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* 1:.05 p.m. Welcome
- Michelle W. Owenby - Director, Division of Air Pollution Control

1:15 p.m. Title V Program Funding Diversification

1:45 p.m. Q&A

2:05 p.m. General Permit Fee Rule Changes

2:15 p.m. Q&A

2:25 p.m. Miscellaneous & Administrative Fee Rule Changes
2:40 p.m. Q&A

2:45 p.m. Additional Questions & Closing
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Introductions

« Facilitator Tara Pedraza, Deputy Director
Office of External Affairs
« Co-Facilitator Jan Compton, Regional Director
& Online Host Office of External Affairs - Johnson City
* Presenter James Johnston, Deputy Director
Division of Air Pollution Control
- Additional Michelle W. Owenby, Director
TDEC Staff Division of Air Pollution Control

Mary-Margaret Chandler, Budget Administrator
Division of Air Pollution Control

Lacey Hardin, Technical Lead
Division of Air Pollution Control

Olga Jacobsen, Special Projects Lead
Division of Air Pollution Control
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Current Title V Program

Status




What are the Statutory Requirements that Apply to Title V Fees?

Federal Clean Air Act

8502(b)(3)(A)

...... the owner or operator of all sources subject to the requirement to obtain

a permit under this subchapter pay an annual fee, or the equivalent over

some other period, sufficient to cover all reasonable (direct and indirect)

costs required to develop and administer the permit program requirements of

this subchapter...

« The Federal Clean Air Act provides further information on what costs are to be
included in a Title V program

« There are similar requirements in the Tennessee Environmental Protection
Fund Act and in state and federal regulations
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TV Revenue and Expenses
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Emissions vs Fee Rates

Chart Title
350,000 $120.00

300,000

$100.00
250,000
$80.00
200,000
$60.00
150,000
$40.00
100,000
$20.00
50,000
0 $0.00

2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023

Allowable S/ton = Actual S/ton EEEEGU Allowable S/ton  EEEEGU Actual S/ton  =e=Tons




Goal of Title V Program Fee Diversification Rule Changes

« Providing funding to fully support and operate the Title V program
« Providing a more stable and diversified fee structure

« Relying less on emissions which continue to decrease

— Preparing for both planned reductions from electric generating units (EGUs) and the general
downward trend of emissions from non-EGUSs

« Relying less on activities that have great variability
« Reducing the frequency of fee rule revisions




STAGES OF ENGAGEMENT & RULEMAKING SCHEDULE

August 11, 2022 10:30AM-noon Central Meeting with Tennessee Chamber of Commerce & Industry

August 23, 2022 9:00AM-10:30AM Central Webinar with Stakeholders to Present Background Information
and Consider Many Non-Variable Funding Sources

September 14, 2022 9:30AM Central Briefing with APC Board Meeting

October 27, 2022 9:00AM-10:30AM Central  Webinar with Stakeholders to Present Refined Fee Structure
Diversification Options

November, 2022 - January, 2023 Continued Stakeholder Engagement

February to October, 2023 Begin Formal Rulemaking Process (see end slide for remainder of
schedule)

June 14, 2023 9:30AM Central Briefed APC Board on Proposed Rule

July 18, 2023 1:00-3:00PM Central Fee Rule Webinar

August 11, 2023 1:00PM Central Public Hearing

August 11, 2023 Comments due to air.pollution.control@tn.gov

October 11, 2023 Presented to APC Board for Adoption
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Proposed Fee Rule Changes

for Title V Sources




Annual Title V Fee — Dollar Per Ton and Minimum Fee

« Dollar per ton remains unchanged at:
— Non-EGU Actual - $70.50 per ton
— Non-EGU Allowable - $48.50 per ton
— EGU Actual - $98.50 per ton
— EGU Allowable - $68.00 per ton

* Minimum Fee proposed to eliminate
— Currently $10,000




Annual Title V Fee — Base Fee

- Base Fee - Currently $6,000 per Facility

— Proposal
0 $10,000
1 $15,000
2to3 $20,000
4105 $30,000
6to 10 $40,000
11t0 20 $50,000
21 and up $75,000
— Alternative Proposal
Otol $15,000
2to 4 $20,000
5to9 $40,000

10 and up $75,000




Annual Title V Fee — Title V Modification Fee

« Billed with Annual Title V Fee
— Each Minor Modification Issued - $2,800
— Each Significant Modification Issued - $5,000




