness or disability; 

 
• is absent from work for one or more full days due to sickness or disability, 

if reductions are made under a bona fide plan, policy or practice  of providing 

wage replacement benefits for these types of absences (e.g. use of sick leave, 

etc.); 

 
• has received payment for jury or witness fees, military pay or similar fees/pay 

such as workers comp, pay from a third party in lieu of the employee’s state 

salary; 

 
• has violated a major safety rule and penalties are imposed as a result; 

 
• receives a suspension of one or more full days imposed in good faith for 
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violations of workplace conduct rules and/or policies and procedures; 

 
• worked a partial week during the  first and/or  last weeks of employment, the 

employee is to be paid for the actual hours worked; 

 
• needs to hold a day of leave pursuant to DOHR Sick Leave Bank Rules and 

Regulations concerning the annual donation requirement; or 

 
• has taken unpaid leave under the Family Medical Leave Act or has taken part 

time extended periods of leave without pay related to the employee’s FMLA 

when allowed by State policy (see DOHR policy “Extended Periods of Leave 

without Pay”.) 

 
If none of the above situations apply, an exempt employee who does not have 

an accrued leave balance and who only works a portion of a workday must be paid 

for the full day. In no instance can an employee with a leave balance opt to take 

leave without pay. 

Recordkeeping: Employee timesheets should be coded Fair Labor Standards Act Pay 

(FLPAY). 

For audit and compliance purposes, agency HR and/or Payroll staff will work with 

DOHR using Edison queries to review instances of exempt employee leave in which 

the employee has exhausted leave balances. Improper leave approvals and leave 

abuse may require disciplinary action. 

 
Supervisors shall not approve partial day leave requests if an exempt employee has 

exhausted all of his or her balance, regardless of whether the employee provides 

a doctor’s statement. A partial day of unpaid leave is only allowed as listed in 

the exceptions above or as required by other federal and state law. Supervisors 

may only approve leave requests as allowed within the state’s attendance and leave 

manual and will consult with their  agency’s Human Resource Office when an 

employee requests leave and does not have sufficient leave balances to cover the 

time requested. 
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An employee who believes incorrect deductions have been made to their paycheck 

should immediately report this information to their agency’s Human Resource 

and/or Payroll Office. A review of the employee’s pay records is to be completed 

and the results reported back to the employee. If the employee is still uncertain, 

the employee may contact the Department of Human Resources. If it is determined 

that the employee’s pay is incorrect, a pay correction will be made as soon as 

practical. 

 
Authority: 

Fair Labor Standards Act, 29 U.S.C. §§ 201, et seq. 

Fair Labor Standards Act, Salary Basis, 29 C.F.R. § 541.602 

Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 8-30-104, 105. 

DOHR Rule 1120-04-.16 

https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/WHD/legacy/files/FairLaborStandAct.pdf
https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=c8861c67ace18400ff5a86516c460d45&mc=true&node=se29.3.541_1602&rgn=div8
https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=c8861c67ace18400ff5a86516c460d45&mc=true&node=se29.3.541_1602&rgn=div8
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=3291b84c-fe5b-4402-994b-1993c2180385&nodeid=AAIABDAABAAE&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAB%2FAAIABDAABAAE&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-104.%2BAuthority%2Bof%2Bcommissioner%2B%E2%80%94%2BSupervisory%2Bpersonnel%2B%E2%80%94%2BDesignees.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4M0-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=0d5f6f72-6df3-4391-80e0-50d105c62028
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=3291b84c-fe5b-4402-994b-1993c2180385&nodeid=AAIABDAABAAE&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAB%2FAAIABDAABAAE&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-104.%2BAuthority%2Bof%2Bcommissioner%2B%E2%80%94%2BSupervisory%2Bpersonnel%2B%E2%80%94%2BDesignees.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4M0-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=0d5f6f72-6df3-4391-80e0-50d105c62028
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=ce3b756c-37e7-429c-9af4-68453e6165c0&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4M1-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAIABDAABAAF&ecomp=w53dkkk&prid=3291b84c-fe5b-4402-994b-1993c2180385
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-04.20230418.pdf
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CHAPTER 20 

RESCHEDULING THE WORK WEEK 

The system automatically reschedules hours worked and leave taken within 

the same work week to eliminate excessive overtime payment. Overtime expenses 

are reduced by ensuring overtime pay is applied on a weekly rather than a daily 

basis. 

 
Rescheduling of sick leave will be allowed in all circumstances, including situations 

where a doctor’s note has been provided. 

