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Financial Statement Requirements for Contractor Licenses 
 
Recent legislation went into effect on April 28, 2017 to change the requirement for an Audited and Reviewed 
financial statements prepared by a CPA.   Prior to this change, an “Audited” financial statement was required to 
obtain a license limit more than $1,500,000. However, a “Reviewed” financial statement may now be provided for 
those contractors requesting a monetary limit  up to $3,000,000.  In addition, the small commercial threshold has 
changed from $750,000 and now allows a contractor with a BC-b(sm) classification to go up to $1,500,000 (with a 
Reviewed financial statement) without taking the full commercial BC-B trade exam.   See below for a summary. 
 
The Board is in the process of changing their forms and applications to reflect this change.  For more information, see 
Public Chapter 237 at:  http://publications.tnsosfiles.com/acts/110/pub/pc0237.pdf  
 
Summary of financial statement requirements are as follows: 
  
Initial (New) License Requirement 
$3,000,000 or less - CPA Reviewed  
More than $3,000,000 - CPA Audited  
 
Renewal Requirement 
$3,000,000 or less – Self-prepared  
More than $3,000,000 – CPA Reviewed  
 
Revision (Increase/Transfer) Requirement 
$3,000,000 or less - CPA Reviewed  
More than $3,000,000 - CPA Audited 
 
Small Commercial BC-b(sm) Classification Limit  
Up to $1,500,000 – Reviewed Financial Statement (formerly $750,000)  
More than $1,500,000 - $3,000,000 - Requires passing the BC-B  (commercial) trade exam 
 
Public Chapter 237 
SECTION 1. Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 62-6-111, is amended by deleting the language "one million five 
hundred thousand dollars ($1,500,000)" wherever such language appears in subdivisions (b)(3), (b)(4), and (k)(2) and 
substituting instead the language "three million dollars ($3,000,000)".  
 
SECTION 2. Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 62-6-112(f)(2), is amended by deleting the language "seven hundred 
fifty thousand dollars ($750,000)" and substituting instead the language "one million five hundred thousand dollars 
($1,500,000)".  
 
SECTION 3. This act shall take effect upon becoming a law, the public welfare requiring it. 
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