Proposed - Application Fees for Title V Sources

1200-03-26-.02(5)(2)2

« Construction Permit Application Fee

<10 tons/yr $100

10 to < 100 tons/yr S500 »4000
100 to < 250 tons/yr S1000 S8000
250 to < 500 tons/yr $2000 $7000 $15,000
500 to < 1000 tons/yr S3000 $30,000
1000 to < 5000 tons/yr S4000 $40,000
> 5000 tons/yr S5000 $50,000

 Fee for Non-TV Sources Remain the same




Proposed - Application Fees for Title V Sources (continued)

1200-03-26-.02(5)(2)2

- Other Application Fees (replaces regular construction fee)
— PSD and Nonattainment NSR Permit - $70,000

— PAL (initial or renewal) - $10,000 per pollutant

« Added deadline of 18 months (1200-03-26-.02(5)(e)3.)
— Title V to Conditional Major Permit - $18,000

« Added deadline of 18 months (1200-03-26-.02(5)(e)4.)

 All application fees are due upon submission of the application




Summary - Title V

+ Rely less on emissions, which are decreasing

« Continue to comply with funding requirements

- The proposal reflects feedback from stakeholders and meets the goal of fee
diversification

« TDEC is taking comments on the proposal (including alternate language
specified in the public notice) until August 11, 2023
— Submit comments electronically: Air.Pollution.Control@tn.gov
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General Permit Fee Rules




What is a General Permit?

 Voluntary option for specific sources
— Single Permit issued by APC for a specific type of facility
— Looks like a traditional permit but not issued to specific facility

« A general permit acts as both a construction and an operating permit




How do General Permits Work?

« APC Issues a General Permit for the source category
— 30-day public notice required

« Only requires one Notice of Intent (NOI) from the source to be covered

- Lists of facilities that have submitted NOIs for construction or modification
under a general permit will be published on TDEC's website at least monthly
— 30-day comment period

« Technical Secretary will issue a Notice of Coverage (NOC)
— Provide copy of General Permit




General Permit Advantages

« Uniform permit conditions

« Faster issuance of a permit
 Possible time savings

* Less confusion
* Only one permit application is needed, rather than two
« Uniform permit conditions resulting in uniform reporting and recordkeeping




General Permit Status

« Two available issued 2/2/2017
— GO00001 - Perchloroethylene Dry Cleaners
— G00002 - Petroleum Solvent Dry Cleaning

* One under development
— Concrete Batch Plants with emissions < 10 tpy

« Soon to be developed:
— Concrete Batch Plants with Emissions >= 10 tpy
— Portable Rock Crushers at True Minor Facilities
— Portable Rock Crushers at Conditional Major Facilities
— Asphalt Plants

— Air Curtain Incinerators
e Construction Permit
- General Title V Operating Permit




General Permit - Related Changes

« 1200-03-26-.02(j) - removes fee exemption for General Permits

« 1200-03-26-.02(5)(a)4 - fees for General Permits that serve as construction
permits
— Dry Cleaners - $100
— Concrete Batch Plants - $100
— Portable Rock Crushers - $100
— Asphalt Plants - $250

« 1200-03-26-.02(6)(f) - annual fees for General Permits (non-Title V fees)
— Dry Cleaners - $0
— Concrete Batch Plants with Emissions < 10 tpy - $0
— Concrete Batch Plants with Emissions >= 10 tpy - $400
— Portable Rock Crushers at True Minor Facilities - $1,000
— Portable Rock Crushers at Conditional Major Facilities - $1,500
— Asphalt Plants - $1,500




Summary — General Permits

« General permits are for specific types of facilities common across the state
* General permits are an alternative to traditional permits
- Several general permits are being developed

 This rule establishes construction and annual fees that would apply to the
existing general permits and to new ones as they are developed




Questions
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Miscellaneous &

Administrative Fee Rule
Changes




Administrative & Miscellaneous Changes

« Chapter 12000-3-02-.01

— Definition of “Hazardous Air Pollutant” moved from Chapter 26, Administrative Fees
Schedule, to Chapter 2, Definitions

« Paragraph 1200-03-26-.02(2), Definitions

— Definition of “Synthetic Minor” removed

- Note: Tennessee uses the term “Synthetic Minor” only for fee purposes. Many other states and
EPA use the term “synthetic minor” for what the Air Division calls “conditional major”. This change
does not change any provisions regarding conditional major permits or sources.