 
Example: If an employee has a regular work schedule of 7.5 hours per day, Monday 

through Friday, the employee  is scheduled to  work a 37.5- hour  work week. If this 

employee works 10.5 hours on Monday, 7.5 hours on Tuesday, 7.5 hours on 

Wednesday, 7.5 hours on Thursday, and takes a day of sick leave on Friday, 

the employee has actually worked 33.0 hours of a 37.5- hour work week. The 

system will automatically apply the 3.0 extra hours worked on Monday to the 

amount of leave taken later  in the  week to reduce the sick leave taken on Friday 

to 4.5 hours. No  overtime pay is paid for the work week since the employee did not 

work over 37.5hours. 

 
 
 

Authority: 

Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 4-4-105, 8-23-201, 8-30-104, 8-50-801 and 8-50-802 

DOHR Rule 1120-06-.02, 1120-06-.03, 1120-06-.04, and 1120-06-.05 
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CHAPTER 21 

PREVIOUSLY ACCRUED LEAVE USED IN A NON-ACCRUING POSITION 

An employee in a leave accruing position who is transferred with a leave balance to a 

non-accruing position may use leave as explained below: 

 
A. An employee in a non-leave accrual status at separation shall be paid for 

any annual and compensatory leave balances at the employee's regular hourly 

rate at the time of separation.  A supplemental pay request form and a C-7 form 

must be submitted to the Department of Human Resources. 

 
B. A part-time employee scheduled to work certain days each week can use 

accrued leave only on the scheduled days to work. Enter and document on the 

leave record (e.g., in Edison) the number of hours used as hours worked. A C- 

7 form must be submitted to the Department of Human Resources to deduct this 

leave. 

 
C. A part-time employee scheduled to work certain days each week, but called 

in when needed, may not use any type of accrued leave until the employee 

transfers back to a leave accruing position. 

 
 

 
Authority: 

Tenn. Code Ann. § 4-4-105, 8-23-201, 8-30-104, 8-50-801 and 8-50-802 

DOHR Rule 1120-06-.02, 1120-06-.03, 1120-06-.04, and 1120-06-.05 
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CHAPTER 22 

LEAVE RECORDS 

 
22.01 PROCEDURES FOR LEAVE RECORDS 

 
Leave reports are prepared at the end of the pay period for all employees using 

leave or working overtime. Each supervisor should take the following procedures 

to assure correct time reporting for each employee: 

 

A. Determine the employee's work schedule. 

 

B. Determine the employee's daily shift (the actual time of day the employee is 

scheduled to begin and end work). When an employee's shift begins on one 

day and ends on another, this time should be shown on the time sheet for the 

day on which the majority of the time falls. 

 

C. Determine that the employee's actual work performed as shown on the time 

sheet is correct. 

 

D. Provide for any unscheduled absences or any extra time worked to be 

accurately recorded. 

E. Provide for coding of absences. 

F. Provide for a timekeeper for each reporting unit. 

 

G. When reporting attendance and leave for a pay period, the end of a pay 

period and the end of a work week may not necessarily be the same; i.e., 

a work wee k could be started in one pay period and concluded in the next 

pay period. 

 

H. New employees are to be paid for actual time worked during their first pay 

period, regardless of his or her work schedule. 

 

I. Separating employees are to be paid for actual time worked during their last 

pay period, regardless of his or her work schedule. 

 

J. Employees going on, or returning from, extended leave are to be paid for 
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actual time worked for affected pay periods. 

 

K. Provide for a centralized audit of records for pay purposes. The agency's 

central human resource office or appointing authority's designated 

representative should audit and maintain files on all time sheets. These must 

be maintained for a period of at least three (3) years, or until audited by the 

Comptroller of the Treasury. 

 

L. Audit of Records -- All employees' time sheets are subject to review and audit 

at any time by the Office of the Comptroller of the Treasury or the 

Department of Human Resources. 

 

M. Records -- Excused absences will not be reported to the Department of 

Human Resources; however, records of such leave must be maintained by the 

various departments and agencies. 

 

22.02 ATTENDANCE AND LEAVE RECORDS AND REPORTS 

 
If an employee does not submit his/her time into Edison, a hard copy time sheet 

for each employee who used leave or worked overtime must be submitted to the 

proper audit authority at the end of each pay period. This record must be signed by 

both the employee and the employee's supervisor, verifying the accuracy of the 

hours scheduled, hours worked, and leave taken. 

 

 

Authority: 

Tenn. Code Ann.§§ 8-30-104 and 10-7-504 

DOHR Rule 1120-06-.26 
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GLOSSARY 

 
1. Accrue - To earn annual or sick leave for each month of service or major fraction 

thereof. 