— Definition of “Permit Amendment” added

— Added definitions of “Anticipated Maximum Emission Rate (AMER)” and “Anticipated
Maximum Increase in Emissions”




Administrative & Miscellaneous Changes

« Paragraph 1200-03-26-.02(3), General Provisions

Clarified that emissions from exempt sources are not excluded from fees if included in the
facility-wide limit

Removed provision of crediting construction application fee to the annual fee if it is
determined that a construction permit is not needed

Combined “HAP with a standard” and “HAP without a standard” to “HAP”

Clarified that construction application fees are due upon submission of the application




Administrative & Miscellaneous Changes

« Paragraph 1200-03-26-.02(5), Construction Fees

Clarifies that when an existing source needs a new construction permit, new fee is due
Clarifies that fees due upon submission of application

Clarifies that revisions to an application (except during initial completeness review) that
result in an increase in allowable or actual emissions requires payment of one-half or the
application fee

Extends issuance/denial deadline when agreement letter required - 7 days after receipt of
agreement letter

Extends issuance/denial deadline when compliance schedule required to be placed in
permit

« 21 if no public comment period required

- 60 days if comment period required and no public hearing held

« 60 days if comment period required and public hearing announced with comment period

« 90 days if comment period required, public hearing requested during comment period, and
hearing held after close of comment period




Administrative & Miscellaneous Changes

« Paragraph 1200-03-26-.02(6), Annual Fees for Minor and Conditional Major
Sources

— Sources issued a combined construction and operating permit required to pay annual fees
upon issuance of combined construction and operating permit

— Clarifies that annual non-Title V fee are based on allowable emissions “at the time of the fee
assessment by the Division based on the current active permit(s)”

— Fees for “synthetic minor” sources with allowable emissions below 10 tons/year removed

« Paragraph 1200-03-26-.02(8), Late Fees - Failure to Pay

— Clarification that no permit or permit renewal will be issued until all fees required by APC
Fee rules have been paid

— Add provision that total penalty & interest shall not exceed three times original fee

— Remove provision about consulting with Dept. of Finance & Administration to determine
interest rate.




Administrative & Miscellaneous Changes

« Paragraph 1200-03-26-.02(9), Annual Fees for Major Sources and Sources
Subject to Paragraph (11) of Rule 1200-03-09-.02 (i.e., Title V Fees)

— Due date for facilities who determine fee based on actual or combination of actual and
allowable on fiscal year (July 1 to June 30) - moved from July 1 to August 1

- Extension for actual & actual/allowable on fiscal year changed from 90 days to 60 days (will still
be September 28t")

— Clarify that fee for sources that pay initial annual fee based on fraction of a calendar year
shall pay no less than base fee.

— Eliminate “Once-In-Always-In” Fee Provision




Administrative & Miscellaneous Changes

- Grammatical corrections
— PM10 to PM,,
— Several changes to non-Title V construction fee Schedule A
— Change 5% to “five percent”




Summary - Administrative & Miscellaneous Changes

Create consistency and clarification

Streamline certain existing processes

Make some provisions consistent with current practice
Grammatical corrections




Questions
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RULEMAKING SCHEDULE

June 14, 2023 9:30AM Central Briefed APC Board on Proposed Rule

July 18, 2023 1:00-3:00PM Central Fee Rule Webinar

August 11, 2023 1:00PM Central Public Hearing

August 11, 2023 Comments due to air.pollution.control@tn.gov
October 11, 2023 Presented to APC Board for Adoption

October, 2023, to June, 2024 « Governor's Office Approval

- Attorney General's Review
« File with Secretary of State
» Review by Joint Government Operations Committee

July 1, 2024 Effective Date of Rule Revision
« For Construction Fees due After 7/1/2024
« For Title V Annual Fees due in 2025 & Beyond

Department of
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gy

Submit written comments by August 11, 2023,
by email to Air.Pollution.Control@tn.gov or mail to:

TN Department of Environment & Conservation
Division of Air Pollution Control

William R. Snodgrass Tennessee Tower

312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue, 15th Floor

Nashville, Tennessee 37243

TDEC thanks you for your attendance and participation throughout this process!
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