 
2. Active Pay Status - Term applied to an employee who is actually working or who is 

using paid leave, other than paid terminal leave or sick leave bank grants. 

 
3. Administrative Leave - Leave with pay when an employee is removed from normal 

duties at the discretion of the appointing authority. 

 
4. Agency - An entity that employs and exercises authority over any employee in state 

service in the executive branch. 

 
5. Annual Leave - Paid time away from work considered to be personal time. The 

amount accrued is based on the employee's length of state service. 

 
6. Appointing Authority - A commissioner or executive director of a state agency, 

officer or agent having power to make appointments to, and separations from, 

positions in state service. 

 
7. Appointment - The official designation of a person to fill a position in state service as 

an employee. 

 
8. Assault Pay - Full pay for a total of ninety (90) calendar days granted to an employee 

injured in the line of duty as a result of an assault which results in the employee 's 

inability to perform job duties. This pay is a combination of regular payroll and 

Division of Claims Administration compensation. 

 
9. Audit - To examine and verify amounts of leave and/or requests for payment. 

 
10. Bereavement Leave - Three (3) days of paid leave, not taken from sick or annual 

leave, granted in the event of death of an employee's spouse, children (including 

unborn), stepchildren, parents, grandparents, grandchildren, siblings, stepparents, 

foster parents or parents-in-law. 

 
11. Brother-in-law - (1) Brother of one's spouse or (2) husband of one's sister. 
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12. C-7 Form (Attendance and Leave Adjustment) - Form used to make leave balance 

corrections. 

 
13. Civil Leave - Leave allowing an employee to be absent from work on the day or days 

required while serving as a juror in any court of the United States or the State of 

Tennessee. 

 
14. Commissioner - The Commissioner of the Department of Human Resources. 

 
15. Compensatory Leave - Leave credit earned by an exempt or non-exempt employee 

when hours are worked beyond the employee's regular schedule and not 

compensated in cash. 

 
16. Compressed Work Schedule - A 37.5 or 40.0 hour scheduled work week worked in 

four or fewer days. 

 
17. Credit - A deduction from an existing balance, such as subtracting leave on a C-7 

form. 

 
18. Creditable Service - Any month which was part of a sixteen hundred (1,600) hour or 

greater yearly schedule in which an employee exceeds fifty percent (50%) of his 

regularly scheduled monthly working hours by one-tenth (0.1) of one hour shall be 

creditable for maximum accumulation purposes. When extended leave without pay 

has been taken to the extent that an employee did not work for a month or a major 

portion thereof, that month shall not be included in computing state service. 

 
19. Division of Claims Administration Leave - Leave without pay granted to an 

employee who has incurred an injury in the line of duty and is receiving compensation 

through the Division of Claims Administration. 

 
20. Educational Leave - Leave with pay, normally at a reduced amount, granted and 

supported by an agency for full-time continuing education and learning and approved 

by the Department of Human Resources. Educational leave pay may also be 

requested by an employee to continue his education on a full-time basis. 

 
21. Emergency Appointment - The appointment of a person in the preferred service 
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position, for a period not to exceed one hundred twenty (120) days, in the event of an 

emergency. 

 
22. Executive Level Employee - An exempt employee ineligible to receive compensation 

for overtime hours worked. The Commissioner designates an employee in this 

category by job classification. 

 
23. Executive Service - All positions in the state service not subject to the preferred 

service provisions of Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 8, Chapter 30. 

 
24. Exempt Employee - Employee exempt from the overtime pay requirements of the 

Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). 

 
25. Extended Leave - Leave without pay for the major portion of a month. Instances for 

which extended leave may be approved include special leave without pay, parental, 

educational, personal educational, Division of Claims Administration, military, and 

sick leave bank grants. 

 
26. Flex-Time - A work schedule which deviates from the normal 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. 

workday but is still within general guidelines authorized in advance by an appointing 

authority. 

 
27. Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) - Federal government regulations setting 

requirements for granting leave for family and medical reasons, for providing 

insurance coverage during the leave period and for reinstating employees to the 

same or an equivalent position when the leave period has ended. 

 
28. Foster Parent - Person who has performed the duties of a parent to the child of 

another person by rearing the child as his own child. 

 
29. Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) - Federal government regulations setting minimum 

wage and overtime pay requirements. 

 
30. FMLA Coordinator - The Appointing Authority or individual designated to handle 

FMLA leave by the Appointing Authority. 

 
31. Full-time - A position or employee budgeted for or scheduled to work a full­time 
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schedule as defined by the Commissioner and the Commissioner of Finance and 

Administration, usually one thousand nine hundred and fifty (1,950) hours or more 

per year. 

 
32. Gross Misconduct - Any job-related misconduct which may subject an employee to 

criminal prosecution. 

 
33. Initial Probation - The first probationary period an employee serves in an agency in 

a continuous period of employment prior to becoming a preferred service employee 

in that agency. 

34. Interim Appointment - The appointment of  a person to a position for a  period not to 

exceed one (1) year. 

 
35. Irregular Work Schedule - Any work schedule totaling 37.5 or 40.0 hours per week 

other than the regular Monday through Friday schedule. 

 
36. Limited Term Appointment - The governor, the governor's cabinet, and members of 

boards, commissions, agencies and authorities receive limited executive service 

appointments. Limited term appointments do not require the use of eligible lists. 

 
37. Longevity Pay - Lump sum payment intended to reward employees for service to the 

state and encourage those employees to remain employed by the state if hired prior 

to June 30, 2015. 

 
38. Major Portion of a Month - One-tenth (0.1) of one (1) hour over fifty percent (50%) 

of the regularly scheduled working hours. 

 
39. Military Leave With Pay - Leave of absence with pay, not to exceed twenty (20) 

working days in any one calendar year, for any reserve component of the armed 

forces of the United States to engage in performance of duties or training in the 

service of the State of Tennessee or the United States. 

 
40. Non-Duty- Time spent on paid or unpaid leave during a workday. 

 
41. Non-Exempt Employee - Employee subject to the overtime pay requirements of the 

Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). A non-exempt employee is eligible for cash 

compensation for time actually worked over 37.5 hours per week.
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42. Overtime - Authorized time worked in excess of the employee's normal work week 

schedule for which extra compensation is received. 

 
43. Part-Time - A position or an employee budgeted or scheduled to work a part­ time 

schedule as denied by the Commissioner and the Commissioner of Finance and 

Administration, usually less than fifteen hundred and sixty (1,560) hours per year. 

 
44. Preferred Service - All offices and positions of employment in the state service that 

have been placed under the preferred service provisions of Tennessee Code 

Annotated, Title 8, Chapter 30. 

 
45. Premium Overtime - Work time compensated at one and one-half times an 

employee's regular rate of pay for hours worked in excess of 40 in a work week. 

 
46. Regular Appointment - Appointment of a person to a regular position in either the 

preferred or executive service for an indeterminate period of time. 

 
47. Regular Overtime - Work time compensated at an employee's regular rate of pay for 

hours actually worked in excess of his regular 37.5 hour weekly schedule up to 40.0 

hours in a work week. 

 
48. Rescheduling of Work Week - Assigning different working hours within the work 

week so an employee works the standard number of hours during the period when 

the work is needed. The rescheduling of working hours for a specific day in a work 

week should be approved in advance by the employee's supervisor before the work 

is performed. 

 
49. Seasonal Appointment - A part-time appointment of a person for an indeterminate 

period of time and generally not exceeding sixteen hundred (1600) hours per year. 

 
50. Service Anniversary Date - Projected date in the future (based on an employee's 

total creditable state service) when the employee will change service group codes and 

begin accruing annual leave at a higher rate. Any break in service may cause a change 

in this date. 

 
51. Sibling - One of two or more persons having at least one parent in common.
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52. Sister-in-law - (1) Sister of one's spouse; or (2) Wife of one's brother. 

 
53. Service Group - Group identifying an employee's rate for annual leave accrual and 

maximum allowable annual leave accumulation based on the employee's total years 

of active service in a leave accruing status. 

 
54. Sick Leave - Leave accrued by an employee at the rate of one (1) day for each month 

or major portion of a month of active service which may be used for illness of the 

employee or illness or death of an employee's family member. 

 
55. Special Leave - Leave without pay of a specific duration which must be requested in 

writing and recommended in advance by the appointing authority for approval by the 

Commissioner. 

 
56. State Service - All officers and positions of trust or employment in the executive 

branch and all boards, commissions and agencies in state government except those 

specifically excluded by Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 8, Chapter 30. 

 
57. Temporary Appointment - Appointment of a person to a preferred service position 

for a temporary period, not to exceed six (6) months, until an appropriate list has 

been established by the Department. 

 
58. Unborn child – The loss of an unborn child as a result of pregnancy loss or complication. 

 
59. Terminal Leave - The annual leave balance of a retiring employee. Any leave balance 

remaining after the employee's last actual workday is considered terminal leave. 

 
60. Workday - A scheduled day of work exclusive of holidays or other authorized leave 

days. 


